Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
19 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Don't know (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 41 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


GLOBE Charter School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted April 24, 2016
- a teacher
Students are taught not only academic skills at globe, but they're also taught to be good citizens.

GLOBE Charter School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted April 24, 2016
- a teacher
Globe uses the acronym SHELL to develop Safe, Honorable, Effective, Logical, Life Long Learners. The teachers do a good job of reinforcing SHELL for their students.


GLOBE Charter School 5

Posted April 24, 2016
- a teacher
Globe Charter School is a fantastic school. The class size average is 15 students compared to 30 students in the district. Students are taught to be critical thinkers. Students are also taught real-world concepts. It really is a wonderful school! I would recommend it to anybody in the Colorado Springs area!

GLOBE Charter School
Amount of homework: Too much

Posted December 14, 2015
- a parent
My second grader had 45 minutes worth of reading, as well as math homework and English homework.

GLOBE Charter School 1

Posted December 14, 2015
- a parent
Not only do they NOT cater to students with special needs, regardless how minor, they appear to have very little understanding of what's required in terms of outside therapy when a child attends a school with an extreme lack of resources for special needs children. Much like another reviewer, I have pulled my son out of the school due to the aforementioned reason and in doing so, was threatened by the principal with truancy. Additionally, the grounds of the school are lacking to say the least. Ask play areas are covered in gravel and dirt, the limited play equipment is decades old, as are the desks and materials. They will say there is "no bussing", however, it's impossible to miss the school bus dropping kids off and picking them up daily. If you point that fact out, be prepared to be told that those children have "special circumstances". If you ask what the guidelines are for those special circumstances, you'll be told that they "can't give out that information"... It's incredibly apparent that this school is grossly underfunded and it's incredible they came out of probation by district 11 in 2010. If you decide to visit, prepare to be incredibly underwhelmed.


GLOBE Charter School 5

Posted June 09, 2015
- a parent
My oldest son had been going to Globe since the 2nd grade and has never felt more comfortable at a school and never made to feel that he was different, he came from a school where he was teased . My youngest son has been here since kindergarten and has never had such a wonderful experience with all his teachers and staff. We have always felt welcome and have always been asked to participate and our views on the education and experience that they have been getting at Globe. We have always seen great things happen to both our sons in Globe and great achievements in them since going to Globe. We have never felt that the curriculum has ever been more than they or any other student can handle. The staff has always been understanding in the needs of the students as well as the parents. We could not be more pleased with the school.

GLOBE Charter School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted June 08, 2015
- a parent
The scores continue to show achievement and the teachers share my stuff dents growth with me through data books.

GLOBE Charter School
Develops grit: Strongly agree

Posted June 08, 2015
- a parent
Mr. Evans is a sixth grade teacher there and is known for his classroom of determination and work. Every student cannot wait to become a sixth grade student for his class.


GLOBE Charter School
Develops respect: Strongly agree

Posted June 08, 2015
- a parent
They use every opportunity to teach them how to respect themselves and others including the bus!

GLOBE Charter School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted June 08, 2015
- a parent
They use a system called the SHELL and talk about it with the kids which helps them learn how to treat other kids.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

GLOBE Charter School
3302 Alpine Place, Colorado Springs, CO  80909
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 41 reviews. (719) 630-0577
Last modified GLOBE Charter School is a Charter school that serves grades K-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top