Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
9-12
Public charter
Colorado Springs, CO
Students enrolled: 155

4 stars
Based on 21 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


23 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


CIVA Charter High School 4

Posted June 04, 2013
- a parent
The teachers really care about and work with students. The principle is awsome with the kids. There is a very good atmosphere of friendship at the school.

CIVA Charter High School 5

Posted October 09, 2012
- a parent
This school saved my middle daughter from becoming a drop out to an outstanding member of the school and her community. This school is taking my youngest daughter to new experiences she would never have if she stayed in a large public school.


CIVA Charter High School 5

Posted October 04, 2012
- a teacher
The poster who gave CIVA one star is completely wrong about this school. The arts and music offerings are outstanding. Garage band? CIVA's choir wears uniforms and are lead by an outstanding music teacher. There's also band, theater, art, photography, even jewelry making. Tons of arts electives. And the format is very college like. Some classes are every day, some twice a week, it really helps students understand what college will be like. They learn to plan their schedules and study times and become disciplined learners. On top of that, the school offers a very small, family like environment where the students support and care for one another. You won't find bullying at CIVA. I'd encourage families to come check it out for themselves. The students who don't get anything out of CIVA are students who choose not to. This is far from an alternative school...it's a well rounded college prep and arts curriculum.

CIVA Charter High School 5

Posted September 09, 2012
- a student
CIVA is a wonderful school. This is my second year here and I have never seen a school build their students like CIVA has. After just a semester at CIVA, I saw students morph from unruly children to responsible and dedicated students. It really is remarkable how contagious CIVA's positive attitude is. With such a great principal, it's no wonder that the teachers and students are so upbeat. If you're a student stuggling with your studies or with any social problems, there is no better school than CIVA. Because of the one-on-one method we use here, students are always guarenteed help. The way teachers and students help each other improve and challenge themselves is one of the most inspiring things I've ever seen in the education system. The principles that CIVA teaches also reflects in the students. Quantum Learning's 9 keys of excellence are almost always present in the students and teachers. I recommend and support this school 100% because without it, I wouldn't be half the student I am today.

CIVA Charter High School 1

Posted August 10, 2012
- a student
CIVA Charter High School is certainly not for students looking to be challenged. Definitely an "alternative" style school, the teachers are very relaxed and often turn a blind eye to obvious disrespect and misbehavior of the students. CIVA tried very hard to be a "family", which often comes before the student's education. Many of the teachers are more like students than role-models, which causes the students to easily take advantage of them. Claiming to be an "art-based" school, the extracurricular classes are poor at best. Only offering a few basic art classes and band classes that feel more like a garage band jam. I was disappointed in this school. The idea of it sounds so perfect, yet it is executed terribly.


CIVA Charter High School 5

Posted September 08, 2011
- a parent
CIVA Charter School is a life-changing experience not only for students but for parents as well. Everyone becomes part of the family. Students that graduate from CIVA are well-educated, confident adults. The teachers really care about each individual student and their future. Even the principal know each student by name and genuinely cares about each of them.

CIVA Charter High School 5

Posted September 07, 2011
- a student
This school is amazing. I has been here for three years, and I would not imagine going anywhere else!

CIVA Charter High School 5

Posted September 07, 2011
- a student
I hace been a student at Civa for three years. I beloved that Civa has changed my life for the best kind of future. I have been a leader here sence day one and I beloved this is my family and I am part of this family


CIVA Charter High School 5

Posted August 31, 2011
- a community member
This school does wonders for students self esteem...great small school environment, interactive classrooms, and the students are really free to be themselves in a safe, family-like environment. The kids are respectful and all treat each other like family. I've never seen a school like this...great arts program, college prep format, and strong academics. Love it!

CIVA Charter High School 5

Posted August 31, 2011
- a community member
CIVA is amazing! This school is a small, family like environment that allows the students to be themselves and does wonders for their self esteem. The classrooms are interactive, the teachers know and care about each student, and the students treat each other like family. Great arts program and college prep format. Take a tour...you will feel the positive energy and great things happening when you walk in the tour. This school is the best kept secret in Colorado Springs

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

CIVA Charter High School
4635 Northpark Dr, Colorado Springs, CO  80918
(719) 633-1306
Last modified CIVA Charter High School is a Charter school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
CIVA Charter High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 23 reviews. Top