Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
9-12
Public district
Colorado Springs, CO
Students enrolled: 856
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Harrison High School 3

Posted April 19, 2014
- a teacher
Harrison HS has come a long way in the past few years. Its test scores, student conflict rates, and graduation rates have climbed. That said, there is an inherent problem when teachers are part of a pay-for-performance system. Due to the often transient nature of the student population, test scores are not necessarily representative of teacher effort. Because many parents do not speak English, parent-teacher communication is difficult. Students do not always have the resources they need in the classrooms. There is no PTA. And in general, the school seems to care a great deal more about teachers' salaries than in placing students where they can best achieve.

Harrison High School 1

Posted December 15, 2013
- a community member
No books given to students or at least with special education. Very bad sign. Notes written by teacher/assistant inaccurate.


Harrison High School 5

Posted July 17, 2013
- a community member
Harrison is a great school and has improved a lot over the years and continues to get better. The education itself was very good, and the teachers and coaches were all involved and amazing. I attended and graduated with excellent grades, took honor's courses, excelled in athletics and extracurricular activities, and I was very prepared for college. I did attend another high school briefly, but it was terrible compared to Harrison.

Harrison High School 1

Posted April 11, 2013
- a parent
Very unhappy with this school. Did not see any involement from the teachers or counselors to help my daughter who moved mid year. They knew she was struggling but I was not contacted to get her tutoring and couldnt get a response to my calls. A lot of drug issues too.

Harrison High School 1

Posted July 06, 2011
- a student
Honestly this school is not meant to prepare students for higher education. I graduated in 2008 and did not do well my first semester at UCCS as a freshmen. They focus way too much on the CSAP and are focusing more on the unproficient students than those taking AP classes and who already scored advanced on the CSAP. They also cut many AP classes as well. If you want your child to succeed, than you need to enroll them into a D-12 or D-11 school.. NOT Harrison District 2


Harrison High School 3

Posted August 05, 2010
- a student
i went to harrison my freshmen year and was extremely happy to be a panther but unfortunately had to move. but my teachers and coaches were amazing and were willing to bend over backwards for me to be the best i could be. and as for harrison reputation its really not as bad as people say, all it comes down to is the people you chose to hang out with.

Harrison High School 5

Posted May 03, 2009
- a parent
Harrison High school provided my child with all of the skills she needed in life, and I thank the school for giving her an amazing education!

Harrison High School 5

Posted January 06, 2009
- a community member
Parental involvement tends to be low, but the staff involvement on the student's lives is excellent. This school gives students encouragement to not only focus on studies, but be involved in all types of extracurricular activities to keep them out of trouble. Students receive not only after school assistance on studies, but as well as a guided direction in their life. I've seen many people graduate from Harrison and excel in all types of universities. They were given the necessary education and guidance to be successful.


Harrison High School 4

Posted November 22, 2008
- a student
Harrison's reputation is much worse than what the school is actually like. Although some students may not seem very involved, there are students with dedication. Overall, this school is great regardless of what others say. Class of '10.

Harrison High School 3

Posted May 20, 2006
- a parent
Negative: school focuses too much on CSAP testing by 'teaching' the test instead of the fundamentals, school will not hold a student back if failing, some educators are complacent (giving a passing grade when the student clearly failed), and parental involvement is low. Positive: zero tolerance for any type of violence; students encouraged to play sports/musical instruments; special needs counselors and academic counselors give over and above what is expected.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Harrison High School
2755 Janitell Rd, Colorado Springs, CO  80906
(719) 579-2080
Last modified Harrison High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Harrison High School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 19 reviews. Top