Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
9-12
Public
Colorado Springs, CO
Students enrolled: 996

4 stars
Based on 20 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


21 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Wasson High School 5

Posted June 28, 2013
- a student
Wasson was a unique school i will miss it very dearly. Wasson wasen't just a school but a family as well. T-BIRD FOREVER

Wasson High School 5

Posted January 10, 2013
- a parent
My child is upset that Wasson is still on the closing list. Wasson is a wonderful school, it is a hidden treasure. I know that money is tight, but hese students are our future. How is oversized (30+) classrooms the answer? Wasson students have put on many Fine Arts programs (Music concerts, plays, and theater). The teacher and staff are wonderful. It will be a sad day if they close this school.


Wasson High School 5

Posted August 13, 2012
- a parent
My oldest daughter went 4 years at Wasson and graduated in 2006. Now my youngest daughter is a Junior and will graduate in 2014. We love this school and all the positive changes that Dr. Bonds (principal) ahs made during his tenure here. Also the PTA is awesome.

Wasson High School 5

Posted March 08, 2012
- a teacher
I am a new teacher to Wasson, but not new to the teaching profession. This is my tenth year teaching high school in Colorado Springs. I have found Wasson to be an amazing community where diversity is respected and diverse thinking occurs. The schools offers unique programs that have been cut in most schools today: Industrial Tech courses (auto shop and construction), Culinary Arts courses (ProStart and Catering), Early Childhood Education (internship program with college credit), Teacher Cadet (internship with college credit), Interior Design, Fine Arts courses (offering several types of dance classes), Business courses including DECA, a Freshman Academy, and the physical education department even offers swimming! The entire staff has been welcoming and supportive.

Wasson High School 1

Posted September 19, 2011
- a student
When I first moved to Colorado last year, I went to Wasson. I went there for about a week, and I couldnt stand it! The classes we over filled, it was hot, and unorganized. The arts department is amazing, but other then that, Wasson is horrible. I left and went to Coronado, which is FAR better.


Wasson High School 1

Posted August 01, 2010
- a community member
The front page of the Gazette for Sunday August 1, 2010 showed a picture of Christie Morphet and flags from many different countries. The American Flag is NOT displayed correctly. Whem the American flag is displayed against a wall or in a vertical position the field of stars must ALWAYS be shown with the field of stars in the upper left hand corner when the viewer is looking at the flag. Please do disrespect are American Flag. Thank You!!!! Luther Haas Retired Air Force Veteran.

Wasson High School 1

Posted March 03, 2010
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Wasson High School 5

Posted March 04, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.


Wasson High School 5

Posted March 02, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Wasson High School 0
no rating

Posted January 09, 2009
- a parent
Wasson High School has really improved since Principal Sean Dorsey took over. At the beginning of the school year, he provided a copy of the dress code as well as a sweatshirt for students to wear for their ID pictures. Teachers and staff dressed appropriately (vs 06/07 school year). The teachers and guidance counselors who got on board with Principal Dorsey's view of education have greatly improved the education, the care felt by the students, the physical and non-physical atmosphere of the school. I believe my son will actually graduate this year due to all the positive changes Principal Dorsey has made. Thank you Principal Dorsey ! Keep up the good work.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Wasson High School
2115 Afton Way, Colorado Springs, CO  80909
(719) 328-2000
Last modified Wasson High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 2 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Wasson High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 21 reviews. Top