Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

King Elementary School

Public | PK-5

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 8, 2013

King Elementary is a terrific school! My daughter attended Preschool and Kindergarren here and her teachers were two of the best I have ever seen. Her kindergarten teacher was exceptional. We moved to Denver which is the ONLY reason she is not still attending King. The staff goes above and beyond and the principal is wonderful. We miss it very much! I highly recommend this school to anyone!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 10, 2013

I have an A student and a D student. Both get treated fairly. The school has stepped up to give my D student the tutoring that is needed. They give me up date and suggestions on how to help my student. I would recommend King elementary to anyone. They rock!!!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 29, 2012

I've had good experiences so far and some very bad ones too. I'll start with the bad. My child is in Kindergarten this year and they sometimes get treated differently than all the classmates. My child's teacher doesn't seem to always enjoy their job. I watch the other teachers and their so into their students - watching them play, interacting, hugging, etc. My child's teacher doesn't do any of that and I've even seen the teacher yell at the kids. The teacher has a bad attitude anytime you bring up a concern. The Principal at this school is okay, she seems very nice. But it sometimes seems like they get some sick pleasure out of punishing children. My child was left out of a lot of activities, recess, etc just because of little FIVE YEAR OLD actions. They have too many rules and it is hard to keep track of all of them. The rest of the staff is very kind, energetic. I guess my only concern about the staff is the people in the office. I've heard one of the staff call a child a psycho after he left the office - right in front of me and a couple other parents. This school is okay...I'd pick a different one though...
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 12, 2010

I love this school I'm a student here this year (2010) our principle Mrs.stone is going to Washington d.c to meet the president to except a blue ribbon award. all our classes are great teachers are helpful and fun I have been here since kinder.The art program awesome P.E. so fun Music program teacher is so nice and helpful lots of great teachers here I'm in 4th grade and were all ready doing advanced algebra my whole class in the morning i love and look forward to getting up and going to school I'm going to a special ed class so great i give this school 20,000,000 thumbs up !


Posted February 19, 2010

This school is amazing. The teachers and the office staff all seem to be very friendly and caring. They are all very professional also. The only concern I have about this school is the lack of crossing guards to help kids cross the busy street right in front of the school. There is a cross walk but most of the time it is so busy the cars dont pay attention. So my only complaint is this school needs more crossing guards!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 9, 2009

When I put my oldest in King I lived on the south end of town and permitted him due to my job. I will forever be greatful for the choice I made about King. His elementary experience there was incredible. The principles, teacher and staff at King all have a heart for truly educating children. When it came time for my youngest to start school I knew that King would be my only choice. Thank you to all the wonderful staff over at King Elementary.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 2, 2007

My daughter is currently going to the preschool at King and just loves it! She has learned so much, and has become very independent. The teachers are wonderful, and keep me updated about my childs progress on a daily basis.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 26, 2006

This is a wonderful school! I was so sad to have to move away from Colorado and leave it. The attention given to my son, who was struggling with some things at first, was exceptional. The teachers in both his Kindergarten and First Grade classes were quick to note any areas of concern, communicate them to me, and present plans for how to go about helping him (his first grade teacher gave him after school tutoring once a week along with a small group of other children, for example). Parents seemed to be very involved and because the school was so small, most people got to know one another pretty quickly. The ladies in the office were always so very helpful and the principal was very warm! Great school!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 7, 2005

Three of my children have attended King Elementary and two are currently enrolled. King has a new Principal this school year and so it is difficult to assess her leadership ability at this time, but she appears to be on task. The teaching staff follows D-11 curriculum and overall achieves an average rating that emphisis a stronger reading program than math. My children have all earned A's & B's, but score an average of about 50% on CSAP testing. The kids enjoy being part of an above average choir that performs frequently within the community and the band director does a good job of preparing students to attend Russell - Arts Magnet School. The staff works well with parents who support the school better than average. My children have witnessed occasional playground bullying unnoticed by staff who have responded appropriatly once informed. King is a good but average school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 1, 2005

I found that the school was acceptable. If they included more enrichment programs, I would rate the school higher.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

70 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
75%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

69 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
78%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 51% in 2013.

70 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
57%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

57 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
80%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 68% in 2013.

57 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
73%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2013.

57 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
52%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

63 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
62%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 70% in 2013.

63 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
67%
Science

The state average for Science was 49% in 2013.

63 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
38%

2012

 
 
44%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 57% in 2013.

63 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
54%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students84%
Female72%
Male93%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic80%
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)83%
Free lunch eligible78%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch85%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities84%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English83%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant84%

Reading

All Students93%
Female96%
Male90%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic84%
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)93%
Free lunch eligible91%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch98%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities93%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English94%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant93%

Writing

All Students59%
Female59%
Male59%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic65%
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)57%
Free lunch eligible52%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch67%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities59%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English56%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant58%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students86%
Female82%
Male91%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)85%
Free lunch eligible70%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch97%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities90%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English85%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant86%

Reading

All Students75%
Female79%
Male70%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)80%
Free lunch eligible60%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch83%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities80%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English75%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant75%

Writing

All Students65%
Female71%
Male57%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)78%
Free lunch eligible45%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch76%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities69%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English64%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant65%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students62%
Female56%
Male69%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)63%
Free lunch eligible50%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch69%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities65%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English63%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant62%

Reading

All Students73%
Female71%
Male76%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)72%
Free lunch eligible56%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch83%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities75%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English73%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant73%

Science

All Students38%
Female32%
Male45%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)38%
Free lunch eligible22%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch43%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities40%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English38%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant38%

Writing

All Students62%
Female68%
Male55%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)63%
Free lunch eligible61%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch66%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities63%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English60%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant62%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

23%
of schools in the state are Below average
52%
of schools in the state are Average
24%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Colorado. Test scores are based on 2012-13 TCAP results from the state of Colorado.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Average

Reading growth at this school

Average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 TCAP results from the state of Colorado.

2 This rating is based on 2011-12 and 2012-13 Median Growth Percentiles in Math, English Language Arts, and Writing from the state of Colorado.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 55% 56%
Hispanic 23% 32%
Two or more races 13% 3%
Black 8% 5%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 0%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 52%N/A41%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

6110 Sapporo Dr
Colorado Springs, CO 80918
Phone: (719) 328-6000

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Pikes Peak Christian School
Colorado Springs, CO


Cornerstone Baptist Academy
Colorado Springs, CO


Fremont Elementary School
Colorado Springs, CO


Pioneer Elementary School
Colorado Springs, CO


Martinez Elementary School
Colorado Springs, CO


Keller Elementary School
Colorado Springs, CO


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT