Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Midland Elementary School

Public | K-5

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 4 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

14 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 17, 2014

My daughter is in Kindergarten this year at Midland and I couldn't ask for a better experience! Mrs. Shaw is the Kindergarten teacher there, and her smile literally is the most welcoming thing I have ever seen! She is crazy organized, sends home a binder full of information each day, and gives the students countless opportunities to not only grow academically, but also socially and emotionally. The entire community of Midland is unique because it is an I.B. school, meaning that they get to focus on what a learner looks like and look at other cultures across the world. I would never choose another school to send my kids to. This is by far the best Kindergarten experience a child could have! And I can't wait to have my daughter continue through the school because I can tell that the other teachers are great too! Mr. Cramer, the principal, is super friendly and treats all students with respect! Please come and check out this amazing school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 11, 2013

My daughter was in Kindergarten last year and showed more progress in every aspect of her life than we could have imagined! The class size started out huge because of how amazing of a teacher Mrs. Shaw is, but then they split at semester so there was a smaller class size. Even with a big class size Mrs. Shaw did more amazing activities and performances than I could have imagined - it didn't feel like a huge class at all! But I have friends that have kids in older grades here as well, and they have nothing but great things to say. Mr. Cramer is a very personable principal, the teachers all care for ALL of the students, and the entire school is a positive and happy place to be. My daughter would be SO sad each day that they didn't have school - which feels good as a Mom! If you are looking for a school, Midland should really be on your top of your list! Kindergarten is amazing but any grade is amazing here too! You won't be sad!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 4, 2013

This school set my child off on SUCH a great foot! The I.B. program here is very strong, yet the school is very grounded in a lot of important academic principles. My son was in Kindergarten last year, and Miss Anderson (now Mrs. Shaw) really pushed him to grow more than I thought he ever could. To hear that my Kindergartener was typing stories, giving presentations, helping to make rubrics, and making persuasive speeches was astounding! Midland may not look as "fancy" on the outside, but I look forward to sending all of my children there as they grow! What a blessed place to learn and be! I am privileged to be a Midland parent!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 3, 2013

Love this School!!! I am sad to be leaving this Amazing school. My daughter started going to school here back in 2010 and we could not be more happy with her education or her social development! The staff and Principal are the best always involved always pushing the students to learn and to care for and respect one another. The award ceremonies the would have every month for the students were so much fun and so encouraging they would have all the kids cheer on there fellow classmates getting awards it was great! Love the small class sizes and the one on one the students get with their teachers. I have to give a big thanks to Mrs. York, Mrs. Fletcher, Mrs. Jernigan, Mrs. Estrada and Principal Jeremy Cramer. They maid this school more than just a school for us they maid this a place where I could feel good knowing my daughter was safe and getting the best education. The I.B program was new to me but I must say now that I know how it works I am looking forward to finding a school in California that has the I.B program because it has a great impact on the students. I am sad that we are leaving such a great school but we are so very thankful to have had Three great years here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 6, 2012

My child just finished Kindergarten at Midland last year, and we could NOT be more excited to have him back at Midland for 1st grade! All of the teacher at Midland are very dedicated and the I.B. curriculum goes far beyond the normal academic environment. Mr. Cramer, their principal, is a very kind principal who treats all of the students with a lot of respect but still makes sure they are all working hard to do their best. The curriculum at Midland is innovative, creative, and differentiated to each student. My child loved having Miss Anderson last year and I feel he couldn't be more prepared to succeed in 1st grade. If you are looking for an elementary school for your child, don't be fooled by the fact that Midland is a small school or has had tough reviews previous to 2008. They are making a strong comeback to be one of the top schools in D11 and I am so proud to be a parent at this wonderful school. Please check it out! You won't be sorry.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 8, 2012

My son just finished Kindergarten at Midland and I couldn't be more impressed with how much he learned! Miss Anderson is by far the best Kindergarten teacher I have ever seen - I can't wait until my youngest gets to be Kindergarten age so we can have her again! Miss Anderson always had a smile but my son definitely knew the rules. My son came home reading books by the 3rd week and knew all of his I.B. attitude in this cute little cheer Miss Anderson created. The principal is great and the school is small enough for the kids to get individual attention. If you have a child going into Kindergarten, you definitely need to bring them to Midland and Miss Anderson. You won't be dissappointed!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 28, 2012

My daughter just finished Kindergarten and I am very pleased with this school. I love their IB program! They have a wonderful principal and very involved staff. My daughter has grown so much this year!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 24, 2012

We recently moved to the area and chose Midland out of myriad charter/private/public schools--my children were previously in an IB school. This past year I can tell my children have grown tremendously both academically and socially. The IB curriculum is being beautifully applied by obviously dedicated staff. My daughter's teacher this year was outstanding and I cannot thank her enough for her attentiveness in the midst of a family tragedy. The principal is always visible when I go to the school. Like I said, we chose this school out of all the options in CO SPGS and commute to do so, but the school has exceeded all our expectations.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 20, 2011

We recently had to move out of the area, and leaving Midland broke our whole family's heart! Fantastic curriculum, administration, and dedicated teachers have made our kids' education hard to top! We are now doing at home instruction, as we have been unable to find an equal to Midland's fantastic offerings!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 10, 2008

I took my child to this school because of the IB program. K was awesome, 1st grade was not. The music instruction is possibly the best in the state for elementary schools. So are the French and PE programs. Unfortunately I don't see much beyond that. Leadership is either lacking or a form of micro-management. I see stressed teachers and high turnover. I see misplaced priorities in administration. My child goes somewhere else now and I feel he gets a better education in spite of the absence of the IB program. Sorry, but a handful of great and dedicated teachers does not make for a good school. Leadership is needed as well, and Midland does not have it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 30, 2007

Our family is opting out of Midland for next year. The IB program is a wonderful philosophy, but Midland is not really instituting the program anyway. The pricipal is not leading this school is a constructive manner. My child just finished 2nd grade and will not be returning next year. Teachers are often moved from one grade level to another from year to year. I think this is really hindering forward movement for the IB curriculum. Also, many of the good teachers have left the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 2, 2007

This school could be great, but the lack of involvement by the principal has really affected the learning environment at the school over the past few years. The teacher turn over is high. My daughter has gone since Kindergarten and she has had a new to the school teacher every year. Some years we have really lucked out and gotten a good teacher, but not always. If a good teacher does come in, our experience has been that they only last a year or so before a situation comes up and they do not come back the next year. The environment in the classrooms I have been in is generally tense and the teachers deal with a lot of behavioral issues rather than the school work. My daughter is in third grade and does not know her multiplication tables or cursive writing.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 27, 2005

Leaving 1st grade, my son tested at 3.8 reading level on his Adams 50 test. Academically, I couldn't be happier. As a community, I am very comfortable with my children spending their days at Midland. The staff here is amazing, and the IB program has been a blessing. I know that my son learns skills and attitudes that he would not learn elsewhere. We can talk about responsibility, and cooperation, and I know that he has a complete understanding of what these words mean. When I walk down Midland halls, I am proud of all the kids and the way that they hold themselves.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 23, 2004

I feel my children are doing really well in this school. The teachers are involved and the after school activities are really great.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

27 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
74%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

25 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
69%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 51% in 2013.

27 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
48%

2012

 
 
56%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

34 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
95%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 68% in 2013.

33 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
81%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2013.

33 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
30%

2012

 
 
52%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

24 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
41%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 70% in 2013.

24 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
41%
Science

The state average for Science was 49% in 2013.

24 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
24%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 57% in 2013.

24 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
46%

2012

 
 
35%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students85%
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Free lunch eligible86%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunchn/a
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities85%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English82%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant85%

Reading

All Students72%
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Free lunch eligible65%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunchn/a
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities72%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English75%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant72%

Writing

All Students48%
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Free lunch eligible46%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunchn/a
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities48%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English55%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant48%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students82%
Femalen/a
Male88%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)90%
Free lunch eligible78%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunchn/a
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities97%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English82%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant82%

Reading

All Students70%
Femalen/a
Male70%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)89%
Free lunch eligible62%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunchn/a
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities82%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English70%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant70%

Writing

All Students30%
Femalen/a
Male30%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)50%
Free lunch eligible35%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunchn/a
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities36%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English37%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant30%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students75%
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunchn/a
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities75%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English76%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant75%

Reading

All Students75%
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunchn/a
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities75%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English76%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant75%

Science

All Students50%
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunchn/a
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities50%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English57%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant50%

Writing

All Students46%
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunchn/a
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities46%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English48%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant46%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

23%
of schools in the state are Below average
52%
of schools in the state are Average
24%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Colorado. Test scores are based on 2012-13 TCAP results from the state of Colorado.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Average

Reading growth at this school

Below Average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 TCAP results from the state of Colorado.

2 This rating is based on 2011-12 and 2012-13 Median Growth Percentiles in Math, English Language Arts, and Writing from the state of Colorado.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 52% 56%
Hispanic 37% 32%
Two or more races 6% 3%
Black 3% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 1%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 80%N/A41%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2110 West Broadway St
Colorado Springs, CO 80904
Phone: (719) 328-4500

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Our Lady of the Rockies School
Colorado Springs, CO


West Elementary School
Colorado Springs, CO



Dayspring Academy
Colorado Springs, CO


Buena Vista Elementary School
Colorado Springs, CO


Bristol Elementary School
Colorado Springs, CO


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT