Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Community Leadership Academy

Charter | K-8 | 494 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

18 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 23, 2014

I love that the school is strict,they work hard at keeping the students focused,so much time at their public school was playing,birthday parties,teachers spending so much time on disipline.This school is like having your child in a private school without the cost.The uniforms are great,and in this day and age of school violance. the security that this school provides gives me great piece of mind.Its a controlled enviroment thats not found in Public Schools.Great Teachers,My child is a first grader ,although he is not hispanic,he loves his friends and they speak english well,and have taught him some spanish.The children say school is hard,but are happy about being smart.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 6, 2014

Very disapointed. The preschool program has great teachers, however, there is no color on the walls, they are not allowed to decorate leaving the children with little to look at. Boring. The rest of the school is strict with teachers screaming at kids, never OK. I don't think most of the teachers are very happy here. I am taking out one of my kids, my other two will have to finish out the year. There is NO parental involvment, this was my first but not last huge disapointment. Also, no field trips, no class parties, no excitement, no fun. Just work work work like adults. These are NOT adults, they're children, you HAVE to give them room to have fun. One of my children has done well, has a great teacher and is learning to read better then ever, but my other (who used to be a straight A student) is struggling. The principal is very intimidating and not personable. My kids have had racist comments thrown at them. The school feels threatened by parents wanting to get involved (they don't want you to see what's really going on behind the scenes I guess) and they don't even have a PTA! Not going there next year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 24, 2013

i am a student at CLA and i love it.sure we have to take tests every friday but we do activities before and after one.i may not like the uniforms but u got used to it since i have been there since kindergarten .many people drop down from grades but it is for their own good.parents and students may complain about that but it is for child's and your own good.teachers put us in lower grades because they want the best for us and to be succe.who knows, maybe you may be a doctor or a teacher or some thing else.since i have been there i have noticed my school go up,my grades and our protection.i really dont see any thing else that is wrong with my school. P.S. i am in 6th grade this year and my grades keep succeeding


Posted October 22, 2013

One star is generous. I attended this school in the past. Everyday I was ridiculed by teachers and students for asking questions about the school's methods of teaching. Being a white person in the school (which makes up 3% of the student population) is unheard of. I was bullied everyday for not being "Mexican enough" and was bullied even worse for standing up for the African American community. I gave nothing against anyone, but I don't tolerate hate. Education is poor, and by the end of my Math semester, I was remedial when I should be well above proficient as I was Advanced in all other subjects. If you want a nonbiased actual education, Commerce City is not the city for it.


Posted May 23, 2013

Community Leadership Academy is a great school. I'm really happy with my child performed, she loves school, only is was a little less homework, my kids have to take the bus, wake up 6:40, be in school from 8-4 then came about 4:30, then dinner time, homework, bath, bedtime, is really hard, they have to enjoy being kids too.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 21, 2013

I am torn... I feel like all this school teaches is preparation to take tests. The homework that my son has is 3 pages every night of writing sentences 5 times each. He learns nothing from this homework. It reminds me of when a child gets in trouble and they have to write a sentence 50 times. Every Friday is test day and the child has to take tests all day long. There is no room for creativity or fun while learning. But this school is 70 out of 1000 top schools in an area where most of the schools are in the 800 and 900 s.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 30, 2012

I don't know why there's so many low ratings but CLA is an excellent school. I can tell you because i'm a student there and i have no complaints. if you dont believe me look at the CSAP scores and compare them to the other schools in our area. the numbers don't lie. Everyday I wake up looking forward to going their. One of the best things about this organization is the enviroment. There is never bullying or any fights at our school and the staff is absolutely incredible. Thanks to this school my future is brighter than it would've been in any other school


Posted May 24, 2012

First of all, I think that it's all preference on where a parent wants to send their child. Everything cannot meet everyone's needs or be perfect. This was my child's first year at CLA (kindergarten). She loved it! She excelled and I do see it even at home. You must work with your kids, regardless of their levels and their teachers. The uniform is great. Yes, it costs money, but so do any school clothes you would otherwise buy your child. My child has come out of her shy shell and reads well and just is glowing from her experiences this year. Being in CC I would have NEVER sent her anywhere else. The other elementary schools she would have been in the minority and not challenged. I would've had to enroll her in Brighton or somewhere else. Also, I am pretty sure that the assistants (paras) do have to take a test now or have associates degrees. I worked in the Brighton district as a para and that was a requirement. Again parents are the primary teachers of their children besides school. Love the fact there is homework daily too (even if kindergarten).
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 13, 2011

As a parent and professional educator, I feel the need to describe this school and all the reasons why students should NOT attend CLA. Test Preparation - To begin, a great deal of the day and school year is focused on teaching to the Colorado Standardized Test. To prepare for this test, students spend hours a day taking practice tests and reviewing the answers. This means that students spend much of their time at CLA sitting at their desks, filling in page after page of multiple choice questions. Ability Grouping - This school prides themselves of the fact that their students' are placed in math and reading groups based on their ability. The fact is, if your student is above or below grade level at either math or reading, they are likely to be assigned to a group that is taught by an unqualified teacher's assistant. Teacher assistants at CLA are only required to hold a high school diploma, which makes you wonder weather these assistants are capable of providing gifted and struggling learners with the support they need? Special Ed. and Accommodations - My son rarely received the help he needed due to poor student to teacher ratios and lack of resources.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 18, 2011

I am shocked at all the low ratings here. My kindergartener enjoys school and her teacher tells me she is above level in reading etc...now I am going to have to look into that since it seems that many children upon switching schools are, in fact, NOT where they should be. Other than that, her teacher is great- she communicates very well with me about what's going on and if she ever has concerns. Uniforms can be expensive though
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 21, 2010

My child was so unhappy at CLA so we took him out 1 1/2 months after school started and he couldn't be happier at his new school. He looks forward to going to school now. He would cry when he had to go to CLA. We are welcomed to participate at school and are always treated well by the teachers and administrators. We can even have lunch with him. This was not the case at CLA. Parents were not allowed in the building for any reason. And if they did have to go in incase of an emergency, they were scrutinized by the administrators. I wouldn t recommend this school to my worst enemy. I feel bad for the kids that are going there now.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 19, 2009

At CLA my child was advanced in reading and math. So I was told by the teachers. I moved her schools and sure enough she was nowhere near where I was told by CLA teachers. She is now needing interventions in reading. Below grade level and struggling to catch up. My child is so happy at her new school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 17, 2009

We also took our children out of Community Leadership Academy and they are now struggling at the Dist. school we moved them to. We should have known this would happen with the low CSAP scores the school has recived since they have been open.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 9, 2009

This is a beautiful building that many people campaigned for and started out so well. That said we are removing our students as we feel threatened and intimidated by the schools administration for trying participate in our students learning and asking questions. Our children have become very unhappy to go to this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 30, 2009

This school turned out to be a big disappointment to many parents that were looking forward to providing their children with a charter school education. What a shame.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 19, 2008

I have 3 students that attend CLA and have to express that they have been a blessing to my childrens education. They have kindergarteners reading by the time they get into first grade. It also helps that the school has ability grouping for math and reading so that children may learn at their own level and all children are learning the same thing in a class. The school has gome through some hardships, it's only the 4th year in operation, but I can defenitely say things are coming together and things are only getting better.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 28, 2008

The school receives no support from the school district and very little support from parents (although it is improving). It has a large turn over of teachers and can't seem to keep a Principle. It is surprising that it has remained open with all the problems they have had to overcome in the past three years. Most conserning is that the children are still being taught in small trailers that are hard to keep maintained and clean. Parking and student drop off and pick up is still in need of organization. I have great hopes that when this school is able to get a more permanent ground it could actually have a chance to do what the original founders wanted.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 18, 2007

CLA is a school which address the needs of every student. Through instructional level grouping in Reading and Math, individual student monitoring and interventions & a rich Core Knowlege curriculum, each student finds her/his own passion for learning and finds a life long love of learning.


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

55 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
88%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

55 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
88%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 51% in 2013.

55 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
77%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

57 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
86%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 68% in 2013.

57 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
75%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2013.

57 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
80%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

54 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
77%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 70% in 2013.

54 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
60%
Science

The state average for Science was 49% in 2013.

54 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
54%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 57% in 2013.

54 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
79%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 62% in 2013.

75 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
73%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

75 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
70%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 58% in 2013.

75 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
78%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 55% in 2013.

33 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
35%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 68% in 2013.

33 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
46%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 61% in 2013.

33 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
46%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 52% in 2013.

44 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
47%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 67% in 2013.

44 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
56%
Science

The state average for Science was 52% in 2013.

44 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
41%

2012

 
 
36%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2013.

44 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
61%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students84%
Female78%
Male89%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic85%
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Free lunch eligible80%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunchn/a
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities89%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)83%
Proficient in English88%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant83%

Reading

All Students93%
Female93%
Male93%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic92%
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Free lunch eligible92%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunchn/a
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities96%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)93%
Proficient in English100%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant93%

Writing

All Students78%
Female78%
Male79%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic75%
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Free lunch eligible77%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunchn/a
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities83%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)79%
Proficient in English94%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant78%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students72%
Female77%
Male67%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic75%
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Free lunch eligible72%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunchn/a
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities75%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)78%
Proficient in Englishn/a
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant71%

Reading

All Students75%
Female80%
Male70%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic79%
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Free lunch eligible71%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunchn/a
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities78%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)87%
Proficient in Englishn/a
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant75%

Writing

All Students70%
Female77%
Male63%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic73%
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Free lunch eligible74%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunchn/a
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities73%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)74%
Proficient in Englishn/a
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant70%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students82%
Female79%
Male85%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic82%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Free lunch eligible81%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunchn/a
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities83%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)77%
Proficient in Englishn/a
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant85%

Reading

All Students91%
Female91%
Male90%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic90%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Free lunch eligible93%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunchn/a
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities93%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)86%
Proficient in Englishn/a
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant90%

Science

All Students57%
Female47%
Male75%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic57%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Free lunch eligible57%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunchn/a
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities59%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)50%
Proficient in Englishn/a
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant58%

Writing

All Students76%
Female79%
Male70%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic76%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Free lunch eligible79%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunchn/a
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities77%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)68%
Proficient in Englishn/a
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant77%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students76%
Female75%
Male77%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic75%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Free lunch eligible76%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunchn/a
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities79%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)70%
Proficient in English79%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant76%

Reading

All Students83%
Female85%
Male80%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic81%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Free lunch eligible81%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunchn/a
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities87%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)77%
Proficient in English84%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant82%

Writing

All Students79%
Female85%
Male72%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic78%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Free lunch eligible78%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunchn/a
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities82%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)80%
Proficient in English74%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant81%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students76%
Female70%
Malen/a
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic77%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Free lunch eligible81%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunchn/a
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities77%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant75%

Reading

All Students79%
Female80%
Malen/a
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic78%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Free lunch eligible76%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunchn/a
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities83%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant78%

Writing

All Students85%
Female90%
Malen/a
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic87%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Free lunch eligible76%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunchn/a
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities90%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant84%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students52%
Female53%
Male52%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic53%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Free lunch eligible58%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunchn/a
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities59%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)35%
Proficient in Englishn/a
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant51%

Reading

All Students55%
Female63%
Male48%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic50%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Free lunch eligible55%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunchn/a
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities62%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)20%
Proficient in Englishn/a
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant54%

Science

All Students41%
Female37%
Male44%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic40%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Free lunch eligible42%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunchn/a
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities44%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)20%
Proficient in Englishn/a
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant40%

Writing

All Students50%
Female58%
Male44%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic53%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Free lunch eligible48%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunchn/a
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities56%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)30%
Proficient in Englishn/a
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant49%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Above average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

23%
of schools in the state are Below average
52%
of schools in the state are Average
24%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Colorado. Test scores are based on 2012-13 TCAP results from the state of Colorado.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Above average

Reading growth at this school

Above average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 TCAP results from the state of Colorado.

2 This rating is based on 2011-12 and 2012-13 Median Growth Percentiles in Math, English Language Arts, and Writing from the state of Colorado.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 89% 32%
White 10% 56%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 3%
Black 0% 5%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 3%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 85%N/A41%
Male 47%N/A51%
Female 53%N/A49%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

6880 Holly St
Commerce City, CO 80022
Phone: (303) 288-2711

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Central Elementary School
Commerce City, CO



Alsup Elementary School
Commerce City, CO


Kemp Elementary School
Commerce City, CO


Hanson Elementary School
Commerce City, CO


Monaco Elementary School
Commerce City, CO


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT