Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

North Middle School

Public | 6-8 | 608 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

13 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 15, 2013

I am a former student of North Middle School. Most of my teachers didn't grade my assignments. One time I didn't turn in an assignment and got a 99% on it, and another time an assignment I turned in never got graded even though my mom and then I talked to the teacher multiple times about it. Even though this was a school I had to apply to, I had more homework in elementary school and the work in elementary was harder too. At the beginning of the year my schedule got messed up about a million times and then I still ended up in the wrong math class and a result got behind. The principal was very hands off. On a positive note the after school and before school activities are great especially Forensics and M.e.s.a. Despite the good things I would not recommend this school to anyone looking for a good education.


Posted February 7, 2013

This school is a JOKE!! My gifted student was failing half her classes and not a SINGLE TEACHER could be bothered to respond to emails or phone calls inquiring as to why, their GT teacher had never even MET my daughter after over 6 months in the school and no one was willing to try to help us fix the problem or get her caught up. We are literally MOVING OUR ENTIRE FAMILY just to get her AWAY from this horrible excuse for a "school". I have never been so disappointed in my entire life.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 5, 2013

I was a student in 2010 and loved it. They had great staff, and the students were great.


Posted November 29, 2012

I am extremely dissapointed in this school. During class I encountered students cursing, throwing things, leaving the classroom unattended. Classes are large, and most teachers are incapable of handling the number of students in their classroom. Teachers are screaming, impatient, and show frustration. No discipline, and distractions constantly in class. I found four teachers that we're wonderful, and that gives me some hope. For the rest it seems it's only a pay check.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 1, 2012

North is an excellent school for all ages!!! We are encouraged in each and every class to try our hardest and every class is fun. North is a great school and teachers help to boost students' self confidence.


Posted January 19, 2012

My son was having problems before coming to this school and he has surpassed anyone's expectations. The teachers are very active in the helping the kids. My daughter in the IB program and doing incredibly well. Both children are active in many of their before and after school activities. My only complaint is the safety in the area outside the school but that is the same for the entire city of Colorado Springs. We reside in district 49 but I have both of my children attend this school because it has been so great for them.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 8, 2011

i have had 3 children in north but with the new principle it lacks the ability to keep the children safe the education received is below stander ed and i highly recommend another school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 13, 2010

This is our 4th year at North with two daughters. We highly recommend North, especially the IB program (if it fits with your student). I appreciate: 1) Teachers. Several teachers have really inspired our students. Especially the science teachers and their support of the state Science Fair activities. As always, there have been several weak teachers. North replaced them as soon as allowed. 2) Staff. when problems with a class or special needs, the staff has been very responsive, involved and "student focused" in finding solutions. I emailed the new principle with a suggestion during her first (crazy) week of school. She replied immediately a made the change. 3) Sports: coaches seem to have healthy values for this age. ie. girls track is encouraged for all shapes, sizes and abilities. There are no "cuts" and 100+ girls participate. 4) Culture. It is a real "melting pot" of central C.S. students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 12, 2009

it is really hard sometimes to find someone who knows what's going on with my children. i once was sent on a field trip to the wrong location.. i walked around the school for an hour and was not challenged once. when there is an event no one is in the office too call your student at the event home in emergencies or even to check that a dance or something is even going on. very scary.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 31, 2009

This school has great academics and a very friendly teachers, gym is made funner than most classes and I fit in everywhere...
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 5, 2007

I think it's a pretty good school. I like it a lot. My son fits in the enviroment really well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 6, 2007

The absolute best school in the entire world! (Well I might be exaggerating a bit, but...) Anyway, EC activities, great, academics, great, staff, great. The absolutely only thing wrong with it is slight peer pressure.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 27, 2006

This is an amazing school. My daughter could never have learned better! It's just two blocks away, and the kids and teachers are amazing people!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 62% in 2013.

214 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
61%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

214 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
74%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 58% in 2013.

214 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
51%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 55% in 2013.

212 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
53%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 68% in 2013.

212 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
69%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 61% in 2013.

212 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
58%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 52% in 2013.

232 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
46%

2012

 
 
45%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 67% in 2013.

234 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
67%
Science

The state average for Science was 52% in 2013.

233 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
42%

2012

 
 
48%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2013.

234 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
51%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students53%
Female55%
Male51%
Black (not Hispanic)33%
Asiann/a
Hispanic47%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)57%
Free lunch eligible45%
Reduced lunch eligible42%
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch68%
Students with disabilities (IEP)5%
Students without disabilities57%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)32%
Proficient in English53%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant53%

Reading

All Students70%
Female77%
Male62%
Black (not Hispanic)46%
Asiann/a
Hispanic63%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)76%
Free lunch eligible57%
Reduced lunch eligible79%
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch88%
Students with disabilities (IEP)5%
Students without disabilities76%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)37%
Proficient in English71%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant70%

Writing

All Students50%
Female62%
Male37%
Black (not Hispanic)38%
Asiann/a
Hispanic42%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)57%
Free lunch eligible38%
Reduced lunch eligible58%
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch67%
Students with disabilities (IEP)11%
Students without disabilities54%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)21%
Proficient in English52%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant50%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students53%
Female57%
Male50%
Black (not Hispanic)19%
Asiann/a
Hispanic55%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)60%
Free lunch eligible35%
Reduced lunch eligible63%
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch75%
Students with disabilities (IEP)18%
Students without disabilities57%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English52%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant53%

Reading

All Students69%
Female74%
Male64%
Black (not Hispanic)50%
Asiann/a
Hispanic62%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)75%
Free lunch eligible55%
Reduced lunch eligible69%
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch87%
Students with disabilities (IEP)12%
Students without disabilities74%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English68%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant69%

Writing

All Students57%
Female63%
Male51%
Black (not Hispanic)44%
Asiann/a
Hispanic57%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)62%
Free lunch eligible41%
Reduced lunch eligible63%
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch75%
Students with disabilities (IEP)6%
Students without disabilities61%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English56%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant57%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students46%
Female45%
Male46%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic32%
Multiracial35%
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)53%
Free lunch eligible30%
Reduced lunch eligible24%
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch63%
Students with disabilities (IEP)0%
Students without disabilities51%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English47%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant46%

Reading

All Students71%
Female75%
Male65%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic58%
Multiracial65%
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)75%
Free lunch eligible52%
Reduced lunch eligible77%
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch86%
Students with disabilities (IEP)19%
Students without disabilities77%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English72%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant70%

Science

All Students42%
Female40%
Male44%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic25%
Multiracial25%
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)52%
Free lunch eligible22%
Reduced lunch eligible24%
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch63%
Students with disabilities (IEP)4%
Students without disabilities47%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English43%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant42%

Writing

All Students50%
Female58%
Male42%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic41%
Multiracial45%
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)55%
Free lunch eligible31%
Reduced lunch eligible41%
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch69%
Students with disabilities (IEP)4%
Students without disabilities56%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English51%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant51%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Below average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

23%
of schools in the state are Below average
52%
of schools in the state are Average
24%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Colorado. Test scores are based on 2012-13 TCAP results from the state of Colorado.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Below Average

Reading growth at this school

Below Average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 TCAP results from the state of Colorado.

2 This rating is based on 2011-12 and 2012-13 Median Growth Percentiles in Math, English Language Arts, and Writing from the state of Colorado.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 57% 57%
Hispanic 26% 32%
Two or more races 9% 3%
Black 5% 5%
Asian 2% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 56%N/A40%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students School social worker/counselors(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Music
  • Band

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
Girls sports
  • Basketball

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

612 East Yampa St
Colorado Springs, CO 80903
Phone: (719) 328-2400

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Divine Redeemer Catholic School
Colorado Springs, CO


Immanuel Lutheran School
Colorado Springs, CO




Pikes Peak Prep
Colorado Springs, CO


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT