Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

The Imagine Classical Academy At Indigo Ranch

Charter | K-8

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 13 ratings
2013:
Based on 9 ratings
2012:
Based on 18 ratings
2011:
Based on 27 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

137 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 7, 2011

Beware of this school. Yo uthink Charter means more oportunity, smaller class sizes and better education, yet based of test scores they came in at the same as other public schools in the immediate area, they laid off teachers increasing class sizes to at or near regular public school sizes and cut all funding for the arts. They are continually hitting parents up for money, yet show no frugality with the way they spend and have little regard for the child as a person, but as a commodity. The principle is condescending to the parents (her customers!) and has a poor sense of priority. I have endured for 3 years, I have volunteered to help correct issues and I can't do it any more. If I can get as good of an education, the same class size and more access to extra curricular opportunities at nearby elementary schools why would I stay and put up with the elitist attitudes. I can not wai for the end of the year, I am transferring my daughter out as fast as I can.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 19, 2011

This school does not have a band/orchestra or choir program even for its middle schoolers. It is offered for an additional fee through their childcare program not through the school itself.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 27, 2011

Why so many Great Schools reviews? The two closest Neighborhood Schools (NS) received 15 and 17 reviews since 05. The closest Charter School has 64 since 07 while Imagine shows 101 (21, 42, & 38 since 08). Why do the two local charter schools have many more reviews then the two local NS? NS do not need to advertise because they have a population base in their neighborhood; the opposite is true for Charter Schools as 100% of the families have to "choose" to attend via word-of-mouth advertising (Less than 10% of Imagine s students are within walking distance) Also, charter schools require parent involvement so it's a natural tendency to submit a review to help with advertising. D-49 pools their SPED funding received from all schools and distributes the instructors and $ as they believe best. Imagine paid D-49 about $495,000 for SPED instruction last year. The public budget shows $497,995 going to D-49 next year. Students up to 3rd Grade are tested in Saxon Math every 5 school days. Students receive 2 pages of math homework 4-5 days per week. Imagine started with 684 kids last year and had a 5.7% withdrawal rate. There are no class standing figures.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 27, 2011

The math is rigorous, the uniform rules are enforced, some teachers are strict, they don't have a lot of money, the parking guys are rigid, yet all the kiddos I know are thriving. When I call the office the receptionist is polite and helpful so enough complaining on them. Like others have said the school might not be right for everyone but it seems like they have 600 happy families and we are one of them.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 25, 2011

To the June 20th poster, there's no need to be nasty to the "Isn't it ironic..." poster. The parents complained not because of unrealistic expectations but because they and their kids had bad experiences with this school. I know lots of families who withdrew their kids because there's no special education assistance and because of the unresponsive, uncaring administrators. I know some kids who literally have anxiety attacks because they're so afraid of getting in trouble with the school's extremely strict standards set upon them (i.e. getting sent to the principal's office for failing to tuck in polo shirts or failing to stay in line). There's also a powerful mommy clique that tries to control the school's PTO and drive others out. People need to see both positive and negative reviews to make the best possible decisions for their kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 8, 2011

My child just graduated from TICA, and I'm fully confident he is prepared for great success in high school and beyond. The teachers do more than adhere to a curriculum...they contribute real-world experience and build relationships.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 27, 2011

Isn't it ironic that for every negative comment made quite a few positive ones are made? I dont know of another school that has so many reviews. It's almost like this school has a taskforce of parents that view this frequently to be sure to up the rating....?


Posted May 26, 2011

This was our first experience with a public school and could not be happier. The school is still new and is working out some of the kinks of being new but overall it was a great experience. I'm glad we had the opportunity to enroll our children there. The curriculum is challenging but both of our girls excelled academically. I would definitely recommend.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 3, 2011

The curriculum and homework load at this school is a bit overwhelming. The front office staff is very unfriendly, every time I enter office I am never greeted, each time I've had to greet them. This will be my children first and last year attending Imagine. This has been one of the most stressful years in school my children have ever experienced. I am very disappointed that the school expects every kid to learn at the same level. As a parent who is very involved in my children's education want learning to be a joy and not a burden!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 26, 2011

It is a great academic school. We are investing in our children's future by monitoring or helping with homework after school. The challenging homework now will pay off later. We like the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 26, 2011

We love Imagine our daughter has attend since kindergarten (she is currently in 1st grade) and is excelling at Imagine, yes the curriculum is challenging but like her kindergartener teacher expressed children's brains are like sponges they will absorb it all very quickly. Because the curriculum is challenging my daughter is never bored at school and enjoys going everyday and especially excited about going back after school breaks.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 25, 2011

I have two children at Imagine and really like the school. Yes, the curriculum is challenging, and parent involvement is expected. No, Imagine isn't for everyone. But I am in awe of what my children are learning and how well they are doing. I think our public schools, in general, have been so watered down to accommodate those who struggle. Those who can excel have been left behind. Imagine is a good alternative for those who need the challenge. I appreciate the school's curriculum, the focus on character and the atmosphere. I have found the teachers to be caring and structured. But I do want to add that I'd like to see the art program restored, paid teacher's aides (teachers and parent volunteers can do only so much!) especially since class sizes increased due to lay-offs, better SPED, and for the administration to be more in touch with the needs of the students and parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 18, 2011

The Imagine Classical Academy has been a fantastic beginning for my kids' education. The academic curriculum has been much better than I ever imagined. My five year olds are both reading well, and their approach to math has been very successful with both of my children. They enjoy learning and seem to be challenged but not frustrated with what has been asked of them. Their teacher has done a fantastic job of emphasizing the moral values held by the school, and she is truly dedicated to her responsibility as a role model to the students. In addition, parent participation is encouraging. Most if not all of the parents of kids in my children's class have been involved with assisting the teacher this year. The school has a personal feel and I would highly recommend it to a family that wants to be involved in their child's education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 11, 2011

I have had children attend both the local public schools and Imagine. I agree that the school isn't perfect, but there is no perfect school. There will always be something we don't like. Removing the art program was disappointing, but unfortunately necessary at the time. I hope to see it come back when our financing is in better shape. My child receives an excellent education at this school. He will thrive when he has to go to a local public high school and for that I am grateful. My son's teacher is fabulous and I do understand that finding a teacher that is a good personality match for your family is hard. I also know that they ask about your child's personality and strengths/weaknesses so they can pair you up with the best possible match. The more involvIed you are at the school, the more you will understand the workings at the school. This school requires parental involvement in some form or fashion. As long as you can contribute to your child's education, you will see your child thrive. If you simply want to send them to school and be done with it, I suggest one of the local public schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 11, 2011

In regards of the post on March 17th... the posts are not false infromation. Maybe you have been one of the lucky parents who haven't had experiences such as the ones posted previously. Please rember not every child/family is going have the same experiences in this school that your child has had. Nothing I posted has been untruthful, I do think this school has some good teachers, and teachers who's efforts aren't recognized. But their are things that have happend that you didn't see or experince, don't tell me I'm lying!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 11, 2011

Our family has attended TICA since its' founding days, and we couldn't be more pleased. The curriculum provided to the students is unrivaled, the staff are caring and professional, the atmosphere is one of focused learning, and the community is friendly and welcoming. This school recently received very high marks from a site visit conducted by a branch of CDE. Curriculum is designed and parents are expected to take an active part in their child's learning, which is so important in academic success for students. Students are also taught and expected to display positive character values. Qualified teachers oversee the structure, direction, and rigorous content of learning. There is not a better place for a child to be than in this community of staff and families dedicated to classical education, college prep, and character education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 10, 2011

This school is so demanding of my fifth grader, he has had to quit sports and church activities to keep up with homework. Much of the teaching is done at home. There is little support for a struggling student and they have no problem with retaining a student at this age instead of helping him/her to succeed. Teachers show little compassion--very military. My son has had to change schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 3, 2011

LOVE the teachers at this school but, recently they laid off 5 teachers causing huge classroom sizes. Also, they really need to work on providing services for special needs. I would also like to see a library, and return of their Art program. Also, the teachers are very overwhelmed with no teachers-aids. They depend on parent volunteers for almost all of their assistant needs. Haven't decided if my daughter will be returning.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 27, 2011

Excellant teachers with amazing support from parents. If your child is not ready for a challenge and not ready to be held accountable for their behavior, then this is not the school for your child. It is not the teachers or the schools job to raise your child, their job is to "EDUCATE" your child. We the parents should support our teachers and do our jobs as parents and provide home training for our children. Again, the education at this school is "OUTSTANDING" and so are our "TEACHERS!"
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 17, 2011

I must say I am extremely shocked but many of the reviews of our school. This school has one of the best, most supportive environments for students, staff, and parents. The teachers ALWAYS go above and beyond for their students. They tutor for free, differentiate learning, and seek the best possible strategies to help all students achieve success. They genuinely care about each and every child. I have NEVER, EVER heard the principal nor the vice principal scream or yell at anyone, including the staff. They are highly qualified and I would invite you to check their credentials with the district; I'm positive you would be very pleased with the information you would find. If you are a parent, please do not believe this false information, come to our school and observe any classroom, at any time of the day. We welcome parents to observe and see for themselves why our school is different. Please also try to come to our meet and greets to get to know our principal and vice principal. If you choose this school for your child, your child will receive the best public education in this area by far, hands down!!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

111 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
86%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

111 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
82%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 51% in 2013.

111 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
68%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

94 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
77%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 68% in 2013.

94 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
70%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2013.

94 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
52%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

83 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
71%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 70% in 2013.

83 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
78%
Science

The state average for Science was 49% in 2013.

83 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
49%

2012

 
 
53%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 57% in 2013.

83 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
65%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 62% in 2013.

81 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
64%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

81 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
88%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 58% in 2013.

82 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
75%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 55% in 2013.

49 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
47%

2012

 
 
62%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 68% in 2013.

49 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
79%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 61% in 2013.

49 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
79%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 52% in 2013.

40 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
56%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 67% in 2013.

40 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
78%
Science

The state average for Science was 52% in 2013.

40 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
63%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2013.

40 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
68%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students93%
Female91%
Male94%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic84%
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)95%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch93%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities93%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English93%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant93%

Reading

All Students83%
Female81%
Male85%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic76%
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)86%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch85%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities84%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English82%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant83%

Writing

All Students60%
Female60%
Male60%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic52%
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)62%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch63%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities62%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English60%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant60%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students80%
Female80%
Male80%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic71%
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)85%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch80%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities84%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English79%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant80%

Reading

All Students77%
Female86%
Male68%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic52%
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)87%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch80%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities81%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English78%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant77%

Writing

All Students62%
Female80%
Male46%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic48%
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)65%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch64%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities65%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English63%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant62%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students75%
Female73%
Male76%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)77%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch75%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities80%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English76%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant75%

Reading

All Students70%
Female71%
Male68%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)70%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch72%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities73%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English70%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant69%

Science

All Students49%
Female49%
Male50%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)53%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch53%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities53%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English52%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant51%

Writing

All Students59%
Female64%
Male53%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)60%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch60%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities62%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English60%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant59%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students64%
Female59%
Male70%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)69%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch69%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities66%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English64%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant65%

Reading

All Students86%
Female91%
Male81%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)87%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch89%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities89%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English86%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant86%

Writing

All Students76%
Female78%
Male73%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)81%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch81%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities78%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English77%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant77%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students47%
Female30%
Male68%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)50%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch50%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities49%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English46%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant47%

Reading

All Students88%
Female89%
Male86%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)87%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch86%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities92%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English88%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant88%

Writing

All Students82%
Female85%
Male77%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)87%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch81%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities83%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English81%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant82%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students58%
Female68%
Male45%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)67%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch63%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities61%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English58%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant58%

Reading

All Students78%
Female86%
Male67%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)83%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch75%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities79%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English78%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant78%

Science

All Students58%
Female59%
Male56%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)75%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch59%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities61%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English58%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant58%

Writing

All Students75%
Female86%
Male61%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)75%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch72%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities76%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English75%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant75%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

23%
of schools in the state are Below average
52%
of schools in the state are Average
24%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Colorado. Test scores are based on 2012-13 TCAP results from the state of Colorado.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Below Average

Reading growth at this school

Average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 TCAP results from the state of Colorado.

2 This rating is based on 2011-12 and 2012-13 Median Growth Percentiles in Math, English Language Arts, and Writing from the state of Colorado.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 67% 56%
Hispanic 16% 32%
Two or more races 8% 3%
Black 6% 5%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 0%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 5%N/A41%
Male 46%N/A51%
Female 54%N/A49%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
Nurse(s)
PE instructor(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Math specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Science lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Latin

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Gym
  • Kitchen
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
  • Before school
School Leader's name
  • Tina Leone
Fax number
  • (719) 495-4239

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Core knowledge
Foreign languages taught
  • Latin

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
Transportation options
  • School shares bus/van with other schools
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Playground
  • Science lab
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
Girls sports
  • Basketball

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Volunteer in the classroom
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

6464 Peterson Rd
Colorado Springs, CO 80923
Website: Click here
Phone: (719) 306-2966

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Ridgeview Elementary School
Colorado Springs, CO


Colorado Springs Academy
Colorado Springs, CO


Stetson Elementary School
Colorado Springs, CO


Banning Lewis Ranch Academy
Colorado Springs, CO


Odyssey Elementary School
Colorado Springs, CO


Freedom Elementary School
Colorado Springs, CO


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT