Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Assumption Catholic School

Private | PK-8 | 13 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Denver

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $115,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $960.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 18, 2014

Do not register early for this school; if you decide to go elsewhere, fees for student supplies are not returned even though the students are not attending and the teachers never see the money for the supplies. Teacher turn over this year is super high. The response from the school is very slow.


Posted January 21, 2013

This a wonderful school! I currently have a 3rd and 1st grader attending. I LOVE the small class sizes, great teachers and community. We are hosting an open house on Jan. 27th 2013 10:15- 12:30 in the Gym. Please attend... you will not be disappointed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 23, 2012

This school is excellent!! Excellent staff, excellent parents, excellent kids!! We could not be happier with our choice! This is the best community!! Go check us out!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 3, 2008

I have two students at Assumption who are both testing at at least one grade level above national averages for their grade, which is the expectation of the administration and teachers of the school. There is a review here posted by a former student indicating that there are 'no academic programs' at the school, which is not true. The class sizes are small, and the majority of the parents are well-involved with the students and the school. As a Catholic school, community service and religious values are integrated into the classroom teaching, of course.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 11, 2007

I am an alumnus of this school. I am also the uncle of two of the students currently enrolled there and next year a third as well. I have found the teachers to go beyond what is required of them in helping the students including with after school tutoring. Further, I have found the teachers to be engaged with extracurricular activities thereby enriching the lives of the students beyond the classroom. In truth, a sit stands now, this school is as good as when I attended it and the future looks bright.


Posted June 14, 2006

I was a student there for six years and I thought that the school for the most part was pretty good. I did basketball the whole time I was there and when I was on the varsity team in the sixth grade we won the championship. We also had art shows and in the fourth grade my class and I won best in show. We also had a lot of concerts for the spring and Christmas and those were also pretty fun. I can not rate the quality of the academic programs because there really weren't any at all. I was always feeling underchallenged for the most part. If I were to rate the level of parent involvement I would have to give it a five out of ten. The parents did a lot of sports related things but really were not involved in anything else for the most part.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 16, 2005

This is a great small environment school. Each of the teachers know the children from Pre-school all the way to 8th grade. Students from the younger grades are paired with students of the upper grades several times weekly for 'buddy work.' Children are released at the end of each day to only an authorized adult.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 29, 2005

This school is a very tight knit community. The staff is great. The students for the most part are great too. All students take a music and art and spanish class. Boys basketball, basebal, and volleyball are availabe. As are girls softball basketball and volleyball.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted June 7, 2005

ok attempting to read reviews
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 11, 2004

I attended this school for four years, from 5th grade until 8th. My experience there was great. The principal was great, and so were the teachers. I was involved in the girls volleyball and basketball teams and we won a couple championships. The students there, for the most part, are excellent. But like every other school, you will have your 'unruly' children.
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
 

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

Unfortunately, this school doesn't have sufficient data to generate an academic rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 50% 32%
White 43% 56%
Two or more races 4% 3%
Black 2% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Archdiocese of Denver
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2341 East 78th Avenue
Denver, CO 80229
Phone: (303) 288-2159

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





Adams City Middle School
Commerce City, CO


Alsup Elementary School
Commerce City, CO


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT