Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Mountain View Elementary School

Public | K-5 | 568 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

17 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 7, 2014

We only were able to attend this school for one year--as we moved and our kiddo is in 5th grade--but let me just say we LOVED it. Friendly school. Principal on the first day noticed my kid on the playground not knowing anyone, he walked up to my son and asked him to play tetherball with him. That is a principal who cares!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 28, 2013

We had the pleasure of having three children enrolled at MVES for the three years we were stationed in Colorado Springs with the Air Force. Having seen a number of schools across the country, to include the much vaunted schools of Fairfax County Virginia (outside of DC), I can attest that MVES is outstanding. I cannot imagine a better school. Great teachers, great administrators, and a great neighborhood of families with a common interest in the importance of our children's education. You can not do better than Mountain View. To any teachers from Mtn View reading this, THANK YOU for your service to our children. Well done!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 11, 2013

I don't have any kids at this school, but visited to check out the school for one of my children. The atmosphere is warm and friendly. The technology seems to be advanced. The principal was nice to us, took time to answer our questions and give us a tour. We have not been highly impressed with district 20 schools, but this one is worth a second look.


Posted September 10, 2012

I went to this School from 3rd grade to half of 5th grade. I was terrible sad when i had to leave due to moving. I was in the TAG program With the greatest teacher ever. All My teachers were wonderful and helped me with any difficult problems that needed to be addressed. We have Come back after 2 years and we are trying to find a middle school for since i am going into 7th grade. Safety is a high priority here and i highly recommend this school for Children. Parents this is a wonderful school and your Children will Love it! :o)


Posted April 17, 2011

Active parent base, clean, new, safe, beautiful and test scores that beat the schools you've heard good things about. Mountain View is the best-kept secret in D20.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 9, 2011

My youngest child has attended this school for several years. We chose the school based on reviews and test scores, which was a mistake. First, let me say that the teachers in this school are very good and among the best I have seen in the over 19 schools my children have attended (we are military), but the classes in MVE are recently filled to the brim, with almost 27-30 per class; this does not allow for quality education. There are also some serious 'clique' issues among girls, and a good amount of discipline problems with boys. With classes this large, it is difficult to provide optimum education on a one to one basis. Also, many of the parents are cliquish, with the super volunteers' children filling 'the most desirable teachers' classrooms , the front office rarely says 'hello' when parents enter, and the principal is invisible. I am moving my child next year, as she is miserable and constantly anxious about going to school, primarily due to the behavior of her classmates.. I know several parents who have moved their children to the Discovery Canyon, and rave about the difference, smaller classes with nicer kids! Test scores don't always mean the best environment for a child!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 28, 2010

We moved here from Florida where my daughter attended kindergarten at a fabulous school. It was hard moving a week before school started but my daughter has fallen in love with this school. She has an amazing first grade teacher! So far I am very happy with this school. I love the fact that they test the first week of school to see what levels the children are with their reading skills. My daughter is an advanced reader so she was put into an enrichment class for reading and math which I am thrilled with! HUGE parent involvement at this school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 14, 2010

Safety and security for students is NOT a priority at MVE. I have walked in the front doors many times and never been asked to sign in, wear a badge, NOTHING. I have roamed the halls during class time and no one has ever asked me to sign in at the front desk. The front desk staff do not speak, welcome a visitor or make any attempt to greet a person that is visiting. They are unfriendly and rude and put this school and the children that attend at risk. Also, the "kiss and go" drop-off is a big chaotic mess. Your child could easily wander off, get in a car he/she isn't suppose to get in, get HIT by a car, etc. It is very careless, neglectful and dangerous the way MVE puts the safety and security of our children / their students at risk!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 12, 2010

We moved to this area from Los Angeles approx 1 year ago. This is a wonderful neighborhood elementary school with great kids, involved parents, and outstanding teachers. We also appreciate the talented and gifted (TAG) program that is available to supplement the basic coursework. The '10' rating from greatschools.org is well deserved.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 10, 2008

This school sits in a very affluent neighborhood and therefore affects it's csap scores. I do not attribute their 3rd and 5th grade scores to the school or the teachers but more to the wealth and neighborhood. The math (everyday math) is severely lacking. I pulled my son out of Mountain View in 2nd grade. He is finally working at his potential in math. For a child gifted in math, I highly recommend a different school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 28, 2008

Better test scores than TCA (The Classical Academy), great parental support/involvement, brand-new facilities, great technology emphasis, clean/safe neighborhood ... best-kept secret in town in terms of the premiere quality of this elementary school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 4, 2008

Incredible school. Moved here from TX and could not be happier. Excellent caring teachers who continue their education to bring new ideas in the classroom. Lots of parent volunteerism. Hands on principals and welcoming secretaries. Technology school with emphasis on computer use - - my 2nd grader helped me fix a computer glitch!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 28, 2007

Amazing teachers, facilities and programs. We are so happy to have both our children here. Parental involvement is welcomed and abundantly present and it makes all the difference in the world.!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 20, 2007

We are educators in another state with a first grade grandchild attending Mountain View Elementary. Our observations are based on one semester. We have pleasant interactions with the custodial staff, first grade teachers and administrators. The academic programs and parent involvement appear to be excellent. The school environment seems to be positive. We are extremely satisfied with our grandchild's progress and learning experiences.
—Submitted by an administrator


Posted December 1, 2006

We love, love, love this school! In fact we are searching for a home to have an address that will allow all of my children to go here. Right now I have my son in grade K. We came from CA and the school we were in was very strict and felt similar to a private school yet was public. We found that same thing here with Mountain View. I can't say enough good things about it. So far we are extremely pleased and my son loves it too!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 1, 2006

My daughter has gone to kindergarten and first grade at this school. Thus far, the teachers have been wonderful and obviously love their jobs. My daughter was placed in the reading program, HOSTS, because she was have difficulty learning the skills. This program has proven to be a success. She has improved in all levels of reading and most importantly, gained a great deal of self-confidence!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 10, 2005

Mountain View is a great school. k-5th graders attend mountain view and the 6-8 graders attend a school right next to mountain view. The curriculum was challenging for my son. I felt the children were far more advanced then in a couple of the other school districts in the colorado springs. They have a wonderful variety of extra curricular activites and lots of parent, teacher & pta activities. The school was just built in 2005 and is located in a great neighborhood most of the children are able walk to school.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

107 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
89%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

107 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
93%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 51% in 2013.

107 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
73%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

108 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
90%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 68% in 2013.

108 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
88%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2013.

108 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
75%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

133 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
93%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 70% in 2013.

133 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
94%
Science

The state average for Science was 49% in 2013.

133 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
80%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 57% in 2013.

133 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
87%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students88%
Female85%
Male91%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)88%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch89%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities89%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English88%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant88%

Reading

All Students90%
Female89%
Male91%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)89%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch91%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities90%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English89%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant90%

Writing

All Students84%
Female91%
Male78%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)85%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch85%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities85%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English84%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant84%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students89%
Female88%
Male89%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)88%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch90%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities94%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English89%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant89%

Reading

All Students88%
Female93%
Male85%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)90%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch89%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities93%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English88%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant88%

Writing

All Students79%
Female83%
Male76%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)78%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch79%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities85%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English78%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant79%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students89%
Female93%
Male86%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)87%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch90%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities94%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English88%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant89%

Reading

All Students92%
Female95%
Male90%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)93%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch93%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities95%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English93%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant92%

Science

All Students77%
Female80%
Male74%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)78%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch78%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities81%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English77%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant77%

Writing

All Students84%
Female89%
Male81%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)86%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch86%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities89%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English85%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant84%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Above average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

23%
of schools in the state are Below average
52%
of schools in the state are Average
24%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Colorado. Test scores are based on 2012-13 TCAP results from the state of Colorado.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Above average

Reading growth at this school

Above average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 TCAP results from the state of Colorado.

2 This rating is based on 2011-12 and 2012-13 Median Growth Percentiles in Math, English Language Arts, and Writing from the state of Colorado.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 77% 57%
Hispanic 9% 32%
Asian 7% 3%
Two or more races 4% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 1%
Black 1% 5%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 0%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 7%N/A40%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

10095 Lexington Dr
Colorado Springs, CO 80920
Website: Click here
Phone: (719) 234-4800

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Explorer Elementary School
Colorado Springs, CO


High Plains Elementary School
Colorado Springs, CO


Chinook Trail Elementary School
Colorado Springs, CO


Frontier Elementary School
Colorado Springs, CO


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT