Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Monterey Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 466 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

5 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 9, 2014

my daughters and I absolutley love Monterey. My oldest daugher attended Centennial before going to Monterey and she hated Centennial so naturally as a parent I was nervous when I registered her at Monterey, would she like it? would she feel comfortable with her new teacher? would she actually learn something? YES! Mrs Bales is an amazing, loving, thoughtful, caring teacher/ human being, I believe she was put on this earth destined to be a teacher . All of Monterey staff are that way, I feel they TRULY care about my children as well as the other children. In theafternoon not one teacher goes back into the building untill all their children are gone, and they make.sure.the kids go with someone the teacher knows as well. My other daughter had Mrs Roten for her kinder year, she is an amazing teacher, when my daughter would come home with homework (which was everyday) she rarely needed help with anything, I believe thats becuase she had such a great teacher and if neither one us could understand something Mrs Roten would be more than happy to explain and let her redo her work so she could get it right. Great teaching Mrs Bales and Mrs Roten!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 5, 2013

My son attended Monterey for two years and we really liked the school. He had great teachers and the principal was wonderful. You could tell that he cared about the students and the school and was working to make the school a better place.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 10, 2012

We loved Monterey! My son was in K and he absolutely loved his teacher, Mrs. Roten. She taught him so much over the year that I am very surprised at what they teach in Kindergarden now a days. We unfortunately had to move from the area but I hope that our next school is the same. I was scared for my son to go after reading the review below, I have to say that when school was out the teachers would stand by the door to make sure that the parents were there for the little ones before they would let them go outside. I also signed a document when I first started my son saying that if I was ever running late the place where kids are supposed to wait is the flagpole and that I had to discuss this with my son. The school is great I dont have one bad thing to say about our expirience there. The lunches however were not the best, but I packed lunch daily. The only reason I know about the lunches is because I would go eat with my son every once in awhile. My son loved going to school and cant wait to go back to school in the fall. Great job Mrs. Roten!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 7, 2010

this school is unsafe for our children they cant keep track of them to get to where they need to be my seven year old daughter was brought home to us by police as i was seaching the neighborhood for her because her teacher couldnt make sure her fifteen students make it to the busses or there parents and my daughter was told by the adult at the front desk in the office to walk home and she was picked up by a police officer walking down Hancock expressway if i sent her walking like that i would probly be charged with neglect or something no emergency contacts were notifided they just wanted to get the kids out and go home who cares they're not there kids why are these people allowed with our kids
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 23, 2009

While some of the staff truly seem to care, others seem to be going through motions. My son loved school before attending here, and left uninspired.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

46 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
63%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

47 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
68%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 51% in 2013.

47 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
32%

2012

 
 
44%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

53 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
65%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 68% in 2013.

53 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
72%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2013.

54 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
45%

2012

 
 
40%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

53 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
49%

2012

 
 
47%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 70% in 2013.

53 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
59%
Science

The state average for Science was 49% in 2013.

53 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
49%

2012

 
 
28%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 57% in 2013.

53 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
51%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students65%
Female59%
Male69%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic54%
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Free lunch eligible61%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunchn/a
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities69%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English82%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant67%

Reading

All Students53%
Female47%
Male57%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic37%
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Free lunch eligible46%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunchn/a
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities56%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English70%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant54%

Writing

All Students32%
Female35%
Male30%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic15%
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Free lunch eligible26%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunchn/a
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities38%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English43%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant33%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students64%
Female62%
Male67%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic58%
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Free lunch eligible65%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunchn/a
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities68%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English73%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant65%

Reading

All Students59%
Female59%
Male58%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic52%
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Free lunch eligible58%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunchn/a
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities62%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English67%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant59%

Writing

All Students45%
Female55%
Male32%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic41%
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Free lunch eligible43%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunchn/a
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities48%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English45%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant44%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students49%
Female52%
Male46%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic43%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Free lunch eligible45%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunchn/a
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities48%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English51%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant52%

Reading

All Students59%
Female74%
Male42%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic52%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Free lunch eligible55%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunchn/a
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities62%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English66%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant62%

Science

All Students49%
Female56%
Male42%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic43%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Free lunch eligible40%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunchn/a
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities50%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English54%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant52%

Writing

All Students57%
Female78%
Male35%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic52%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Free lunch eligible50%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunchn/a
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities60%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English57%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant58%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

23%
of schools in the state are Below average
52%
of schools in the state are Average
24%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Colorado. Test scores are based on 2012-13 TCAP results from the state of Colorado.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Average

Reading growth at this school

Average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 TCAP results from the state of Colorado.

2 This rating is based on 2011-12 and 2012-13 Median Growth Percentiles in Math, English Language Arts, and Writing from the state of Colorado.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 54% 32%
White 26% 57%
Black 13% 5%
Two or more races 4% 3%
Asian 3% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 86%N/A40%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2311 Monterey Rd
Colorado Springs, CO 80910
Phone: (719) 579-2179

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Centennial Elementary School
Colorado Springs, CO


Pikes Peak Elementary School
Colorado Springs, CO


All Peoples Learning Center
Colorado Springs, CO


Giberson Elementary School
Colorado Springs, CO


Springs Preschool
Colorado Springs, CO


Mountain Vista Community School
Colorado Springs, CO


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT