Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Scott Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 657 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 17 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

30 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 25, 2013

This school is wonderful!!!!!!! We moved here from Pennsylvania this past May. We had our concerns about bullying (which there was a lot of back in Pennsylvania) and if our daughter would be to far ahead or behind in course work. I am very happy to say that THERE IS NO bullying at Scott. Unlike PA where it was all talk and no action on Bullying, It IS NOT ALLOWED here at Scott. If bullying happens Dr. Roth is right there on top of it putting a stop to it. We had our parent teacher conference yesterday and very happy to say that our daughter has straight (A's) and is very active in 2 clubs and band. Keep up the great work Dr. Roth and staff!!!!!!!!!!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 23, 2013

I absolutely LOVE this school and the staff within it! The ESP staff is just amazing and so very patient and caring!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 30, 2013

Scott Elementary is a school full of well-trained, professional, yet fun staff. The teachers hold the students to a high standard, while giving them the personal attention they need. We have never had a teacher we didn't adore and respect immensely. The PTA sponsors a wide variety of events for the community, and finds ways to encourage and support the staff and students throughout the year. A school this great has to have great leadership too. Our principal leads with confidence, but is not tucked away in his office away from the action either. The students LOVE him and he's often seen around the school grounds playing basketball with the kids or wearing silly hats that make the kids giggle. I think the kids love him that much more because he is often like a big kid himself. Our family feels blessed to be a part of the Scott community!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 25, 2013

We have been attending Scott Elementary for 5 years. This school is awesome, the parent involvement, the teachers have been so great that I would trust them, I would call them friends, and I am so pleased with who my son is becoming. I know that is home life but I would give a lot of credit to the school. Any time I have had an issue I went in was always able to get to the right person and the issue was corrected immediately. We are lucky to be a part of Scott Elementary !!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 25, 2013

We moved into the Scott Elementary school area last year and could not be happier. Not only are they academically superior, their staff and the community has been very welcoming. I was afraid that my daughter would fall behind and not be socially welcomed because she was a new student, and hadn't attended the school since kindergarten, but her 3rd grade teacher went above and beyond to make sure that she got what she needed and the kids welcomed her with open arms. This is such a wonderful school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 25, 2013

Love Scott! The teacher's and staff are amazing - and the parental involvement really brings everything together. My son has attended Scott from Kindergarten on (now in 4th grade) and I have been beyond pleased with the learning environment!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 24, 2013

My son started Kindergarten there and he is very happy. His teacher really knows her stuff and pushes him to do his best. She has boundaries and enforces them (he needs that). My one area for improvement is that they need a new parent orientation. I had to call to find out when the Kindergarten open house was, call to find out what his student ID number is, etc. I think they should give you all of that at once (without asking) and give a tour of the school before school starts.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 24, 2013

This is truly a wonderful school. The staff is always so friendly and helpful, the grounds are well kept, and the community is always very supportive of the school and school activities.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 24, 2013

Scott Elementary is an awesome school with a great community! The teachers, staff, parents and kids all make this school a great place to be.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 24, 2013

After reading a few reviews one thing changed a little. We have a new principle. The great thing is that he is really involved and works hard to know the children and you see him all the time with a smile greeting the kids. We were excited to stay at Scott this year. My son is in first grade and they were awarded a DOD grant to supply the kids with ipads. Technology is coming into this school as well as the whole district. I have loved that the teachers have taught my son to love learning and love reading and math, so far.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 24, 2013

So much to say and so few characters to say it with. We are in our third year at Scott and couldn't be happier. The staff is phenomenal. The teaching is exceptional. The love every adult at that school shows for each child is amazing. Our daughter enjoys every minute of it and is learning so much. They are a school that keeps up with the times and keeps kids involved with their learning. With so much "teach to the test" happening it is refreshing to see teachers provide an education that is so fulfilling for the students and parents alike. I look forward to our 3 remaining years at Scott and getting to know the rest of the teachers as we move up each grade.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 24, 2013

This is our second year at Scott Elementary. Dr. Roth is an excellent principal- he plays outside with the kids, gets to know them and gets to know the parents. The teachers have been outstanding, thinking outside of the box and making learning fun. I can highly recommend Scott Elementary.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 23, 2013

I am a parent and an office staff member... Everyone has the same priority... Support the teachers to educate our children. I love our school!!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted September 23, 2013

I love Scott!! The staff and environment is so inviting and friendly my children love to go to school. I've gotten so much help and support from the school. My family and I moved from an apartment to a house but the only requirement was that we stayed within Scott's district. When I'm asked to describe the school my best description is it's a public school with a private school environment and way of teaching. We've been at Scott since my oldest son was in kindergarten and he is now in fourth grade and I have two other children at Scott.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 23, 2013

I cannot say enough positive things about this school! This is my daughter's second year and my son's first year at Scott. The structure, organization and devotion of the teachers is so impressive. My children are learning more than I feel they would at any other school in the country! We are military, and I'm dreading the day we have to move because I am not sure any other school can compare to Scott!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 23, 2013

School is big, but still has a small, family type atmosphere. The teachers and staff are caring and really want the students to succeed.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted August 20, 2013

Definitely a great school, my kids attended Scott Elementary for two years. I highly recommend this school, Mrs. Michaels and Mrs. Douglas are the best teachers we have ever met, they are all about the kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 14, 2010

This is my daughter's third year at Scott and I am continually impressed by her academic achievements each year. The Principal, Dr. Howard is very visibile as he is the crossing guard every day... often times with students stopping to hug him as they cross the street. Parent involvement is phenomenal. There are 600 student at Scott and in 2009, 800 parents volunteered over 10,000 hours in the classroom! Scott is acadmically ranked as one of the best schools along the Front Range and I'm proud to call it our home school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 28, 2010

I love this school!! The principal and vice-principal are excellent and very caring and sweet with the students. Dr. Howard, the principal, is the best. (He even fills in for the crossing guard sometimes and does it with a big, warm smile.) The teachers are top-notch. The school makes parents volunteers feel welcome and part of the school. I love it when the kids eat lunch outside when it is nice outside. Plenty of PE and running around time for the kids. And the school is very clean. Overall, it is a very inviting and education-driven school with your child's interest at heart.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 5, 2009

Scott is an amazing school! They are teaching the CO state standards for each grade level, and as an educator and parent, I can tell you that they are above and beyond the majority of schools in the area (including the D-20 schools) in all academic areas. The staff (including two National Board Certified Teachers) are the best I've seen in my 13 years as an educator. My daughter has grown by leaps and bounds in the two years she has attended and I am grateful for the opportunities the school offers. Dr. Howard is the best principal I have had the pleasure of knowing and I believe that he does an outstanding job for the Scott community. I believe, without a doubt, that this is the best school in the city!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

111 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
99%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

110 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
96%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 51% in 2013.

111 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
88%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

119 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
92%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 68% in 2013.

119 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
86%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2013.

119 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
75%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

111 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
78%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 70% in 2013.

111 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
92%
Science

The state average for Science was 49% in 2013.

111 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
67%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 57% in 2013.

111 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
78%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students82%
Female79%
Male85%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic74%
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)85%
Free lunch eligible72%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch86%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities84%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English83%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant82%

Reading

All Students85%
Female87%
Male81%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic79%
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)88%
Free lunch eligible76%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch90%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities87%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English85%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant85%

Writing

All Students70%
Female75%
Male65%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic63%
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)70%
Free lunch eligible64%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch76%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities73%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English70%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant70%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students87%
Female84%
Male90%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic67%
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)91%
Free lunch eligible74%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch91%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities90%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English88%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant86%

Reading

All Students81%
Female79%
Male83%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic72%
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)85%
Free lunch eligible69%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch87%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities84%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English82%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant81%

Writing

All Students75%
Female76%
Male73%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic56%
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)81%
Free lunch eligible69%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch77%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities80%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English76%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant75%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students84%
Female86%
Male82%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic65%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)89%
Free lunch eligible74%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch85%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities90%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English84%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant84%

Reading

All Students84%
Female90%
Male78%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic75%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)88%
Free lunch eligible70%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch89%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities89%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English83%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant84%

Science

All Students65%
Female68%
Male61%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic45%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)69%
Free lunch eligible52%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch71%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities70%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English66%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant65%

Writing

All Students80%
Female88%
Male72%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic65%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)85%
Free lunch eligible65%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch83%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities85%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English80%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant80%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

23%
of schools in the state are Below average
52%
of schools in the state are Average
24%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Colorado. Test scores are based on 2012-13 TCAP results from the state of Colorado.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Below Average

Reading growth at this school

Below Average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 TCAP results from the state of Colorado.

2 This rating is based on 2011-12 and 2012-13 Median Growth Percentiles in Math, English Language Arts, and Writing from the state of Colorado.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 67% 56%
Hispanic 14% 32%
Black 8% 5%
Two or more races 7% 3%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 3% 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 0%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 29%N/A41%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

6175 Whetstone Dr
Colorado Springs, CO 80923
Phone: (719) 328-6200

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Martinez Elementary School
Colorado Springs, CO


Freedom Elementary School
Colorado Springs, CO


Colorado Springs Academy
Colorado Springs, CO


Pioneer Elementary School
Colorado Springs, CO


Cornerstone Baptist Academy
Colorado Springs, CO


Pikes Peak Christian School
Colorado Springs, CO


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT