Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
9-12
Public
Colorado Springs, CO
Students enrolled: 2,024

5 stars
Based on 11 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


14 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Palmer High School 5

Posted August 20, 2014
- a parent
I have had 2 children recently graduate from the Palmer IB, Diploma Program. We chose Palmer not only for the IB program, but also for its wide variety in activities and the diversity of the student body, both economic and cultural. They both did well, and found activities and clubs that fit their interests and personalities. The rigor of the program and the community involvement greatly helped both of them with being admitted to the colleges they chose and receiving scholarships. The teachers were supportive and willing to take time out of their schedules to help students when needed. The only acception to this was the art department. It was chaotic and disorganized. Little to no actual art instruction was offered. Students were just told to explore different art mediums and create whatever they wanted. No guidance, no instruction, no improvement to the students' skills at all. That aspect was frustrating, but aside from the art department, Palmer was a good school experience for our family.

Palmer High School 5

Posted August 19, 2014
- a parent
This is my daughter's 2nd year at Palmer as a Sophomore. We chose this school instead of others within our school district (2), and 12 because of the IB program and the wonderful reputation Palmer has. She went to North and continued at Palmer and has so far received an excellent education. Her classes keep her challenged and the staff are extremely helpful and friendly. There are plenty of sports, clubs and after school activities to keep kids busy and involved. Yes, it is an open campus in the downtown area and you will see people from different economic stratas which is important in developing good character. If you have a student who is easily led to temptations like smoking and drugs then I would not recommend Palmer for you because there are definitely some negative influences there.


Palmer High School 4

Posted June 03, 2013
- a parent
My daughter just graduated and received an excellent education at Palmer High School! Lots of opportunities at this school, and programs to fit all kinds of kids!

Palmer High School 5

Posted October 21, 2010
- a parent
My son is a freshman, and enjoys Palmer very much, He is actually happy to go to school. His teachers are great at getting him interested.

Palmer High School 0
no rating

Posted October 04, 2009
- a student
Diverse, friendly, academically challenging public school!


Palmer High School 4

Posted October 04, 2009
- a student
I'm a Freshman this year, and Palmer is making it a really fun year for us! Link Crew is amazing and the upper classmen are really supportive. Teachers are fun, which makes learning easier and time flies by. The only negative i can think of is the druggies at Acacia Park, but you just have to know who to hang around and who not to hang around. And athletes need some serious help. But other then that, Palmer is a great High School! I can't wait to spend the next 4 years here! :)

Palmer High School 0
no rating

Posted September 16, 2009
- a parent
Excellent academic training and a social climate where the kids all seem to get along well!

Palmer High School 0
no rating

Posted September 15, 2009
- a student
Palmer has an excellent faculty who genuinely care about their students and an environment in which kids feel safe, welcome and like they belong. Without that combination, I never would have developed the educational foundation, community involvement and self-confidence that has carried me through college. I am so proud to be a Palmer alumni.


Palmer High School 5

Posted October 22, 2006
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Palmer High School 5

Posted October 16, 2005
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Palmer High School
301 North Nevada Ave, Colorado Springs, CO  80903
(719) 328-5000
Last modified Palmer High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Palmer High School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 14 reviews. Top