Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

The Imagine Classical Academy At Indigo Ranch

Charter | K-8 | 802 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 13 ratings
2013:
Based on 9 ratings
2012:
Based on 18 ratings
2011:
Based on 27 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

137 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 27, 2014

I hope the new administrative team can change things around, but I m doubtful. Priorities have been in the wrong place for years. The prior principal manipulated situations, withheld information, and bullied to get what she wanted. Regional leaders are not any better. It seems like all they care about is the bottom line, and let her destructive behavior continue for too long. Class sizes are also too big. These are just some of the reasons for the drastic turnover experienced each year. It also says a lot about someone when their spouse comes to a board meeting and swears at board members and staff. He also informed everyone that the administrator s new job is much better because she will work less hours, and get paid more . It s ironic, this is what the staff has been saying for years? They re overworked and underpaid! Several great staff members have come & gone. Others remain hoping this year will be better, but it will take a long time to rebuild the trust that has been lost.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted June 16, 2014

My family LOVES this school! We have been to other schools and none compair to this one! I have never experience teachers that care more or give more to their students than those at Imagine! This is a school of choice and that means that the families that attend choose to be here and parents put much more effort into their children's success and are much more involved than parents in other schools. It isn't a perfect fit for everyone and if it wasn't a good fit for your family there is no reason for you attack the school with your posts. I can't imagine having my kids anywhere else and I know many more families that feel the same way. If you want to partner with your child's teacher and be a part in your child's academic success, this school is for you!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 15, 2014

This school has a family atmosphere that is a rare find in a school setting. The teachers care about each other, the families, and the students. The teachers push the students to do their very best and while there is much more homework and at home activities than a standard public school, students learn material a year a head of schedule. I would highly recommend this school!


Posted May 4, 2014

This school is horrible. This is my son's 3rd and LAST year here. Every year the teachers take no pride in their teachings and are ok with letting their students fall behind. In fact, they even tend to blame the child instead of trying to work with them. They do not care to see a student excel in anything. They create favorites and i've come to believe that they may even be racist there. My son has had issues with racism there all 3 years he went there. I wanted to hope that it wasn't true but after 3 years, I see that it is true. The turn over rate for the staff is unbelievable. The front office staff is rude and are very irresponsible. They let someone that was not on the authorized list pick up my son from school!!! My son will NOT spend another year at this school. I would NOT recommend this school for anyone.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2014

My child went to this school when it first opened before the building was built on Peterson, and I did nothing but RAVE about how well it was! But for some reason the moment we expanded it declined, and that was in 2010! So I can only imagine what it's like now. My child did one more year and that was it, and let me say that I loved the teachers and I loved the curriculum but we left because of the ADMINISTRATION! Mean, rude, drama starting, lying administration! My child started a new school in second grade and has been happy ever since and so have I! I still had many friends that remained at Imagine and slowly one by one they would disenroll their children and I've heard nothing but complaints since we left about the administration. I hope this school can recover with a new admin team in place!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 25, 2014

My family just transferred from another imagine school a couple weeks ago. We absolutely loved the school there and were excited to come here. So excited in fact that we drive out of our way and have quite the commute to attend. Since being here I myself have noticed how rude the front office staff is, have not meet the principal, and my kids come home everyday composing about how much the teachers yell at other kids. Out sounds as though the music teacher is the biggest offender which breaks my heart as a musician myself. I was looking forward to attending next year as a family, however at this point I am just anxious to finish the last month as we find a better fit. I am truly amazed at how fast I have learned how inappropriate
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 23, 2014

Worst school ever!!! My child didnt learn anything at this school..The students run the school. There is no discipline. Administration needs serious help. The staff in front office are not friendly. The teacher turn over is unreal. . RUN!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 15, 2014

We are finishing up our first year here and even though my children are excelling, I have major issues with administration and special education needs. The turn over is atrocious and since we live so close my husband and I decided to give the school a chance. I'm definitely having second thoughts. My children's teachers are wonderful but the school atmosphere, especially in the higher grades is much to be desired. How can my kids learn when there are other kids disrupting class and giving teachers a hard time? My kiddos are A students because of the amount of work we do at home. They both have jumped a math grade, but I have to re-teach almost every night because there are times that the math teacher cannot teach because of the disruptions in the class! I have spoke to admin about this & the frequency of incidents have decreased but short-lived. I honestly do not know what to do about next year.I agree with the administration having to be replaced. We were three months into school before my children knew who the principal was! The principal at our out-of-state school that we came from was stellar & every single child knew him & he knew them by name! We had such high hopes.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 25, 2014

this school has one of the worst administrations ever and bullies get away with almost anything - unbelievable- not a pleasant school environment! Good teachers don't stay for longer than a semester - this school has received consistently low parent ratings for at least 3 years and doesn't deserve the cumulative 4 stars - save your child some serious unhappiness and send him or her to a public school instead!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 14, 2014

Many of the teachers here are great but many have left. There has been a high turn-over for the last two years. (50% each year) The Principal is to blame for this! She does not support all the teachers equitable. She has her "pets" but if a teacher disagrees with her, they are treated differently. My daughter's teacher last year went to the Principal with a problem but the Principal refused to do anything about it because it involved one of the PTO parents that the Principal liked. If you are not a supporter of the Principal, she will not talk to you. Althought character is taught at this school, it is selectivly practised by the Principal. NOT a good role model for our children or the teachers. That's why there is a high turn-over. The Board will not do anything because some members of the board are close personal friends of the Principal. This administration needs to be removed. I will probable not have my children return next year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 14, 2014

If your student has behavior problems that you support, you've found the right place, I have never found an organization that permits people to walk all over their paid professionals or bend policies like this one. Did your student earn detention for misbehavior at lunch? Just whine to the principal, she will cave and blame the teachers. Want to talk to the principal or vice-principal about a classroom issue? Good luck finding them -one works from home every other week and the other is on trips to Arizona or attending "symposiums". "This is a great school despite its administration" - direct feedback from their last accreditation. I wish I had these teachers and this curriculum when I was in school, but I have never worked with such unsupportive, unaccountable "leadership" in my life. Sadly, the administration cares more about the money each student brings in more than the academic and character education the students receive and will therefore sacrifice these for any parent who threatens to disenroll their student. "Shared Values" are shoved down the staff's throats, but not demonstrated by the admin. Prospective teachers, you have been warned.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted February 21, 2014

The administration does need to change or be replaced. There was cutting and in appropriate interaction between the boys and girls of the middle school happening at the school and it was never addressed and the staff and faculty acted like it did not exist. Also the front office staff is very harsh. My children begged me not to have them wait in the office by them. I pray for this school, it has so much potential but we have pulled our kids and will not be recommending it to any one else until the administration changes and there is some teacher stability.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 4, 2014

This school is lacking in resources. It is too advanced for children in the lower grades. I have not had a good experience with this school. My daughter hated going to school and brought home an hour in a half work of homework every night that we ended up having to reteach. I am a certified teacher myself and did not agree with the phonograms coding to teach spelling. This continues onto 3rd grade where spelling words are marked wrong if incorrectly coded even though my daughter spelled the words correctly. We do not use this coding in the real world so this was the final straw in deciding to move my daughter back to public school. She also had 24 kids in her class and now she has 18. She is much happier at the public school and not as stressed out. They lack resources such as a gym, visual paperwork for the students(they make them take a crazy amount of notes) and support staff. That is why they rely on parents to volunteer to make up for this lack of resources. I know I made the right decision to move my daughter back to a public school where she will be better served.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 12, 2013

After enrolling one of our children at IIR in 2011 and having a fairly decent year, we enrolled our second one in 2012. Things went downhill that year. The classrooms were packed. As creative, talented teachers left they were replaced by what I consider to be "classroom managers" -- adults who specialize in posting assignments and ensuring students stay on-task but either have no time or aptitude for actually TEACHING and mentoring kids. The result was stressed, confused kids ... and meetings with staff ultimately featured the "well we let the kids know what is expected of them" line. Staff-parent communications were poor, and we felt that we were spending most of our evenings re-teaching subject matter to our kids because they were pushed so fast through the material merely so a "completed" box could be checked by somebody in Administration. One of the final straws came on the last day of the 2012-2013 school year, when our youngest brought home an F in a subject we expected a C in. The teacher's note: "sorry, wasn't aware his grade was that low." We now home-school. IIR is a train wreck, and not any better of an experience for your child than a "regular" D-49 school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 14, 2013

Very good school, although i find it not to be challenging, the staff is wonderful


Posted August 12, 2013

not sure what is going on at the school - it used to be good at the beginning but the last two years it went downhill. Had to take our daughter out of the school as she hated to come to school ever day- she is in a public school now and a complete turnaround - she loves school again ...
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 6, 2013

This is our second year and I really did not want to return. The core curriculum is what we wanted to challenge our student. However, the administration is severely lacking. They don't even follow their own mission statement that says character is modeled and promoted. I'm very dissapointed in their handling of situations which involve student to student problems. Half the year went by with no resolve on one issue then a more severe issue regarding harrassment was totally ignored. I will not be as lenient this year in letting them ignore issues. I belive in second chances but it's gonna be a short leash this year!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 26, 2013

Imagine Indigo Ranch My two older,children began attending this school before the building at Peterson even broke ground. We left for a year and a half and my youngest also began Preschool there this past year. I am very disappointed by the constant turnover within the faculty. We have had some of the best teachers work at this school and they do not stay because of the administration. The principal, Dean of Students and the previous Vice Principal are all poor leaders who do not follow through when there is any conflict among children, families or faculty. With the exception of the gentleman in the front office, the office staff is unfriendly and often unorganized. He has been an active parent volunteer since the school opened. He has been a great asset to the office staff. He is kind, patient, organized and professional. With a new administration and front office staff, this school would be phenomenal. The curriculum is great! My children are academically ahead of friends of theirs in other public schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 15, 2013

I have three children who attend this school. I have been very involved in each of their classrooms and activities. We have been fortunate to have good teachers. My main complaint about the school is bullying that is not addressed. My daughter that is in middle school has been chocked by a student and the student was told to keep her hands to herself. The student had been involved in several physical altercations in one form or another. The administration didn't take any action towards resolving the bullying. The student was not suspended or expelled until this week. Two weeks remaining of school and our children have had to endure this student's behavior for the entire school year. This is unacceptable, the administration was aware of the issues throughout the year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 26, 2013

I really like the emphasis on Character and Teachers are very nice and treat the children kindly. I am happy that parents involvement is welcomed. It amazes me what a kinderg rtner knows. They really learn a lot and I am completely content with the school. Well the one thing I wish could be different would be carpooling and parking space other than that I couldn't think of a better place for my kids--I love it!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

111 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
86%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

111 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
82%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 51% in 2013.

111 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
68%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

94 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
77%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 68% in 2013.

94 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
70%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2013.

94 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
52%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

83 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
71%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 70% in 2013.

83 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
78%
Science

The state average for Science was 49% in 2013.

83 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
49%

2012

 
 
53%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 57% in 2013.

83 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
65%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 62% in 2013.

81 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
64%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

81 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
88%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 58% in 2013.

82 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
75%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 55% in 2013.

49 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
47%

2012

 
 
62%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 68% in 2013.

49 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
79%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 61% in 2013.

49 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
79%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 52% in 2013.

40 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
56%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 67% in 2013.

40 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
78%
Science

The state average for Science was 52% in 2013.

40 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
63%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2013.

40 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
68%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students93%
Female91%
Male94%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic84%
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)95%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch93%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities93%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English93%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant93%

Reading

All Students83%
Female81%
Male85%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic76%
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)86%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch85%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities84%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English82%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant83%

Writing

All Students60%
Female60%
Male60%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic52%
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)62%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch63%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities62%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English60%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant60%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students80%
Female80%
Male80%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic71%
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)85%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch80%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities84%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English79%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant80%

Reading

All Students77%
Female86%
Male68%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic52%
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)87%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch80%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities81%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English78%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant77%

Writing

All Students62%
Female80%
Male46%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic48%
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)65%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch64%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities65%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English63%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant62%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students75%
Female73%
Male76%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)77%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch75%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities80%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English76%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant75%

Reading

All Students70%
Female71%
Male68%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)70%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch72%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities73%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English70%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant69%

Science

All Students49%
Female49%
Male50%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)53%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch53%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities53%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English52%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant51%

Writing

All Students59%
Female64%
Male53%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)60%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch60%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities62%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English60%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant59%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students64%
Female59%
Male70%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)69%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch69%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities66%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English64%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant65%

Reading

All Students86%
Female91%
Male81%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)87%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch89%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities89%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English86%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant86%

Writing

All Students76%
Female78%
Male73%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)81%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch81%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities78%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English77%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant77%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students47%
Female30%
Male68%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)50%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch50%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities49%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English46%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant47%

Reading

All Students88%
Female89%
Male86%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)87%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch86%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities92%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English88%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant88%

Writing

All Students82%
Female85%
Male77%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)87%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch81%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities83%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English81%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant82%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students58%
Female68%
Male45%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)67%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch63%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities61%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English58%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant58%

Reading

All Students78%
Female86%
Male67%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)83%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch75%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities79%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English78%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant78%

Science

All Students58%
Female59%
Male56%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)75%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch59%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities61%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English58%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant58%

Writing

All Students75%
Female86%
Male61%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)75%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch72%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities76%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English75%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant75%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

23%
of schools in the state are Below average
52%
of schools in the state are Average
24%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Colorado. Test scores are based on 2012-13 TCAP results from the state of Colorado.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Below Average

Reading growth at this school

Average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 TCAP results from the state of Colorado.

2 This rating is based on 2011-12 and 2012-13 Median Growth Percentiles in Math, English Language Arts, and Writing from the state of Colorado.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 67% 56%
Hispanic 16% 32%
Two or more races 8% 3%
Black 6% 5%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 0%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 5%N/A41%
Male 46%N/A51%
Female 54%N/A49%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
Nurse(s)
PE instructor(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Math specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Science lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Latin

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Gym
  • Kitchen
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
  • Before school
School Leader's name
  • Tina Leone
Fax number
  • (719) 495-4239

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Core knowledge
Foreign languages taught
  • Latin

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
Transportation options
  • School shares bus/van with other schools
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Playground
  • Science lab
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
Girls sports
  • Basketball

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Volunteer in the classroom
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

6464 Peterson Rd
Colorado Springs, CO 80923
Website: Click here
Phone: (719) 306-2966

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Ridgeview Elementary School
Colorado Springs, CO


Colorado Springs Academy
Colorado Springs, CO


Stetson Elementary School
Colorado Springs, CO


Banning Lewis Ranch Academy
Colorado Springs, CO


Odyssey Elementary School
Colorado Springs, CO


Freedom Elementary School
Colorado Springs, CO


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT