Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
5-9
Public charter
Colorado Springs, CO
Students enrolled: 500
Before care: No
After care: No
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Atlas Preparatory School
Develops grit: Neutral

Posted July 16, 2015
- a parent
Yes I believe this school develops persistence grit and determination in its students and I agree with that statement.

Atlas Preparatory School
Develops empathy: Neutral

Posted July 16, 2015
- a parent
yes I do agree with that statement and I have nothing to add to it.


Atlas Preparatory School
Develops honesty: Disagree

Posted July 16, 2015
- a parent
Admins need to keep a closer eye on teachers when they are supposedly supposed to be teaching.

Atlas Preparatory School 1

Posted June 24, 2015
- a parent
Administration is awful....teachers care about kids but are constantly changing. Academics are poor and they split up the kids into two groups based on their abilities. My student has the principal as a teacher. He never showed up and gave them worksheet when he did.

Atlas Preparatory School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted June 13, 2015
- a parent
I LOVE my child's teachers! I have all of their cell phone numbers in my phone, and am able to talk with them whenever I need to. I'll just say that its nice to know that the people spending 8 hours a day with my child really do care about him and his future.


Atlas Preparatory School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted June 13, 2015
- a parent
My boy definitely has more homework per night than his friends who go to different schools, but as a parent I'm happy to see that the school is taking seriously preparing students for college. Two hours a night of homework for an honors high school student seems about right to me.

Atlas Preparatory School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted June 13, 2015
- a parent
I remember specifically being told that there is a huge focus on character education at this school, and have met first-hand people whose only job is to build these traits in their students.

Atlas Preparatory School 5

Posted June 13, 2015
- a parent
I am the parent of an 10th grader at this school, and have really been amazed at the opportunities Atlas is providing high school students. As a fan on their facebook page I have seen so many pictures and stories being posted of things like taking students on fully paid for trips to visit colleges in New York City and Washington D.C., as well as taking AP tests at the Broadmoor, and countless hiking trips. My boy is even spending the month of June at Colorado College because of Atlas, working with the admissions department and doing work that will prepare him for applying to college. I'm sure there are other schools out there that do similar things, but none that I know of here in this part of town.


Atlas Preparatory School 1

Posted October 08, 2014
- a parent
I have children who have attended Atlas since it was established, and with each passing year the education gets worse. Everything that was promised at the beginning has been a total fabrication. The teachers are unequipped to teach and discipline the children and are more on the level of a friend to the students. There is no consistency with lesson plans and the students and parents are left to figure it out themselves. Also I feel this is not a school to attend if you have a child with behavioral problems. On many occasions my child was spoken down to and embarrassed in front of classmates by teachers. That is unacceptable. My child is now an honor student and athlete at his current school. My children will no longer be attending Atlas because I feel that my child's education is more Important than if they are "slanting" correctly. If you want your child to have a rewarding and full middle and high school experience, DO NOT SEND THEM TO ATLAS!!!

Atlas Preparatory School 3

Posted August 30, 2014
- a parent
This is my 7th graders 2nd year at Atlas and is it good so far. She likes school and wants to go. Her new teachers have helped her get started in her new grade and our conference was a good time to talk about her grades and goals. So far, this year is going good and I am happy she is here. If I am worried, I call her advisor and they always call back. That is something I really like about Atlas, communication is much better than her other schools.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Atlas Preparatory School
1628 South Murray Blvd, Colorado Springs, CO  80916
(719) 358-7196
Last modified Atlas Preparatory School is a Charter school that serves grades 5-9. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 2 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Atlas Preparatory School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 41 reviews. Top