Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
17 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 18 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Buena Vista Elementary School 4

Posted January 08, 2014
- a parent
Buena Vista is the only public Montessori elementary school in Colorado Springs. We have found the teachers incredibly engaged and helpful Teachers work with each child's particular learning style to get the most out of them for each subject and constantly challenge them. Our daughter is challenged to figure out tasks in her own way developing her ability for reasoning at a young age.

Buena Vista Elementary School 5

Posted August 21, 2013
- a parent
Best public elementary in D 11- kids love to go to school every day- great teachers


Buena Vista Elementary School 5

Posted August 08, 2013
- a parent
wonderful school - very caring staff, super nice administration, this is a smaller school where people still know the students names. The Montessori concept is wonderful. The kids are unlike other public elementary kids - they learn how to learn and most importantly they enjoy to learn. The classrooms are multi age communities not unlike a family with older and younger kids. The kids are not only learning academics but also social competence. A little oasis in the middle of an otherwise test number obsessed public school system.

Buena Vista Elementary School 5

Posted April 15, 2013
- a parent
Both our children are thriving at BV, thanks to the passionate teachers and the Montessori classrooms. Academics matter to our family and also the encouragement and development of the whole child. Buena Vista Montessori offers both and a great school community. So glad D-11 has this excellent option in the public school system!

Buena Vista Elementary School 5

Posted October 12, 2012
- a parent
I have all my 3 kids in Pre K and K and they all love it and so do I .I couldn't ask for a better school.


Buena Vista Elementary School 5

Posted August 06, 2010
- a parent
My daughter came to BV two years ago and has absolutely thrived! The teachers know the kids and quickly get them any assistance that they need. The aides ensure that if a child needs some assistance during an assignment they get it. I volunteer regularly and will continue to do so. I have loved our experience and my child will continue to attend BV for the rest of her elementary years.

Buena Vista Elementary School 5

Posted May 05, 2010
- a parent
It is a public Montessori school that respects the way children learn.

Buena Vista Elementary School
no rating

Posted April 20, 2010
- a parent
Buena Vista is a vibrant, thriving learning environment. The kids are enthusiastic ant the teachers dynamic. As along time teacher BV restores my belief in the public schools.


Buena Vista Elementary School 5

Posted December 15, 2008
- a parent
I am a parent of 2 children at Buena Vista Elementary, for 3 years now Buena Vista Elementary offers the only Tuition-Free Public Montessori Program in town (K-5th grade). We have paid tuition for our preschoolers to go to Buena Vista for it's Montessori Program. We chose a Montessori Education at Buena Vista Elementary for our children because it cultivates a desire to learn through sensory and experiential means, fostering greater conceptual understanding, rather than by rote learning. Buena Vista provides a non-competitive environment whereby mixed age groups and grades can work together to learn. Montessori Education also allows children to learn at their own rate, fostering confidence, independent thinking and a sense of internal reward for achievement. My children are exceeding their grade levels, in terms of achievement at Buena Vista, thanks to the excellent Montessori Certified teachers. We also have a fantastic Principal who is invested in BV.

Buena Vista Elementary School 5

Posted December 12, 2008
- a parent
My son is a first year pre-k student and we are all very happy with Buena Vista. My son's teacher is extremely committed to her students and the staff from principal on down are excellent. We permit in and would not consider going any where else.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Buena Vista Elementary School
924 West Pikes Peak Avenue, Colorado Springs, CO  80905
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 18 reviews. (719) 328-4100
Last modified Buena Vista Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top