Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Martinez Elementary School

Public | PK-5

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 7, 2014

Martinez is an excellent school. It provides before and after school clubs in music, choirs, physical education, art, karate, band, and academics. It has a lyrics to learn program, which uses music to help student remember important information in core subjects. Martinez has a top of the line stem lab providing cutting edge technology for student success in a highly technological market. Students at Martinez are taught leadership and to set goals, which are designed to make them independent and responsible learners. The school's approach is ahead of others in preparing students for a competitive life and work force.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 10, 2012

We moved to this school at the start of the year. Our experience has been excellent so far - the teachers are phenomenal, the principal seems to have a great handle on things and there is a team feeling in this school that is just "wow". Our kids were both behind in math and writing when we started here (even so we came from a match/science/space focus school). The teachers at Martinez caught our kids up in no time :) One of the best decisions we made was to move to this school :)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 12, 2012

Please take care of the school grounds! Let me start by saying that I don't have any children that go to this school and I don't work at the school, but I do live in the neighborhood right across from the school and I do wish that the Principal took more pride in the school by keeping up the grounds a little better. It is over run by weeds and usually looks like it is way past due to be mowed. I know times are tight, but I see other schools around this area that are maintained to look clean and tidy, why not this one? It may be a great school, I don't know, but It is an eye sore from the street.


Posted May 19, 2011

Excellent special education team! They work hard and truly care for our children. Unfortunately, we had to move last year, so my kids don't attend Martinez anymore. I wish I could have taken their SPED team with us! I have yet to encounter a SPED team that even comes close to comparing to their dedication. They are unmatched!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 24, 2010

Excellent school, my daughter is in 4th grade and son in kindergarten. Very safe and pleased with standards to which they hold children, both in terms of behavior and curriculum. Principal was very receptive when we had a problem with another girl in my daughter's class and helped us come to an acceptable resolution for all. Drop off and pick up is MUCH better starting Fall 2010 when they added additional loop in back of school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 6, 2009

Fantastic school. I can't say enough good things about it. PTO is very involved. This is a wonderful school and I feel very safe having my children there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 25, 2009

What a phenomenal place to teach! The principal is wonderful with students, parents, and staff, and very knowledgeable about curriculum. The teaching teams are learning to work together to meet grade level standards and provide interesting lessons to all students. WOW!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted August 22, 2007

My son just started at Martinez so far I am not impressed the physical layout. They have open classrooms. The drop off and pick up is a compleat mess. I hope the teaches make up for it...
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 15, 2006

Martinez is one of the best elementary schools in D11. The teachers are great and test scores are well above average. Level of parental involvment in the PTA/PTO could be improved. Seems to be a lack of recruitment on the part of school officials. School could improve upon communication with parents -- perhaps by implementing email and improving the school website to allow for better exchange of ideas and feedback. Parking and access to the school is in dire need of improvement.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 2, 2005

My children moved to Martinez from a private school. I was very concerned about the move. The staff and children at Martinez welcomed my children and helped them through the first year. It was wonderful. I now have 3 children at Martinez and they love everything about it. There are a lot of activities for them to choose from and I always feel welcome to help in their classrooms or talk to the staff in the front office. We are very happy with Martinez Elementary and their staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

95 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
88%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

97 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
85%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 51% in 2013.

97 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
72%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

104 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
88%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 68% in 2013.

104 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
86%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2013.

104 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
77%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

99 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
76%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 70% in 2013.

99 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
76%
Science

The state average for Science was 49% in 2013.

99 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
52%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 57% in 2013.

99 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
68%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students92%
Female92%
Male92%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic89%
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)93%
Free lunch eligible88%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch93%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities94%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English93%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant92%

Reading

All Students80%
Female88%
Male73%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic83%
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)85%
Free lunch eligible65%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch87%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities86%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English83%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant80%

Writing

All Students65%
Female69%
Male61%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic56%
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)73%
Free lunch eligible46%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch74%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities69%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English68%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant65%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students85%
Female83%
Male88%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)83%
Free lunch eligible73%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch88%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities90%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English85%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant85%

Reading

All Students83%
Female88%
Male75%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)83%
Free lunch eligible59%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch89%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities88%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English84%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant83%

Writing

All Students71%
Female77%
Male63%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)68%
Free lunch eligible41%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch79%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities79%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English72%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant71%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students75%
Female70%
Male79%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic58%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)83%
Free lunch eligible50%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch82%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities78%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English75%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant75%

Reading

All Students85%
Female85%
Male85%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic74%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)86%
Free lunch eligible68%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch92%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities88%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English83%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant85%

Science

All Students59%
Female52%
Male64%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic32%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)75%
Free lunch eligible41%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch65%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities61%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English62%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant59%

Writing

All Students74%
Female80%
Male68%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic63%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)80%
Free lunch eligible59%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch80%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities77%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English72%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant74%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

23%
of schools in the state are Below average
52%
of schools in the state are Average
24%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Colorado. Test scores are based on 2012-13 TCAP results from the state of Colorado.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Average

Reading growth at this school

Average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 TCAP results from the state of Colorado.

2 This rating is based on 2011-12 and 2012-13 Median Growth Percentiles in Math, English Language Arts, and Writing from the state of Colorado.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 65% 56%
Hispanic 18% 32%
Two or more races 8% 3%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 4% 3%
Black 4% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 23%N/A41%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

6460 Vickers Dr
Colorado Springs, CO 80918
Phone: (719) 328-6100

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Scott Elementary School
Colorado Springs, CO


Cornerstone Baptist Academy
Colorado Springs, CO


Pikes Peak Christian School
Colorado Springs, CO


Pioneer Elementary School
Colorado Springs, CO


King Elementary School
Colorado Springs, CO


Keller Elementary School
Colorado Springs, CO


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT