Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
39 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 43 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Sand Creek High School 1

Posted February 11, 2015
- a parent
My son has A's and B's in all of his classes except one. In that class he had a an impossibly low "F." I told him he couldn't compete in the school's athletics programs because of the F, in accordance with D49 Code of Conduct, is not allowed because academics comes first. The next day my son went to school and complained to a councilor about not being allowed to try out for sports and why. By the end of the day, with no homework turned in, no quiz, and no test, his overall grade was a mid-level D. "Missing grades" on the parent portal "disappeared." So much for the school's motto of "Respect, Responsibility, and Integrity." I can't believe the councilor or teacher would risk their whole athletic program for my son unless this is commonplace at this school.

Sand Creek High School
no rating

Posted November 14, 2014
- a community member
This school is the worst school in the history of man kind, I can't believe your football team stole a special moment from a special needs child. Your school SHOULD BE SHUT DOWN FOR SUPPORTING BULLYING!!!!!!!!!!!!! I am going to Fox news and I will make sure that the entire nation knows what your football team did, cause what you did was completely wrong and all students involved with your football program SHOULD BE EXPELLED!!!!!!!!!


Sand Creek High School 2

Posted May 23, 2014
- a community member
As a student Sand Creek High School is a great school but there are lots of flaws like the bullying and the teachers and staff can be very rude at times so if it was up to me I would of never gone to this school at all dont come here at all please do your self that favor and go to any school but sand creek high school

Sand Creek High School 1

Posted May 19, 2014
- a community member
I've been at Sand Creek for several years now. Although a few of the teachers are amazing, there are a lot of drawbacks to this school. The level at which students are asked to perform is lower than at most schools - the academics need work. Students are not engaged. The administration seems disorganized, detached, and can be rude at times. I would not send my kid here.

Sand Creek High School 4

Posted March 28, 2014
- a parent
All four of my children attended Sand Creek, with my oldest starting in 2005 and my youngest graduating this year. All of my kids participated in the wonderful AP classes and I know their education here prepared them for their success in college. In the last 9 years (geez!), the administration has gone through a lot of changes, but I have always felt informed and had my questions answered. If you and your children are willing to out in the effort, the school will match it. It seems a lot of people these days expect teachers to perform miracles in the classroom while they do nothing at home! Great schools can't work without families.


Sand Creek High School 3

Posted September 09, 2012
- a student
I am Currently attending Sand Creek high school and i love it! The only reason that any student would have any problems here is do to them and their personality. i am a very positive person and things seem to go my way. if you walk into school creating problems and aren't motivated to learn, you will have problems and not learn anything. i think that you can't always Blame the school or the teachers, this is all up to the student.

Sand Creek High School 4

Posted June 27, 2012
- a community member
I am a former student of Sand Creek, I graduated 2 years ago. And in my time at Sand Creek I had my fair share of ups and downs but that's honestly what high school is all about. Sand Creek might not be the best school in the city but it is certainly not the worst by any stretch of the imagination. High school is honestly what you make of it and if you just do what you're supposed to do and surround yourself with good people then things honestly won't be that bad. And also getting involved will help because you may find that you make friendships with other students that have things in common with you. I was involved with band and without that type of creative outlet I can't imagine what my high school career would have been like. I hope that this review was somewhat helpful as a perspective of someone who spent 4 years at Sand Creek and is currently enrolled in college and doing well. Before you take any of these reviews to heart, try out the school for yourself before you buy into other people's opinions and "victim" stories

Sand Creek High School 1

Posted January 24, 2012
- a parent
As a military family we have seen our share of bad and good schools. This is one of the worst schools we have been apart of. Enrolled the kids before school started and they still couldn't start till 4 days later. They lost the school they were transferring in from paperwork, and they put my kids in classes they had already completed, had no interest in, or were not ready for. Staff tells you one thing, then trys to lay blame on you when they want it a different way or the way it should have been from the begininng......I have two kids in this school and out of all teachers they have there is only two that are great teachers, the rest are lazy and to me not qualified to be teachers. The Asst. Principal talks to you like you are stupid......oh and even if your kids are excussed from school with a doctors note, the school will send you court papers for days misses and tell you that you much comply with school rules....well here are the rules.....you must have a doctors note or other agency note to be considered excused and no more than 10 notes via parents in a year......this school should be closed!!!


Sand Creek High School 1

Posted January 08, 2011
- a student
Sand creek is one of or if not the WORST schools Ive ever been to. Ive been going to SCHS since the middle of my freshman year, when I started I felt like I had no help!! The teachers are the main problem it seems like they just hire anybody!

Sand Creek High School 5

Posted June 20, 2010
- a student
I am a student attending this school who is going to be a senior. I don't understand why all these parents are saying that it is the worst school ever. Quite honestly, I think the complete opposite. I have enjoyed going to this school since Freshman year. I am not great at school and the teachers do help me out. I mean sure, there are going to be teachers that don't care. But that happens in every high school. So why are these parents picking on this school. Yes, there are a lot of catty girls here. But we are all teenagers. Its bound to happen just like every other school. We offer AP and honors classes and I know many people who take those classes to great advances. We don't have an outstanding sport record but its not the worst either. The music programs are amazing.I <3 SCHS.

Nearby schools

Sand Creek High School
7005 North Carefree Circle, Colorado Springs, CO  80922
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 43 reviews. (719) 572-0924
Last modified Sand Creek High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top