Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
PK-5
Public
Colorado Springs, CO

4 stars
Based on 10 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Sand Creek Elementary School 4

Posted November 02, 2012
- a parent
My eldest daughter has been in this school since kindergarten and she is now in 5th grade. My youngest daughter is in 1st grade and in her second year at the school. I have been very involved with the school working as a board member of the PTCO and a volunteer for the past 5 years. We have loved everything about the school, how welcoming it is and how they have genuinely wanted to have parents involved. Their test scores seem to consistently be improving and both of my daughters seem to be performing above grade level each year. With all of that being said, this school and district is in a transitional year. A new principal started at the school this year and the district is about to hire a new superintendent. I can only hope that I will continue to see improvements in the years to come.

Sand Creek Elementary School 2

Posted October 17, 2012
- a parent
The teachers here are incredible. The administration leaves something to be desired. The counselor is the worse I have seen. The administration leaves the counselor to handle all student matters and he does a very poor job. I would never recommend this school to anyone. The teachers do such an incredible job of communicating with parents as well as challenging the students but if any issues arise, good luck getting any support or assistance from the office.


Sand Creek Elementary School 3

Posted February 17, 2010
- a parent
I believe that the teachers have the best intentions and they are hard workers, however the instructional leadership of the principal is taking away from the talents of the teachers. While the teachers should be using their precious time planning for instruction, they are given tasks that cause them to focus on few children and paperwork to help them raise their test scores . My child loves to see his teacher smile, but she seems so overloaded and stressed. This has an impact on her classroom and the children in there. That woman needs to treat her teacher better!

Sand Creek Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted September 04, 2009
- a parent
While the Principal and most of the teachers seem genuinely concerned and caring, the educational standards seem far below par. My children went to Sand Creek from first grade to fifth and the homework from that day to this has always been the same. Reading and response, spelling and very simple math drills. My children have no concept of even the most basic history and very limited knowledge of geography, culture, and sciences. This isn't an overcrowded school, they have the potential to be doing so much more, and while you have a few teachers who really are stellar performers, they are still bound by the rules/regulations set forth by the district and the school Principal.

Sand Creek Elementary School 2

Posted October 26, 2006
- a parent
The CSAP scores for this school tells a lot about this school. This school is heading in the wrong direction. Very difficult for children to feel connected whent here is so much turnover.


Sand Creek Elementary School 4

Posted September 02, 2006
- a parent
This is one of the best K-5 School in district 2. It is not over crowded. There are some really good and caring teachers. I just wish they had more sports availability for younger children after school. Parents are able to stop in whenever to have lunch with their child or to volunteer.

Sand Creek Elementary School 5

Posted February 23, 2006
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Sand Creek Elementary School 4

Posted August 06, 2005
- a parent
My kids all went to this elementary. We loved the teachers and principal.


Sand Creek Elementary School 2

Posted March 23, 2005
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Sand Creek Elementary School 4

Posted March 17, 2005
- a parent
This school is one of the best for k-5. After starting out in K in another school. My Grandaugther moved to Sand Creek. The change in her study habits and learning ability has risen greatly. She is now in above average in reading and math. I am so glad she had a chance to go to this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Sand Creek Elementary School
550 Sand Creek Dr, Colorado Springs, CO  80916
(719) 579-3760
Last modified Sand Creek Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Sand Creek Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 11 reviews. Top