Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
21 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 23 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Russell Middle School 1

Posted March 15, 2013
- a community member
Not happy with this school. A lot of bullying and no action to correct or ensuring that corrective actions are working. My grand-daugher comes home in tears every day, being picked on, yelled at, teased & called names. She was even slammed into her locker. I now understand why so many parents are electing home schooling.

Russell Middle School 2

Posted October 15, 2012
- a parent
We have not been happy with this school. We had an issue with the principal not being very smart with choosing the words she uses to define some students. We also had many problems with getting our child challenged there and even got an "Oh, your student will do even better the second time doing this class." from the vice principal when we were trying to have our child not repeat a class. Also, for a performing arts school it is unfortunate that they struggle to keep their drama program there. We will not be sending our younger kids there in the future. Thank goodness for choices!


Russell Middle School 5

Posted May 18, 2012
- a parent
We love Russell Middle School. We choiced in last year & have been very happy here. My daughter loves her teachers, especially her band instructor. I love the principal, she's able to have fun, smile, interact with the kids but doesn't put up with any misbehavior. Would and have recommended this school to others.

Russell Middle School 2

Posted August 17, 2011
- a parent
With one child going through Russell all three years with no issues at all, we figured putting the next child through with no issues but she barely made it through 6th grade. Matter of fact, after during Christmas Break we ended up pulling her immediately and homeschooling her. She came home in tears every day, was picked on, yelled at, teased, called names, off and on school grounds. As a parent, and writing several notes to teachers and staff...with no results, I wasn't going to allow my beautiful talented child to suffer any longer. Best decision we made, is to homeschool though 6th grade, now she attend A.A.C.L. and her whole world is bright and happy again. We loved Russell, but my oldest daughter class was probably one of the last great classes to pass through with integrity, honesty, caring, little people. So sad Russell has gone down the toilet. : (

Russell Middle School 5

Posted August 05, 2010
- a parent
Love the teachers and great attitudes. Always willing to help even when the toughest situation arrised. Thank you Russell staff!


Russell Middle School 5

Posted March 16, 2010
- a student
I think russell is the greatest middle school becuse of the inviorment and all the fun classes they provide for us.

Russell Middle School 5

Posted August 25, 2009
- a teacher
I am so proud to be a teacher at Russell Middle School! The excellent leadership, committed teaching staff and impressive arts program all help make this a great school!

Russell Middle School 5

Posted August 24, 2009
- a parent
The best thing about this school is the consistency. Wigh discipline, safety, academics, etc. the policies are upheld.


Russell Middle School
no rating

Posted August 23, 2009
- a parent
My daughter attends on permit and I am so glad we chose Russell. There is a lot of pride, great staff and THE BEST PRINCIPAL that makes Russell the awesome school that it is!

Russell Middle School 5

Posted July 10, 2009
- a student
i am a student who used to go to Russell Middle School of the Preforming Arts and Science during thers 2008-2009. i loved going to school there because most of the teachers were very nice to me. my classmates and i enjoyed having previlages such as the rock's shop, class trip through out our 3 years, and other actvities such as crazy hair day, hat day, and much much more. i loved it there and i would recommend it to anyone with children ages 12-15

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Russell Middle School
3825 Montebello Drive West, Colorado Springs, CO  80918
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 23 reviews. (719) 328-5200
Last modified Russell Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top