Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Cheyenne Mountain Charter Academy

Charter | K-6 | 798 students

CMCA is best known for its rigorous academic program and character development.

 
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 7 ratings
2013:
Based on 6 ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
Based on 4 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

91 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 31, 2009

I had three children at this school this year. They learned one thing, how to test. They did not learn character, only that the staff didn't practice what they preached. They had no consistency. I heard lots of grumblings, but assumed it was only gossip, no more! Don't put your kids through this, mine have had a hard time since we switched schools since they were only taught to test at CMCA!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 18, 2009

not a parent-friendly school. Teachers are not available via email, no on-line postings of grades or assignments, or text books, as many other schools are doing now. The homework/late work policy is punitive at best, and positive behavior support is NOT evident in teacher-student interactions.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 12, 2009

Terrible school! They seem to only be concerned with test scores. My kids have learned nothing this year, only testing material. There is no consistency with discipline, grading, or teaching. Avoid this school to avoid therapy later!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 14, 2008

We just pulled our kids out of this school. I could not believe the lack of concern for details this school had. The grading, discipline, and even uniform enforcement is completely inconsistent. Our teachers seemed unhappy as well. Our children are loving the new school and learning much more consistently.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 13, 2008

We moved 2,000 miles in large part because we wanted our kids to attend CMCA. What an incredible school! You will be hard-pressed to find a school anywhere that does a better job teaching the basics: math, reading, writing, history, and science. It's not the most beautiful campus, but who cares. It's what goes on in the classroom that matters.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 4, 2008

The Kindergarten program at CMCA is amazing. The teachers teach with energy and make learning fun. All the kids are reading and writing (in cursive) by the end of the year and they are so proud of themselves. My oldest is in 4th grade and the only complaint we have had so far is the Science curriculum. My daughter comes home knowing nothing in Science and I spend a lot of time teaching it to her. The information is very advance for her age and isn't presented in an interesting or easy to understand way. All other subjects are way awesome. My other two kids K and 2nd are doing really well and havn't had any issues. I love how much they learn and they don't bring home much homework at all. If your child is quick at getting their work done then homework is done in 30 to 45 min
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 26, 2008

This is our 3rd year at CMCA and it has been the greatest experience for my now 5th and 8th graders. My children both started out at the local elementary school and both were not learning the basics. My son is an average child and has to work hard to complete the homework given at CMCA. (He NEVER had homework at the local schoo!) My daughter is extremely bright and CMCA is the only place I have found that challenges her to try harder. The school has challenged each of my children where they are, instead of teaching to the medium or the low. CMCA isn't for everyone; however, if you want your child to get a top notch education, then CMCA is the place. The reason that they score so well isn't because they teach to the test, but because they build a solid foundation with each child!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 5, 2008

My kids went to elementry at CMCA and yes it is the best school. I ended up taking both kids out and putting them in James Irwin. My youngest daughter is in 7th grade and I put her back in CMCA and it has changed. I do agree some what, with the negative and positive comments. Send your kids to CMCA elementary to billed the foundation that they need, but so far I have experienced nothing good in jr. high. My oldest daughter went to CMCA for Jr high and the teachers then cared about the students. The school year just started and I have been in the school three times because teachers act like they don't care. I am not going to say all, there are still a few that care. As for public schools as long as the parent cares and is involved they will be successful.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 4, 2008

This school was a complete disappointment. Note how the higher star ratings are very personal and the 'real' ratings are just factual. Much of the work is complete repetition that just takes up addtl time. There was a large turnover of staff, which is very disruptive. My daughter felt she was only being groomed for CSAP testing and not learning much.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2008

I have to say 'ditto'. Horrible, horrible experience for such a highly regarded school. I am realizing I am not the only one that is completely disappointed. This school has communication and chain of command issues. Not recommended!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2008

It is a great school, this is the kind of school I was in as a child, very academic and disciplined,and I would like nothing less for my children, thank you CMCA for upholding the standerds that is vastly vanishing from housholds, respect and discipline just to name two. People who bad mouth a school of this caliber, clearly lacks respect and discipline in themselves and their children. CMCA strives for nothing but the best education for you child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 24, 2008

This is the BEST school in the state of Colorado! If you want your child(ren) to excell this is the place for them. They might have some homework compared to other schools but that's life. They educate our children and teach them life skills. Those kids who can't cope aren't ment to be at CMCA. This school is for those students are gifted and able to teach at a fast pace. If you aren't concerned with your kids getting a great education, send them to their local school. I'd really my kids have some extra homework and go to a great college then go to some local school and get an easy A. The teachers go far beyond their normal job as teachers. All five of my children will graduate for CMCA and be proud of it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 9, 2008

.Due to the middle schools' top state standardized testing scores, the teachers tend to be very arrogant, rigid and unconcerned about students' learning issues. As a result, students' concerns are often times not listened to. This issue is further aggravated by the fact that teachers are allowed to be members of the school board-- which is probably a bit unethical and makes it difficult to solve problems when a student or parent has issues with teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 4, 2008

The school's strengths are that it offers a strong foundation in the lower grades. However, after fifth grade, the school no longer focuses on fostering learning in children, but rather 'teaches to test' as in taking the yearly CSAP tests. When this occured, it became obvious that the teachers were less concerned with the students' learning, and more concerned with students being able to fulfill the CSAP test requirements.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 30, 2008

CMCA is not for every family and neither is MIT. If you are looking for topnotch education then CMCA delivers; if not then regular public or private school is adequate. My daughter, Ashley, attended the first K class then 1,2nd grade then my job relocated to Virginia. After CMCA, we could not find a comparable school even for $18k/year so she basically homeschooled herself 4-12th. She is barely 18yo with 3 years of her MS-MBA completed. CMCA gave her a lifelong passion for learning and for changing the world. CMCS is not for everyone. But if it fits, there is no substitute. Miles Palmer
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 28, 2008

We attended CMCA for 2 years and found them no better than our overcrowded regular school. The teachers were mean and the homework load was outrageous. My second grader, who is now getting straight A's would come home tired and depressed. I won't subject my children to that any longer!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 26, 2008

Horrible experience! They are so rigid in discipline, they actually tell the kids how to sit and where to place their hands when sitting. I had my kids tested after 3 years at this school and they are right on target, 4 hours a night of homework did not move them ahead any! The staff turnover is terrible and my kids were thrilled we were changing schools this year. Not recommended!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 11, 2008

My children have been attending CMCA for the past three years and we couldn't be more pleased. The level of attention that they receive is unheard of at pubic elementaries.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 8, 2008

I don't even know where to start other than this school is amazing. My daughter was there from Kindergarten through part of 1st grade. unfortunately we moved to Denver because my life path changed for the better. We were so sad to leave. The school my daughter is at now is nothing in comparison. Cheyenne Mountain Charter Academy is structured beyond belief. They push the kids in a great way. They use the Love and Logic approach which children are held responsible for their actions. My child would come home knowing many, many new things. From math, to reading, to poems they used her head like a sponge in a good way. The fact that this school is on a great path for have K-12 is a plus. The uniforms are great. I wish a I miss this school very much and hope to find a school like this again.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 26, 2007

This is the best school in Colorado Springs. My children will attend until they graduate from high school. I consider it a private school education with a public school cost. All you have to do is look at the CSAP scores to see that the learning level is very high. If you want your child to excel, send them here. While there are an average of 24 students per class, there are a minimum of two bachelor's degree educated teachers (including aides) in each class.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

115 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
99%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

116 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
97%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 51% in 2013.

115 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
94%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

109 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
83%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 68% in 2013.

110 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
88%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2013.

110 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
74%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

98 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
85%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 70% in 2013.

98 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
93%
Science

The state average for Science was 49% in 2013.

98 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
71%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 57% in 2013.

98 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
91%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 62% in 2013.

103 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
94%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

103 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
95%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 58% in 2013.

103 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
88%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students92%
Female88%
Male96%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic85%
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)97%
Free lunch eligible90%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch92%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities93%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English92%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant92%

Reading

All Students97%
Female98%
Male95%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic96%
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)96%
Free lunch eligible93%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch98%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities98%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English96%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant97%

Writing

All Students79%
Female85%
Male73%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic74%
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)87%
Free lunch eligible80%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch80%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities80%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English80%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant79%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students100%
Female100%
Male100%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic100%
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)100%
Free lunch eligible100%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch100%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities100%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English100%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant100%

Reading

All Students94%
Female96%
Male92%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic92%
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)97%
Free lunch eligible96%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch94%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities94%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English95%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant94%

Writing

All Students91%
Female94%
Male88%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic88%
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)91%
Free lunch eligible83%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch94%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities93%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English93%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant91%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students83%
Female85%
Male80%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic69%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)91%
Free lunch eligible68%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch88%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities84%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English83%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant83%

Reading

All Students89%
Female92%
Male85%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic73%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)95%
Free lunch eligible76%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch92%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities90%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English89%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant89%

Science

All Students67%
Female67%
Male67%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic46%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)78%
Free lunch eligible40%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch77%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities68%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English68%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant67%

Writing

All Students73%
Female81%
Male65%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic58%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)79%
Free lunch eligible56%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch81%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities76%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English75%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant73%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students84%
Female88%
Male79%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic72%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)85%
Free lunch eligible71%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch87%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities86%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English83%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant84%

Reading

All Students97%
Female98%
Male96%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic100%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)97%
Free lunch eligible100%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch96%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities98%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English98%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant97%

Writing

All Students84%
Female86%
Male83%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic89%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)83%
Free lunch eligible76%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch87%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities87%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English85%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant84%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Above average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

23%
of schools in the state are Below average
52%
of schools in the state are Average
24%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Colorado. Test scores are based on 2012-13 TCAP results from the state of Colorado.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Average

Reading growth at this school

Average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 TCAP results from the state of Colorado.

2 This rating is based on 2011-12 and 2012-13 Median Growth Percentiles in Math, English Language Arts, and Writing from the state of Colorado.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 61% 56%
Hispanic 23% 32%
Two or more races 7% 3%
Black 6% 5%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 3% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 26%N/A41%
Male 48%N/A51%
Female 52%N/A49%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Art teacher(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Nurse(s)
Reading specialist(s)
Special education coordinator
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff None
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • John Irwin Schools of Excellence Award (2011)
  • John Irwin Schools of Excellence Award (2010)

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Staff resources available to students
  • Special education coordinator

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Math specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Painting
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus

Language learning

Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")

Gifted & talented

Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 7:45 am
School end time
  • 3:00 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school: ends at 6:00 p.m.
School Leader's name
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Gender
  • Coed
Is there an application process?
  • Yes

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Core knowledge
  • Direct instruction
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • None
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages taught
  • None
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • Special education coordinator
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
  • Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • None
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
  • Mentoring
  • Remediation
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Judo / Other Martial Arts
  • Volleyball
  • hand ball
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Judo / Other Martial Arts
  • Volleyball
  • hand ball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Painting
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Monitor the playground
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
The Vanguard School (Middle)
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1832 South Wahsatch
Colorado Springs, CO 80906
Website: Click here
Phone: (719) 471-1999

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Chamberlin Academy
Colorado Springs, CO


Hunt Elementary School
Colorado Springs, CO


Pikes Peak Prep
Colorado Springs, CO


Broadmoor Elementary School
Colorado Springs, CO


Skyway Park Elementary School
Colorado Springs, CO


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT