Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Atlas Preparatory School

Charter | 5-9 | 500 students

Education. Character. Community.
 
 

 
 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 12 ratings
2013:
Based on 6 ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

22 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted yesterday

So sorry to hear about the other parent's experience. Atlas has a bully reporting system called Safe to Tell where parents and students can anonymously report any concerns they have. I hope that parent took the time to submit it so that teachers and administrators were able to address the issue. In my experience the school has been very helpful in addressing bullying concerns and issues.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted Tuesday, August 26, 2014

THe one single thing that makes schools high quality and effective is the teaching instruction...and Atlas has just that. I'm sad to say that I will pulling my two sons because not only are they being bullied by their peers, but teachers and administrators do nothing about it. Let me repeat...nothing about it. How long can you keep your children in a school when they are being bullied?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 23, 2014

Atlas has provided me with a high level of support as an instructional staff member in the High School. After having worked in several schools, it is refreshing to be surrounded by such a high calibre of teachers who work hard and are dedicated to working with urban students. Administration has an open door policy and are always open to suggestions in the best interest of student success.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted July 22, 2014

My son is about to start his second year at Atlas, and after a friend of mine mentioned the school's reputation here, I felt as though I should speak up on its behalf. Having attended another school in the area prior to Atlas, we moved him into Atlas after he just seemed to be getting mixed up into more and more trouble. Though the transition was a bit rocky (the standars here are definitely higher!), he really seemed to fall in love with his teachers. Within a month of his enrollment he was chosen to move in to the Honors program and hasn't slowed down. I was able to get a hold of his advisor whenever I needed, and felt respected and welcomed every time I came in for conferences. While the school may not be perfect, it has been a significant step up in teaching quality and challenge compared to other local options.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 7, 2014

My daughter will be starting her second year at Atlas soon. She really likes the school and they have helped her get better at reading and math. I wish they offered more class options for the students, but she is doing really good in her classes. I hope this next year goes as well as last year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 28, 2014

My son is in this school for 3 years and I am very pleased with it. Every school has some things that need to be improved. Nothing is perfect in any school. It is still a new school compare to the rest of the schools in the district. I never had any bad experience with teachers or other staff. Always friendly and try hard to give the best. When I read all the commons I am surprised what I read. I know teaching is a hard job and when I see other schools where kids have no discipline I am glad my son is in Atlas Prep.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 21, 2014

I've had my kids at Atlas for 3 years now, and have been very pleased with the quality of the teachers. Given the other options in the area Atlas is clearly the superior option if you want your child to receive an education where academics, discipline, and character matter. Reading many of the reviews already submitted it is clear to me that the hundreds of other satisfied parents need to rise up and voice their support. Every school is going to have its share of disgruntled parents (and teacher? sounds fake to me based off what I've seen), and it always seems like these upset few always yell the loudest and post the most in order to try to make it seem like their opinion is shared by most. Not true in this case, Atlas is Harrison 2 family's best hope for a quality education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 11, 2014

I worked at Atlas Prep and what I saw way horrifying. The administration is impossible to work with, the teachers are overworked and broken down from trying to give their students the best and having to fight their admin every step of the way. Teachers move around grades and content areas 2-3 times per year, meaning that they never get to fully own their content areas, and students are constantly having to get to know new teachers. The learning that goes on in classrooms is surface level, not through any fault of the teachers. Promises made to staff and parents do not see follow through, and students suffer because of it. Their "enrichment program" in the arts and sports is one hour a day of unstructured time, which ranges from playing on the field to watching movies. The music and art programs they talk about in their ads do not actually exist. The bottom line is this: your child deserves better than Atlas Prep can ever give them. Save yourself some time and enroll elsewhere.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted April 17, 2014

10 out 10 atlas really cares for is students and there familys this school rock
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 17, 2014

i wish the school offered more opportunities but its good overall and i'm happy to be attending this school


Posted March 21, 2014

This is a great school for students and families...very caring, talented, and supportive staff. Students receive daily enrichment activities as well as extended school day options.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted January 14, 2014

This is my sons 3rd year at Atlas and I have to say I'm really sad with how it's going. He has had 3 different special ed teachers this year because teachers keep quitting. The principals don't even tell parents the teachers are leaving until after the fact and then they don't want to talk about it. When you walk in the school, everyone looks sad.. I think this school has a good idea, that they want to do good, but they don't seem to know how. Instead, they work teachers till they quit, they yell at the kids all day and put them on suspension for crazy reasons (my son forgot his shoes and got put on in school suspension), and they don't have anything to help kids with their behavior except getting them in trouble. My son has an IEP and they make him copy essays every time he gets in trouble: he has trouble writing but he had to write 13 essays. This school used to be good, but test scores are bad and kids aren't learning. I hope they turn it around because I like the people there. It's just not good now.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 16, 2013

I believe they wait until count is over, and they then purge their rolls of children with IEPs. This is why money should not be doled out based on a one day count in October.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 12, 2013

This school is horrible and pay attention to the reviews because the principal is a joke. He likes to brag about where he got his education but he's not really interested in these children (minorities mostly) truly getting a great education along with a fulfilling experience that bolsters great self-esteem. I would never send my children back to this school and encourage parents (even if this is your last option) to think long and hard about subjecting your children to this school. I'd homeschool before I put my precious children back into this school and I agree with one of the other parental reviews- "The principal is truly a hateful "snake" of a man. It's a shame anyone with the right resources is allowed to open and run a school!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 12, 2013

Love this school! My child is in the 5th grade, her teachers know her by name, she feels safe, is doing well in class and has made new friends.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 17, 2013

This school is a joke. I thought that my child would excel here. The truth is the kids pass because of attendance and participation mainly. The teachers here are not certified or have a teaching degree. They are from Teachers of America. Means they study a special area but that is it. My child knows more about Spain than American history in 6th grade. My child did not know what the 4th of July was for. All the social studies is about other countries, what about our country? Then the lunch administration lags at the beginning of the year for reduced/free lunches. Even though I turned in the application the first day of school, I am responsible for costs until the day the day she submitted the information? And because I have not paid it thus far but will, they send home notes stating if not paid by a certain date, they will send it to a collections agency? This school is crooked in so many ways. My child will not be going back and I strongly discourage other parents from having their child attend there. The perks of no school supplies and smaller classrooms sounded nice, but there is still a lack of communication between teachers and parents until it is too late.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 4, 2013

This school is okay if your scholar is failing at other schools and you want them to pass. Do not put your child here if your looking for them to advance. The curricular is basic and there are no text books. There is one college for advanced kids in 5th grade. I know because my son attends it. Its a great college with great teachers but my son is not advancing in two areas. Its nice I didn't have to buy school supplies but not nice enough to have my son lose another year of learning. The scholar pick up system after school is horrible especially in the snow. Great school if you aren't looking for anything advanced.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 29, 2013

My child has been at Atlas for two years now and I have seen a lot of growth in her confidence and desire to learn. I like the classroom structure and the paycheck system really motivates her to do well and want to achieve more. I have been very happy with the growth I have seen my student accomplish since starting at Atlas. I am also looking forward to seeing the high school open in the next year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 19, 2012

My kids have gone here now for three years and I wouldn't send them anywhere else. They are recieving the skills and education they need to succeed in a positive environment. Atlas has a great community feel that extends it's support beyond basic school hours and support. Amazing after school activities that you won't find at any other school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 2, 2012

I do not like the administration at this school. I have never seen a principal that doesn't like his own student body as much as the principal at this school. He makes these kids stand outside in freezing weather while he and his staff walk past and go into the warm bldg. My kids have gone to several schools in CO and have never been subjected to this. They will not be returning! The teacher's want to be treated like gods but some of them are very demeaning to the kids. If you want fairness for your kids, think twice before sending them to this school. The curriculum is subpar as well and they do NOT offer tutoring (not 100% sure about this) that I know of and if they do, my child should have been offered tutoring a while ago. Beware of this school it is not a "great" school!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

89 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
42%

2012

 
 
42%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 70% in 2013.

89 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
47%

2012

 
 
41%
Science

The state average for Science was 49% in 2013.

89 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
26%

2012

 
 
27%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 57% in 2013.

89 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
24%

2012

 
 
35%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 62% in 2013.

137 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
33%

2012

 
 
46%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

137 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
44%

2012

 
 
63%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 58% in 2013.

137 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
26%

2012

 
 
29%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 55% in 2013.

132 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
38%

2012

 
 
46%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 68% in 2013.

132 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
49%

2012

 
 
57%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 61% in 2013.

132 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
41%

2012

 
 
49%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 52% in 2013.

121 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
32%

2012

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 67% in 2013.

120 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
n/a
Science

The state average for Science was 52% in 2013.

120 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
43%

2012

 
 
n/a
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2013.

120 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
41%

2012

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 39% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 68% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Writing

The state average for Writing was 55% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students42%
Female34%
Male48%
Black (not Hispanic)28%
Asiann/a
Hispanic40%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)56%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch43%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities43%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English41%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant42%

Reading

All Students47%
Female44%
Male50%
Black (not Hispanic)45%
Asiann/a
Hispanic42%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)56%
Free lunch eligible44%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch48%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities48%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English49%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant48%

Science

All Students26%
Female22%
Male29%
Black (not Hispanic)22%
Asiann/a
Hispanic21%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)31%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch24%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities26%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English30%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant26%

Writing

All Students24%
Female24%
Male23%
Black (not Hispanic)33%
Asiann/a
Hispanic16%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)19%
Free lunch eligible25%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch23%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities25%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English28%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant24%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students33%
Female31%
Male35%
Black (not Hispanic)21%
Asiann/a
Hispanic35%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)50%
Free lunch eligible39%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch32%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities35%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)21%
Proficient in English34%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant32%

Reading

All Students44%
Female44%
Male43%
Black (not Hispanic)56%
Asiann/a
Hispanic39%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)46%
Free lunch eligible72%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch40%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities48%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)24%
Proficient in English49%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant43%

Writing

All Students26%
Female32%
Male19%
Black (not Hispanic)32%
Asiann/a
Hispanic23%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)21%
Free lunch eligible33%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch25%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities28%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)9%
Proficient in English29%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant26%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students38%
Female41%
Male35%
Black (not Hispanic)28%
Asiann/a
Hispanic41%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)29%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch39%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities42%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)28%
Proficient in English38%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant38%

Reading

All Students49%
Female55%
Male45%
Black (not Hispanic)48%
Asiann/a
Hispanic47%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)43%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch51%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities55%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)20%
Proficient in English54%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant49%

Writing

All Students41%
Female50%
Male34%
Black (not Hispanic)38%
Asiann/a
Hispanic38%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)38%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch42%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities45%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)20%
Proficient in English42%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant41%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students32%
Female29%
Male35%
Black (not Hispanic)30%
Asiann/a
Hispanic27%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)41%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch34%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities34%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English35%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant32%

Reading

All Students53%
Female63%
Male44%
Black (not Hispanic)46%
Asiann/a
Hispanic48%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)59%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch55%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities56%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English55%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant53%

Science

All Students43%
Female50%
Male37%
Black (not Hispanic)32%
Asiann/a
Hispanic38%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)59%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch45%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities44%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English46%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant43%

Writing

All Students41%
Female50%
Male34%
Black (not Hispanic)38%
Asiann/a
Hispanic32%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)50%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch42%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities43%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English45%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant41%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunchn/a
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrantn/a

Reading

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunchn/a
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrantn/a

Writing

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunchn/a
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrantn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Below average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

23%
of schools in the state are Below average
52%
of schools in the state are Average
24%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Colorado. Test scores are based on 2012-13 TCAP results from the state of Colorado.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Below Average

Reading growth at this school

Below Average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 TCAP results from the state of Colorado.

2 This rating is based on 2011-12 and 2012-13 Median Growth Percentiles in Math, English Language Arts, and Writing from the state of Colorado.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 39% 32%
White 25% 56%
Black 19% 5%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 12% 3%
Two or more races 3% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 2% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 77%N/A41%
Male 54%N/A51%
Female 46%N/A49%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
PE instructor(s)
Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • Center for Excellence (2010)

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular special education needs
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Cognitive disability
  • Specific learning disabilities
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Science lab
Clubs
  • Math club

Arts & music

School facilities
  • Art room
Performing and written arts
  • Dance
Clubs
  • Art club
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish
Clubs
  • Foreign language club: Spanish & Japanese

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
Clubs
  • Cooking club

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Honors track
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:00 am
School end time
  • 3:45 pm
School Leader's name
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Gender
  • Coed
Special schedule
  • Extended/longer school day
  • Year-round
Is there an application process?
  • Yes

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • College prep
  • Honors track
  • STEM
  • Standards-based
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • None
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular special education needs
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Cognitive disability
  • Specific learning disabilities
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Counseling
  • Differentiated learning programs
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
  • Tutoring
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Science lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Football
  • Judo / Other Martial Arts
  • Soccer
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Judo / Other Martial Arts
  • Soccer
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • None
Music
  • None
Performing arts
  • Dance
Media arts
  • None

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Art club
  • Boxing
  • Boy scouts
  • Cooking club
  • Foreign language club: Spanish & Japanese
  • Math club
  • News Crew
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Photos

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer in the classroom
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?

Students typically come from these schools
l
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1628 South Murray Blvd
Colorado Springs, CO 80916
Website: Click here
Phone: (719) 358-7196

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Panorama Middle School
Colorado Springs, CO


Carmel Middle School
Colorado Springs, CO



All Peoples Learning Center
Colorado Springs, CO


Jack Swigert Aerospace Academy
Colorado Springs, CO


Mountain Vista Community School
Colorado Springs, CO


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT