Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Buena Vista Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 221 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

17 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 8, 2014

Buena Vista is the only public Montessori elementary school in Colorado Springs. We have found the teachers incredibly engaged and helpful Teachers work with each child's particular learning style to get the most out of them for each subject and constantly challenge them. Our daughter is challenged to figure out tasks in her own way developing her ability for reasoning at a young age.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 21, 2013

Best public elementary in D 11- kids love to go to school every day- great teachers
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 8, 2013

wonderful school - very caring staff, super nice administration, this is a smaller school where people still know the students names. The Montessori concept is wonderful. The kids are unlike other public elementary kids - they learn how to learn and most importantly they enjoy to learn. The classrooms are multi age communities not unlike a family with older and younger kids. The kids are not only learning academics but also social competence. A little oasis in the middle of an otherwise test number obsessed public school system.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 15, 2013

Both our children are thriving at BV, thanks to the passionate teachers and the Montessori classrooms. Academics matter to our family and also the encouragement and development of the whole child. Buena Vista Montessori offers both and a great school community. So glad D-11 has this excellent option in the public school system!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 12, 2012

I have all my 3 kids in Pre K and K and they all love it and so do I .I couldn't ask for a better school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 6, 2010

My daughter came to BV two years ago and has absolutely thrived! The teachers know the kids and quickly get them any assistance that they need. The aides ensure that if a child needs some assistance during an assignment they get it. I volunteer regularly and will continue to do so. I have loved our experience and my child will continue to attend BV for the rest of her elementary years.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 5, 2010

It is a public Montessori school that respects the way children learn.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 20, 2010

Buena Vista is a vibrant, thriving learning environment. The kids are enthusiastic ant the teachers dynamic. As along time teacher BV restores my belief in the public schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 15, 2008

I am a parent of 2 children at Buena Vista Elementary, for 3 years now Buena Vista Elementary offers the only Tuition-Free Public Montessori Program in town (K-5th grade). We have paid tuition for our preschoolers to go to Buena Vista for it's Montessori Program. We chose a Montessori Education at Buena Vista Elementary for our children because it cultivates a desire to learn through sensory and experiential means, fostering greater conceptual understanding, rather than by rote learning. Buena Vista provides a non-competitive environment whereby mixed age groups and grades can work together to learn. Montessori Education also allows children to learn at their own rate, fostering confidence, independent thinking and a sense of internal reward for achievement. My children are exceeding their grade levels, in terms of achievement at Buena Vista, thanks to the excellent Montessori Certified teachers. We also have a fantastic Principal who is invested in BV.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 12, 2008

My son is a first year pre-k student and we are all very happy with Buena Vista. My son's teacher is extremely committed to her students and the staff from principal on down are excellent. We permit in and would not consider going any where else.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 10, 2008

Great School. Despite recent turnover of principals, the staff has remained consistent and my children are thriving. They love to come to school. Buena Vista has a great thing going!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 5, 2008

New Principal in 2008-2009 who is committed to be here long term. Majority of teachers are great and care about helping students be successful. My children have been here 3 years in the Montessori program and have done well (Pre-K thru K and 1st - 4th).
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 7, 2008

My kids have been at this school since 2004 in the Montessori program. While it has been a tumultuous time because of change in principals, the teachers and staff are outstanding. There is a new principal that started this year with outstanding credentials. She is supporting the staff and parents in a much more productive way than the principal we had for the past 2 years. With her guidance and the great staff I only see the Montessori program improving over the next several years.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 19, 2007

Having come from a school in Northern California that takes education and parent involvement in education very seriously, Buena Vista is a real disappointment. Principal, staff, teachers= uninvolved. This is highlighted daily by interaction with all of the above.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted April 25, 2006

Great school with excellent student-based curriculum for both advanced and 'average' learners. Montessori curriculum has been implemented with excellent results. Happy, experienced, motivated instructors and well-balanced, high-achieving students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 20, 2005

I have been at this school for four years and have seen a constant improvement! I have found the children to be unlike any others. I have not seen any violence-just the opposite. These kids are incredibly understanding and accepting of kids that have difficulties. Parent involvement is lacking/most schools are the same. The music program is great/after school sports/dance/drama/chior programs. Academically--look at the district scores-much improved! The scores are not only teacher issues-they are parent issues-when you are not involved your child does not do as well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 13, 2004

My personal experience; 3rd grade teacher communication=non-existent, resistant, defensive and un-cooperative. Principal involvement=broken promises, no follow-through, no consideration for districts policies. 'permit-out rate' very high, (check D-11 website) No art teacher=no art class Teacher was insistent that my child has ADD, even after he was identified Gifted/Talented, denied him a recommendation for a more appropriate school environment (S.A.I.L.) and would not forward me information given by his GT teacher. Including parent support group information, and child activities and programs! GT teacher=The bright spot this year! By-passing his regular teacher and making sure I received the information we're entitled to receive. My child stated to me that he hoped that a new school next year would mean less violent kids. Nothing significant gets done to stop bullies, check the schools 'accountability report' Not much there for disclipline actions taken. Doesn't match our experiences with problem children. Recommendation=take your child elsewhere if possible. Their solution, 'permit out' when unhappy.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

31 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
75%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

31 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
88%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 51% in 2013.

31 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
48%

2012

 
 
58%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

22 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
67%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 68% in 2013.

22 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
67%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2013.

22 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
44%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

21 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
41%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 70% in 2013.

21 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
71%
Science

The state average for Science was 49% in 2013.

21 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
48%

2012

 
 
47%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 57% in 2013.

21 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
59%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students74%
Femalen/a
Male75%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)72%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch69%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities77%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English74%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant74%

Reading

All Students94%
Femalen/a
Male100%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)92%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch92%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities97%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English94%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant94%

Writing

All Students48%
Femalen/a
Male38%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)48%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch46%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities50%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English48%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant48%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students77%
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunchn/a
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities81%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English81%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant77%

Reading

All Students73%
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunchn/a
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities76%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English76%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant73%

Writing

All Students50%
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunchn/a
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities52%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English52%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant50%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students71%
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunchn/a
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities79%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English70%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant71%

Reading

All Students72%
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunchn/a
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities79%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English70%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant72%

Science

All Students48%
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunchn/a
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities53%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English45%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant48%

Writing

All Students62%
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunchn/a
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities68%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English60%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant62%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

23%
of schools in the state are Below average
52%
of schools in the state are Average
24%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Colorado. Test scores are based on 2012-13 TCAP results from the state of Colorado.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Average

Reading growth at this school

Below Average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 TCAP results from the state of Colorado.

2 This rating is based on 2011-12 and 2012-13 Median Growth Percentiles in Math, English Language Arts, and Writing from the state of Colorado.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 76% 56%
Hispanic 13% 32%
Two or more races 7% 3%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 0%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Black 0% 5%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 20%N/A41%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

924 West Pikes Peak Ave
Colorado Springs, CO 80905
Phone: (719) 328-4100

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Bristol Elementary School
Colorado Springs, CO


West Elementary School
Colorado Springs, CO


St. Stephen's Classical Academy
Colorado Springs, CO


Midland Elementary School
Colorado Springs, CO


Pikes Peak Prep
Colorado Springs, CO


Our Lady of the Rockies School
Colorado Springs, CO


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT