Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Adams City High School

Public | 9-12

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

13 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 29, 2014

I graduated from this school #5 in my class. Unfortunately, I found that this was meaningless when I got to college since I had apparently learned nothing that was needed as a prerequisite for college level classes. I spent an entire year of college learning what should have been available at ACHS, but was not . ACHS was and still is nothing but a young adult and "thug wannabe" day care. I suppose I should feel lucky that I escaped with my life. The teachers just go through the motions but just want to process the kids out of their classes every year. The administrators are looking to just get paid. The sports coaches are just bullies and morons who can't get a better job elsewhere. This was simply a waste of time when I could have been learning something valuable. Instead, I just learned how to avoid getting beaten up by the gangs, and how to... well I guess that was actually about it. Anyone that has any thought of sending their child to this school has to understand that they are likely condemning their child to a lifetime of failure or, at best, mediocrity. Stay away, far away.


Posted August 29, 2013

My son goes to this school and I am happy about that. This is his second year and it is off to a great start. He is not an athletic person but he has joined football. The player took him in like he has been there for year. Great group of kids as for the coaches they are also amazing. They talk to me and give me all the information I need and ask for. I had my doubts about this school but I was wrong. Dont always believe what you are told.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 14, 2013

I dont know how anyone could have a good opinion of this school sports staff the football coaches do not return phone calls or emails and neither does the athletic director, the contract that they have the parents and children sign every year says that the coach is responsible for and supposed to clearly communicate all events, changes in practice times, fundraisers, games, etc... to the parents and I nor my husband have ever gotten any clear communication from any of the 3 coaches, matter of fact we went to a fundraiser a few weeks ago and my husband and I got two different stories in one day from the same coach regarding what the new practice schedule was going to be. Poor communication is a huge pet peeve of mine and should not be going on in high school especially by the staff if they expect our students to communicate their needs clearly then they are in desperate need to do so them selves. How can we as parents be involved in our child/ren education if their is not communication from the school. In my opinion this school needs an entire new sports staff. I'm praying to be out of this schools district ASAP.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 22, 2012

Adams City High School is a school in which the idea of family is embraced. Athletes are encouraged to do well in classes by all coaching staff. Coaches are excellent, caring for the student and the athlete. They hold their teams to high standards. The teachers are caring and patient embracing their diverse students. The ROTC progam is above all others in the Denver Metro area. We choiced our student into this school and it has made such a difference.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 3, 2010

this school encouraged my daughter and son to go on and continue to college.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 3, 2010

This high school is great.The extracurricular activities are awsome. The teachers care about the students and the counslers have improved. Most People that I know who have gone here have went off to college and alot of my friends are planning on going to college even the people who were not planning on it because, the teachers encouraged them to go to college.Personally I want to go to college and get a great education to start out my life. I appreciate all the teachers and their hard work to teach us to the best of their abilities.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 17, 2008

Adams City High School since i have attended, and still attend has been the best experience. The principal Mr.PAxton is the best he is very interacted with the kids and loves being involved in ordinary school work. The classes are amazing i get everything i need from the brand new curriculum. Mr.Paxton has fought hard in order to build us a brand new casmpus opening in august!!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 14, 2008

I went there the first three years that the school was open, I remember the school being in a church the first year and had no lockers. Since there were no lockers we had to carry allour books each day every day to all our classes, I have been having back problems for 6 years all because of that. The teachers tried I will give them that much credit. I honestly believe that the best teacher came the second year Mr. Mark Johnson. I learned more from him in study hall ' LTP' then I did in my other classes. I would not let any one I know sent their kids to this school, it was hard to get my dipolma on time from my next school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 19, 2006

As a student who graduated from this school I can honestly say I did not get everything I wanted out of this school. The discipline was completely inadequate. However I feel the reviews are wrong in saying that the teachers themselves do not care, from what I experienced they do care but to not have the support of the administration to do what is needed to really help the students. The counselors where more interested in what they thought was best rather than what the student really wanted. The extracurricular activities were great when there was funding but a fair bit of the time there was no support to get things done and too much responsibility fell on the student where it should not have. The classes are over crowded and the sports influence is higher than it should have been.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted September 6, 2006

I'm a student not a parent so I have first hand knowledge of the way this school works. The teachers do not pay attention to individual needs. Students are expected to learn from each other. No discipline, except for suspensions which does not work, just a 2 day vacation basically. Classes aren't advanced like high school classes should be. Not a challenging school. School is crowded, extremely. Lastly, no true leadership from the staff or students. I passed all my classes with ease, but if I did need help I got it from home, thank God. Oh and I was in their Gifted and Talented program, which was a major disappointment.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 17, 2004

I would have to agree with the other 2 reviews. There is a major lack of discipline, as the other review says some get into trouble and others do not. The school does not take the time to deal with problems in the school, until the parents have to take time from work to go down and get it dealt with. Or as in my case had to notify the police to get things done. The level of teaching is not where it should be either. there are some teachers that feel the students should teach each other, instead of taking the time to help the children which is what they are getting paid for. I have pulled my children from this school and would highly recommend anyone wanting to enrole thier child, to throughly check into this school before hand.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 28, 2004

Unorganised, couldn't care less about the needs of individual students, but much rather the progress of the school as a whole. There is a lack of full-time leadership, and it seems authority only shows up when it fits into their busy schedule. Some kids get away with a lot, some gets get away with very little. A lack of the correct discipline for the children attending ACHS. Silly rules, such as the red/blue colour ban, do absolutely nothing for anybody but the media. Poor judgement on the part of authority, silly ideas for school structure and sophistication, such as academies, which will never work.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 26, 2003

I think that they need to have smaller class sizes,better teachers and more understanding counsleors that are willing to help students with their decisions and not try to change them.
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 39% in 2013.

547 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
16%

2012

 
 
11%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 68% in 2013.

547 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
39%

2012

 
 
38%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 55% in 2013.

547 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
27%

2012

 
 
21%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 34% in 2013.

459 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
9%

2012

 
 
8%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 70% in 2013.

459 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
46%

2012

 
 
39%
Science

The state average for Science was 51% in 2013.

459 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
21%

2012

 
 
19%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 49% in 2013.

459 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
24%

2012

 
 
20%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students16%
Female18%
Male14%
Black (not Hispanic)15%
Asiann/a
Hispanic16%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)14%
Free lunch eligible17%
Reduced lunch eligible18%
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch9%
Students with disabilities (IEP)0%
Students without disabilities18%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)1%
Proficient in English16%
Migrantn/a
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant16%

Reading

All Students39%
Female43%
Male34%
Black (not Hispanic)35%
Asiann/a
Hispanic38%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)43%
Free lunch eligible39%
Reduced lunch eligible41%
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch36%
Students with disabilities (IEP)2%
Students without disabilities44%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)3%
Proficient in English42%
Migrantn/a
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant39%

Writing

All Students27%
Female33%
Male21%
Black (not Hispanic)30%
Asiann/a
Hispanic26%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)33%
Free lunch eligible27%
Reduced lunch eligible27%
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch25%
Students with disabilities (IEP)2%
Students without disabilities30%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)1%
Proficient in English30%
Migrantn/a
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant27%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students9%
Female9%
Male9%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic8%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)18%
Free lunch eligible8%
Reduced lunch eligible11%
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch13%
Students with disabilities (IEP)2%
Students without disabilities10%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)2%
Proficient in English12%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant9%

Reading

All Students46%
Female55%
Male37%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic45%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)55%
Free lunch eligible44%
Reduced lunch eligible56%
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch48%
Students with disabilities (IEP)9%
Students without disabilities51%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)8%
Proficient in English47%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant46%

Science

All Students21%
Female19%
Male22%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic19%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)29%
Free lunch eligible19%
Reduced lunch eligible31%
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch23%
Students with disabilities (IEP)4%
Students without disabilities23%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)0%
Proficient in English21%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant21%

Writing

All Students24%
Female29%
Male18%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic23%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)34%
Free lunch eligible23%
Reduced lunch eligible28%
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch24%
Students with disabilities (IEP)4%
Students without disabilities26%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)0%
Proficient in English28%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant24%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Below average

Test score rating
Student growth rating
College readiness rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

23%
of schools in the state are Below average
52%
of schools in the state are Average
24%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Colorado. Test scores are based on 2012-13 TCAP results from the state of Colorado.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Below Average

Reading growth at this school

Below Average


College readiness rating 20133What's this?

College readiness rating combines this high school's graduation rates with data about college entrance exams, both of which are indicators of how well schools are preparing students for success in college and beyond.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

ACT participation

90%

Average ACT score

16

Graduation rate

71%


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 TCAP results from the state of Colorado.

2 This rating is based on 2011-12 and 2012-13 Median Growth Percentiles in Math, English Language Arts, and Writing from the state of Colorado.

3 This rating is based on composite ACT scores from 2012-13 and four-year adjusted graduation rates from 2011-12. ACT participation represents the percentage of 11th graders taking the ACT. Because the ACT is mandated in Colorado high schools, ACT participation is NOT included in the GreatSchools rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 83% 32%
White 12% 56%
Black 3% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 1%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 3%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 81%N/A41%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

7200 Quebec Parkway
Commerce City, CO 80022
Phone: (303) 289-3111

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Lester R Arnold High School
Commerce City, CO


Academy High School
Thornton, CO




York International
Thornton, CO



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT