Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Fox Meadow Middle School

Public | 6-8

 
 

In the know: Get our expert advice on schools

No articles are available

Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 5 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 17, 2013

We had just moved to the area, and our daughter who loved school was actually asking if she could be home schooled. With a doctor's note due to an injury to her hand excusing her from writing, the female gym teacher told her she could write with her left hand, she has a documented muscle weakness. This lady belittled our daughter by then asking the entire classroom if anyone was ever hurt by writing with their other hand. One of the vice principals told us that the request for not writing for two days was unreasonable, and excusing her from writing was with a doctor's note. What is unreasonable is the attitude of the staff at this school. I personally had NO problems with the other staff, and the teachers we met were great. The choir teacher is talented with the kids, and is an amazing asset to the school. This was such a minor incident, but was handled entirely wrong in major ways. We went to see the district student advisor, and he agreed with us over the entire incident. Thank God for K12, because public school should not involve such high drama.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2013

I pulled my daughter out of this school. Fox Meadow needs to raise the bar and get staff in order with how to handle situations appropriately. Female gym teacher disrespects parents, children and ignores doctor notes, and also brings attention of class to a child struggling or with injury. School nurse won't help a child without a hall pass, even if in pain from a migraine. If a teacher sends a child to her without a pass, the child has to go back and get a pass to be helped. Both assistant principals on staff do a good job of listening, but really doesn't seem to resolve situations to make sure situations do not occur again. One told me that the doctor note requiring no use of right hand for two days was "unreasonable". Also, said that kids tend to "exaggerate". School needs to improve staff policy so that everyone is on the same page as how to respect while educating, respect parents, and understand that doctors notes are not "suggestions". Aside from problems we've experienced with staff, there are typical bullying issues here. With my experience with staff I'd have to question how these bully situations are addressed. I didn't keep her enrolled long enough to test that.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 22, 2013

This is by far the worst school I have ever delt with. The students are horrible and treat each other horribly. I have gone to this school for two years now and the school is horrible. We have had trouble with every thing the school is involved with.


Posted June 30, 2013

If you want your kids to bullied and disrespected this is the perfect schools!!! It's awful teachers and students just don't care
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 4, 2013

Don't send your kids here if you want them to get bullied and treated unfairly. My son tells me that the students in this school aren't respectful at all. Whenever I drop him off in the morning, there are students who are cussing like sailors to each other. My son got called by a bunch of cuss words! Two eighth grade girls outside the cafeteria in the morning were holding hands and start kissing each other. My son gets made fun of everyday and there are always rumors spreading around about him. He already reported this bullying incident yet not one staff helped him solve this issue. His report card came out on the 2nd quarter of the school year and I saw that he was failing his math class, so I requested his math teacher some needed extra help for him. They never did help him and by the end of 3rd quarter, his math grade lowered more. Also, during winter, it was about 21 degrees F in the morning and all the kids are left outside, freezing to death! Teacher quality in this school is already bad, students need to learn to be more respectful, and the bullying issue in this school needs to be solved!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 28, 2013

Don't send your kids here if they are on an IEP because of disabilities. They will be in a rigid, inflexible and reactive environment focused on behavior rather than motivating academic and social success.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 13, 2010

this school is alright the teachers try and help u bring your grades up sadly i have to go to another school and if i got one chance i would stay the 7th graders we have alot of fun so does the 8th graders but 6th graders they have some fun but i recommend that ur students go to this school


Posted July 9, 2009

i have attended this school for the past three years (i am now in 9th at harrison high, and i was at fox meadows since 6th) and sadly, i have to move on to high school. The teachers were very respectful of our learning paces, and they made sure that the drama was kept at minimal levels. The dress code, although it was a bit... hindering to our ability to express ourselves, was in the end something that helped us to study and to het to know people by who they were rather than what the wore. the 'courtyard' (playground) was a little boring though, not much to do. But overall the staff was friendly, the atmosphere was educational, and the classes were fun. i love this school, two thumbs up, and i will miss it. -Taylor Lewis
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 7, 2005

Gorman Middle School is now Fox Meadow Middle School. The building is a year old and the overall (negative) atmosphere in the school has changed to a positive one. A new principal is in place and thus far, he has done an excellent job in achieving high academic standards parents expect when sending their child(ren) to this school. I am quite happy with the school, the principal and the staff----together they work hard to bring quality education to the children of Harrison District 2.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 1, 2005

Due to our recent move, we had to pull my son out of this school. It is unfortunate, because I found all of the teachers and staff to be responsive to the needs of my child and the needs of our family. This is the only middle school in our district that requires a dress code for their students and I totally support their stance. This forced my child to get to know his classmates based of personality and school performance rather than clicks and economic status. The only complaint I ever had at this schools was there was not enough books to go around for each student. Therefore, bringing home his books to study was a challenge. Again, the teachers responded to our needs and made allowances for him to bring home a book when necessary. I will truly miss this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 62% in 2013.

163 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
61%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

163 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
71%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 58% in 2013.

163 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
56%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 55% in 2013.

195 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
39%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 68% in 2013.

195 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
59%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 61% in 2013.

195 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
53%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 52% in 2013.

161 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
49%

2012

 
 
28%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 67% in 2013.

161 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
55%
Science

The state average for Science was 52% in 2013.

161 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
51%

2012

 
 
33%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2013.

161 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
33%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students63%
Female65%
Male60%
Black (not Hispanic)52%
Asiann/a
Hispanic59%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)68%
Free lunch eligible54%
Reduced lunch eligible75%
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch80%
Students with disabilities (IEP)16%
Students without disabilities69%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)44%
Proficient in English62%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant62%

Reading

All Students71%
Female79%
Male65%
Black (not Hispanic)70%
Asiann/a
Hispanic61%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)76%
Free lunch eligible64%
Reduced lunch eligible75%
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch87%
Students with disabilities (IEP)5%
Students without disabilities80%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)19%
Proficient in English76%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant71%

Writing

All Students62%
Female75%
Male51%
Black (not Hispanic)58%
Asiann/a
Hispanic65%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)50%
Free lunch eligible56%
Reduced lunch eligible75%
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch72%
Students with disabilities (IEP)5%
Students without disabilities69%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)50%
Proficient in English61%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant62%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students56%
Female62%
Male50%
Black (not Hispanic)48%
Asiann/a
Hispanic53%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)59%
Free lunch eligible49%
Reduced lunch eligible57%
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch70%
Students with disabilities (IEP)8%
Students without disabilities63%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English57%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant56%

Reading

All Students63%
Female69%
Male56%
Black (not Hispanic)55%
Asiann/a
Hispanic55%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)71%
Free lunch eligible56%
Reduced lunch eligible62%
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch77%
Students with disabilities (IEP)12%
Students without disabilities70%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English65%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant63%

Writing

All Students61%
Female67%
Male55%
Black (not Hispanic)59%
Asiann/a
Hispanic59%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)59%
Free lunch eligible52%
Reduced lunch eligible67%
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch79%
Students with disabilities (IEP)12%
Students without disabilities68%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English63%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant61%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students49%
Female53%
Male45%
Black (not Hispanic)53%
Asiann/a
Hispanic39%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)56%
Free lunch eligible42%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch55%
Students with disabilities (IEP)0%
Students without disabilities55%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English49%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant49%

Reading

All Students59%
Female69%
Male50%
Black (not Hispanic)67%
Asiann/a
Hispanic50%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)69%
Free lunch eligible60%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch58%
Students with disabilities (IEP)0%
Students without disabilities66%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English59%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant59%

Science

All Students51%
Female52%
Male50%
Black (not Hispanic)57%
Asiann/a
Hispanic41%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)61%
Free lunch eligible48%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch55%
Students with disabilities (IEP)6%
Students without disabilities56%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English52%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant51%

Writing

All Students50%
Female63%
Male38%
Black (not Hispanic)53%
Asiann/a
Hispanic47%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)57%
Free lunch eligible46%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch53%
Students with disabilities (IEP)12%
Students without disabilities54%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English49%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant50%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

23%
of schools in the state are Below average
52%
of schools in the state are Average
24%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Colorado. Test scores are based on 2012-13 TCAP results from the state of Colorado.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Above average

Reading growth at this school

Average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 TCAP results from the state of Colorado.

2 This rating is based on 2011-12 and 2012-13 Median Growth Percentiles in Math, English Language Arts, and Writing from the state of Colorado.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 44% 32%
White 33% 56%
Black 15% 5%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 4% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 2% 1%
Two or more races 1% 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 71%N/A41%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1450 Cheyenne Meadows Rd
Colorado Springs, CO 80906
Phone: (719) 527-7100

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

The Hillsprings Learning Center
Colorado Springs, CO


New Horizons Day School
Colorado Springs, CO



The Vanguard School (Middle)
Colorado Springs, CO


The Colorado Springs School
Colorado Springs, CO


Mountain Vista Community School
Colorado Springs, CO


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT