Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
7-8
Public charter
Colorado Springs, CO

5 stars
Based on 5 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


10 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


The Vanguard School (Middle) 5

Posted April 28, 2011
- a parent
My daughter has attended CMCA since kindergarten and is getting ready to "move up" to 9th grade at The Vanguard School. The rigorous academics and teaching method have truly suited her learning style. Although not a perfect school, at times the homework load seems too great, I would not even consider another school for her. She has learned excellent time management and organizational skills. The ability based groups have allowed her to work to her full potential. She is proud to be a part of this school. I appreciate the diversity of students, as we have kids who come from every district in the city.

The Vanguard School (Middle) 5

Posted October 27, 2010
- a parent
It's a classical education where kids are exposed to original documents - not just text books alone. It has the feel of a private school while actually being a public school. We love it.


The Vanguard School (Middle) 0
no rating

Posted October 23, 2010
- a parent
My daughter started in the Cheyenne Mountain Charter Academy system in 7th grade. It was a very hard transition for her because after being in the traditional public system she wasn't prepared for the rigors required of this school. After several months in her new school she commented that her younger brother and sister were lucky because they had started in this school at a younger age and were going to be smarter than she is. She routinely chastises her friends her put the school down telling them this is the best school she's ever been to-she's been in 4 schools. I can't more highly recommend this school!

The Vanguard School (Middle) 0
no rating

Posted October 18, 2010
- a parent
The school has taken my student who was on an IEP in our regular public school and has advanced her to an honor student in one semester. Their demand for striving and achieving is remarkable. The teachers are very caring and helpful. The school also demands parent involvement that needs to happen everywhere. It takes a community to raise a child.

The Vanguard School (Middle) 5

Posted October 08, 2010
- a parent
The expectations are very high for the students.


The Vanguard School (Middle) 5

Posted September 27, 2010
- a teacher
Fall Sports: Boys' Soccer, Girls' Volleyball, Boys' & Girls' Cross Country (6th grade included), Forensics (6th grade included) Winter Sports: Boys' Basketball,Girls' Basketball Spring Sports: Girls' Soccer, Boys' & Girls' Track (6th grade included) Matchwits

The Vanguard School (Middle) 0
no rating

Posted September 26, 2010
- a parent
The Vanguard Middle School (aka Cheyenne Mountain Charter Academy) is phenomenal. They are able to meet the needs of all of the students (those below, at and above grade level) with a challenging curriculum. They manage to provide a PE class EVERY DAY when many other schools are cutting their programs. The only drawback to the school is the lack of sports and extra curriculars. The academics are excellent.

The Vanguard School (Middle) 0
no rating

Posted September 25, 2010
- a parent
I have an 8th grader at Vangaurd andshe loves this school because her teachers really care and are very supportive. It is small enough for the students to know each other but large enough to have a quality sports program and super- great teachers!


The Vanguard School (Middle) 0
no rating

Posted September 24, 2010
- a parent
Our 4 kids have attended CMCA / Vanguard school for almost all of their school years. Our oldest will graduate this year from Vanguard and has scored incredibly high on her ACT and SAT scores - in huge part due to the wonderfully competent and caring teachers at CMCA / Vanguard. This school will challenge and encourage your children to achieve their best.

The Vanguard School (Middle) 5

Posted September 24, 2010
- a parent
My daughters are in their third year at CMCA/Vanguard and I am beyond impressed with the high academic standards this school has set.My daughters enjoy learning and they work hard .The school is challenging and structured.I highly recommend this school to anyone who wants their child to have an A+ education that is college focused,a school that treats students with respect and expects the same integrity and respect from each child in return,a school that i feel safe leaving my children at each day.Bottom line this school is excellent and worth checking into.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

The Vanguard School (Middle)
1605 S. Corona Ave, Colorado Springs, CO  80906
(719) 471-1999
Last modified The Vanguard School (Middle) is a Charter school that serves grades 7-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
The Vanguard School (Middle) Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 10 reviews. Top