Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
7 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 15 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Cripple Creek-Victor Junior-Senior High School
Develops grit: Agree

Posted October 26, 2015
- a community member
Students are not eligible to play sports if they are getting an F in any class.

Cripple Creek-Victor Junior-Senior High School
Develops respect: Strongly agree

Posted October 26, 2015
- a community member
Compared to the suburban schools that I subbed in, there is a greater respect for authority here. Any student who mistreats a teacher will get a consequence.


Cripple Creek-Victor Junior-Senior High School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted October 26, 2015
- a community member
The small size of the school makes students more likely to help each other. I was happy to see how quickly new students were welcomed and made friends.

Cripple Creek-Victor Junior-Senior High School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted October 26, 2015
- a community member
We are small enough that students can get individual attention. We send home their grades every week and encourage them to discuss them with their parents for extra credit. Students with F's are not eligible for sports.

Cripple Creek-Victor Junior-Senior High School 5

Posted October 26, 2015
- a community member
Full disclosure: I am in my first year of teaching at CCV. I came to this site because I was curious to read reviews of my school. I would like to point out that in 2014-2015, we got a new superintendent and principal who have made great changes. The reviews from before this time are outdated. Many great teachers were hired within the last two years. The school is an overwhelmingly positive place-the teachers care and the students are happy and friendly. I subbed in 10 different schools last year and I've never seen so many happy faces in one building. All our new students were welcomed and found friends quickly. Our school had a bad reputation for academics, but we are making exciting changes: AP classes The ability for juniors and seniors to take a van to UCCS and take college credits Technology-the plan to get each student an iPad Advanced learning plans for gifted and talented students An alternative education program Please take every review published before 2013 with a grain of salt because a lot has changed. CCV is a special place full of happy, caring people.


Cripple Creek-Victor Junior-Senior High School 5

Posted April 09, 2015
- a parent
They have exciting changes happening at CCV. The sports programs are starting to compete with schools their size. They started and alternative Education program. They give the kids IPADS. They are starting and industrial arts program or AV tech Program.

Cripple Creek-Victor Junior-Senior High School 5

Posted March 31, 2015
- a parent
CCV is a wonderful place! It is so small and most graduating classes average 25-30 students. My kids really get the attention the need and the staff is incredible. I would never send my kids to Woodland Park because they would just get lost in the mix of over 1000 kids. The new administration is doing some really positive things and I hope the community and other parents start supporting this school more cause it can only get better. Kids get a lot of help and its a beautiful area.

Cripple Creek-Victor Junior-Senior High School
no rating

Posted May 06, 2010
- a community member
It is the local school, the children in this school, are the future of my community.


Cripple Creek-Victor Junior-Senior High School 4

Posted May 15, 2009
- a student
I am currently attending the 7th grade at this school and it is an above average school. The school is involved with parents because they send many notices home on important events and if someone is being bad they will call home and inform them. The counseling program is good and the teachers care. A few do not fulfill the students needs but overall it is a safe learning environment. Also, there are many clubs and lots of sports activities for kids to be in. The discipline is average but this is true in most schools. I am glad to go to school here. I reccomend it. Also, they just remodeled the school so it looks nice.Hope this helps.

Cripple Creek-Victor Junior-Senior High School
no rating

Posted January 01, 2009
- a student
I think that the superintendent of this school needs to be more involed with the students. She is always hiding in her office or not even at school! It makes the students feel that she does not care. Maybe kids would feel better if the leader of our school is nice!!!!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Cripple Creek-Victor Junior-Senior High School
410 North B Street, Cripple Creek, CO  80813
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 15 reviews. (719) 689-2661
Last modified Cripple Creek-Victor Junior-Senior High School is a Public school that serves grades 7-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top