Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
6-12
Public charter
Colorado Springs, CO
Students enrolled: 240
Before care: No
 

5 stars
Based on 27 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Review comments

27 reviews of this school


Thomas MacLaren State Charter School 5

Posted February 22, 2015
- a parent
Thomas MacLaren School has raised the bar for excellence in education. As a student at TMS for three years our daughter has learned how to think deeply and critically about subject matter and communicate her thoughts effectively through written and oral means. The staff is truly passionate about their academic fields which inevitably rubs off on the students. Results are not grade or even test focused, but rather the depth of knowledge and sense of wonder the student has gained in a content area. We could not be more pleased with this school.

Thomas MacLaren State Charter School 5

Posted February 20, 2015
- a parent
The school challenges my children to think outside the box. They read the classic literature that has become absent in most curriculums today. They are doing algebra in 8th grade and moving into the higher maths the first year of high school. The school is known for its exceptional music program, although I do think there is value in more than just strings and classic music. But it's a great jumping off point into other genres, giving the students a firm grasp of music theory and an appreciation for where music comes from and how it has changed through time. The staff is caring and student focused, seeing each child as whole.


Thomas MacLaren State Charter School 5

Posted February 20, 2015
- a parent
We are lucky to have our children in a school that is socially, academically, and mentally nurturing. The best part is our children feel that passion and devotion everyday as well. It is clear to us that sending our children to MacLaren is one of the best decisions we have made to benefit their futures.

Thomas MacLaren State Charter School 5

Posted February 20, 2015
- a parent
One way the school culture bridges the grades and disciplines is by faculty members who create assemblies that are talked about across the board. They also have grade-integrated groups that compete in indoor and outdoor field day events, giving younger students the ability to get to know older students in a positive environment.

Thomas MacLaren State Charter School 1

Posted January 28, 2015
- a parent
TMS is a stiffling, sparse environment that doesn't do NEARLY all the things it promises to deliver. Odd, difficult to get answers to basic questions, and poorly delivered education. I wouldn't recommend this school to anyone.


Thomas MacLaren State Charter School 3

Posted January 27, 2014
- a parent
The administration is masterful at selectively reporting the school s successes, while conveniently omitting any mention of its failures. The same organization that awarded MacLaren s sparsely populated high school an A gave the middle school a B- for overall performance and a C for student academic growth. Check out the website if you don t believe me. Now the middle school did receive an A for academic proficiency, but the implications are still concerning. What it means is this: MacLaren s middle school students are enrolling with high proficiency levels, but their performance is actually declining. In other words, the majority of students are not making a year s progress in a year.

Thomas MacLaren State Charter School 5

Posted October 26, 2013
- a parent
This school has been such a blessing for my two kids Learning had been brought to life by teachers who are excited about the curriculum and who spread that enthusiasm to out kids! The skills that each child receives in orchestra are unmatched by any school in the city.

Thomas MacLaren State Charter School 5

Posted October 25, 2013
- a parent
Excellence from the top down. Could not be more pleased with the leadership, administration, teachers and curriculum. Best decision we ever made to send our child here.


Thomas MacLaren State Charter School 5

Posted October 25, 2013
- a parent
Our school is fabulous!! The curriculum is challenging and fun! The teachers are very knowledgable and seem to really enjoy the students they teach. Each class has an advisor and any concerns are addressed immediately. Classroom sizes are small and each student known well by classmates and teachers. I would recommend Thomas MacLaren to anyone.

Thomas MacLaren State Charter School 5

Posted October 25, 2013
- a parent
This school takes the politics out of education by focusing on best practices in education. My wife and I were sick of schools focusing on test scores, and political motivated curriculum. We found Thomas MacLaren to be a school that focuses on a child's education! I have never seen a more motivated, caring staff anyplace I have been. They have met and exceeded our expectations and our child is thriving.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Thomas MacLaren State Charter School
303 Austin Bluffs Parkway, Colorado Springs, CO  80918
(719) 313-4488
Last modified Thomas MacLaren State Charter School is a Charter school that serves grades 6-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Thomas MacLaren State Charter School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 27 reviews. Top