Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Vista Ridge High School

Public | 9-12 | 1147 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 4 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 12, 2014

The school in new and beautiful inside but lacking in leadership. When my girls went here a few years ago they hated it! One of my daughters loves school so I know something was off. After the leadership issues many of the good teachers left. We ended up leaving the school as well. I'd rather drive my kids to a D20 school. I was happy with my choice to move them. I wish I would of done it sooner. One thing that shocked me is at parent info night we were required to pay additional fees based on the classes my daughters were in. One year it was close to $200! That's not counting the yearbooks and activity passes.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 21, 2014

Can't contact counselling, can't contact attendance, the teachers are rude. I've only heard good things about a future teachers, namely Mr. Hill. My daughter's intelligence is wasted here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 8, 2014

Can't get a hold of the guidance counselors Ever They don't return calls or emails.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 16, 2013

I am so disappointed in Vista Ridge. I have contacted the 9th grade guidance counselor 15 times and still have unresolved issues. Currently they are only grading based upon test scores, so if your child is a great "tester" they will do GREAT at this school. However, if tests are hard for your child they will fall between all of the cracks. We are currently looking for a new school for my son. I cannot wait to get out of Vista!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 21, 2013

My children attend this school and they love it. Everything is brand new, and is up to date with technology. The teachers are absolutely wonderful. They care and want the kids to learn. This is an amazing school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 26, 2013

Honestly i started attending this school after moving from a dodds school in europe & i must say the adapting to the "public" school environment is tough. most of the teachers seem to be bored of their jobs so they teach very boringly. The best teachers who actually show excitement in teaching are Mr. Hites (spell check); Mr. Ockvirk; and Mr. Hill. Most of the teachers don't communicate with their students at all if they're confused about something. All they care about is their paycheck at the end of the day. The school has been nothing but drama hence the news & sometimes honestly i didn't want to go to school because it was just so boring. i mean seriously who just teaches by telling their students to write notes & then having a quiz the next day. it's stupid. anyways the positives. the students are pretty chill. some classes are fun & interesting. sports are alright. & the late starts on wednesdays.


Posted August 12, 2012

It's been good so far. It was nice to have the first day of school exclusively for 9th graders and to be greeted at the door with a "welcome to Vista Ridge" upon entering that first day!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 31, 2012

Vista Ridge is a great school with so many enrichments, and academic quality. They really have quality teachers, and have after school study sessions for those who need it, a wonderful library, and a wonderful classroom enviorment. By going to this school, I have gained plenty scholarships from universities, and many opportunities to enhance my future. Through all the hard work I have put in to my education, and from the help of my outstanding teachers, I plan to graduate this year with a very successful future a head of me. I couldn't have done it without being a proud Vista Ridge Wolf!
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 24, 2012

When this school opened, my son was in the first graduating class..this was the best high school that my kids have been in. My other two kids hated leaving but when we were there we were really happy when they attended. The teachers are great and very helpful.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 9, 2012

I am currently a Junior at Vista Ridge High School. I am also a Varsity Cheerleader, in Student Council, NHS, and AP/Honors student. I absolutely love Vista Ridge. Obviously it has its flaws but all schools do. Even though there are flaws most of the teachers are great teachers who really care. I am proud to be a Vista Ridge Wolf.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 18, 2011

outstanding school. by far the best school in D49! new facilities with first graduating senior class of 2011. unfortunately share football field with there former classmates at Sand Creek High.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 39% in 2013.

350 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
38%

2012

 
 
32%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 68% in 2013.

348 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
63%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 55% in 2013.

348 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
47%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 34% in 2013.

298 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
25%

2012

 
 
33%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 70% in 2013.

299 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
65%
Science

The state average for Science was 51% in 2013.

297 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
43%

2012

 
 
45%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 49% in 2013.

299 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
46%

2012

 
 
41%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students38%
Female38%
Male37%
Black (not Hispanic)18%
Asiann/a
Hispanic30%
Multiracial42%
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)42%
Free lunch eligible22%
Reduced lunch eligible20%
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch42%
Students with disabilities (IEP)0%
Students without disabilities40%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English38%
Migrantn/a
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant38%

Reading

All Students69%
Female77%
Male60%
Black (not Hispanic)63%
Asiann/a
Hispanic60%
Multiracial80%
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)72%
Free lunch eligible50%
Reduced lunch eligible68%
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch72%
Students with disabilities (IEP)24%
Students without disabilities71%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English71%
Migrantn/a
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant69%

Writing

All Students58%
Female68%
Male46%
Black (not Hispanic)52%
Asiann/a
Hispanic47%
Multiracial50%
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)62%
Free lunch eligible38%
Reduced lunch eligible58%
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch61%
Students with disabilities (IEP)6%
Students without disabilities60%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English59%
Migrantn/a
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant57%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students25%
Female25%
Male25%
Black (not Hispanic)6%
Asiann/a
Hispanic18%
Multiracial35%
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)31%
Free lunch eligible20%
Reduced lunch eligible25%
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch26%
Students with disabilities (IEP)0%
Students without disabilities27%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English25%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant25%

Reading

All Students71%
Female82%
Male60%
Black (not Hispanic)50%
Asiann/a
Hispanic63%
Multiracial85%
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)76%
Free lunch eligible62%
Reduced lunch eligible69%
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch73%
Students with disabilities (IEP)21%
Students without disabilities75%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English70%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant71%

Science

All Students43%
Female43%
Male44%
Black (not Hispanic)36%
Asiann/a
Hispanic43%
Multiracial60%
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)44%
Free lunch eligible35%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch45%
Students with disabilities (IEP)0%
Students without disabilities47%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English44%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant43%

Writing

All Students46%
Female58%
Male35%
Black (not Hispanic)33%
Asiann/a
Hispanic46%
Multiracial65%
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)48%
Free lunch eligible38%
Reduced lunch eligible44%
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch48%
Students with disabilities (IEP)0%
Students without disabilities50%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English46%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant46%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Average

Test score rating
Student growth rating
College readiness rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

23%
of schools in the state are Below average
52%
of schools in the state are Average
24%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Colorado. Test scores are based on 2012-13 TCAP results from the state of Colorado.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Below Average

Reading growth at this school

Average


College readiness rating 20133What's this?

College readiness rating combines this high school's graduation rates with data about college entrance exams, both of which are indicators of how well schools are preparing students for success in college and beyond.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

ACT participation

94%

Average ACT score

19

Graduation rate

95%


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 TCAP results from the state of Colorado.

2 This rating is based on 2011-12 and 2012-13 Median Growth Percentiles in Math, English Language Arts, and Writing from the state of Colorado.

3 This rating is based on composite ACT scores from 2012-13 and four-year adjusted graduation rates from 2011-12. ACT participation represents the percentage of 11th graders taking the ACT. Because the ACT is mandated in Colorado high schools, ACT participation is NOT included in the GreatSchools rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 60% 56%
Hispanic 18% 32%
Black 11% 5%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 5% 3%
Two or more races 5% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 16%N/A41%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

6888 Black Forest Rd
Colorado Springs, CO 80922
Phone: (719) 491-6983

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Liberty High School
Colorado Springs, CO


Sand Creek High School
Colorado Springs, CO


Doherty High School
Colorado Springs, CO


Cornerstone Baptist Academy
Colorado Springs, CO


Pikes Peak Christian School
Colorado Springs, CO


Rampart High School
Colorado Springs, CO


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT