Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

St James Catholic School

Private | PK-8 | 208 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Denver

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $262,500. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $790.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 4 ratings
2013:
Based on 5 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

44 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 8, 2009

St. James is the answer for parents looking for individual attention, a family atmosphere, and non-pretencious settings. This is a quality school with loving teachers! Plus, the new playground and soccerfield is agreat draw.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 8, 2009

St. James has a comprehensive program, unlike anything that can be offered in our public school system. Not only is it set to help our children achieve scholastic success by implementing the fundamentals along with Spanish, Technology and many choices for Physical Education. This is all from preschool on. On top of this, they are a Catholic school whose main principals are geared towards teaching our children values. The school in this way becomes an extended family and is tight-knit and supportive. This Whole Person approach is truly unique and desirable. I highly recommend our school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 8, 2009

Great school with an emphasis on the Catholic Faith. If you are serious about your child learning the faith, this is the school for you.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 8, 2009

St. James is a small, community school with an emphasis on faith based learning. Everyone knows everyone and is treated as a child of God. Children are cared for as if they are part of an extended family. We have great new teachers who are excited to teach and push the kids out of their comfort zones. The teachers want the kids to succeed and learn. Our teachers for the first time have motivated my 4th grader to read outside of school. Yeah! I never thought that would happen. He asks to read instead of playing video games. I am very excited for the future of St. James.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 8, 2009

My child is starting his 6th year at St. James. He is not the best student and the teachers at St James have really worked with him to bring out his best in learning. The community at St James is also excellent. They are very supportive, caring and giving. The new fundraisers are about quality family time. Our son is excited to learn and we love that St James is 'old school'. The focus is on the fundamentals of learning and it shows in the students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 8, 2009

Our child is very happy at St James and is getting such a quality education. Great neighborhood school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 28, 2009

St James has seen a turnover of a significant percentage of teachers and staff over the last 12 months. The new principal is a poor communicator and a worse administrator. After devoting many years to this school and church community we will be leaving at the end of this year, if not sooner. Fortunately there are many other good schools to choose from. Its just sad to see what was once a great school go downhill so quickly and dramatically.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 21, 2009

This was once a good school, there has been a shift toward religious studies over academics. Current administration isn't welcoming.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 10, 2009

I have daughters in St. James, and I am pleased with the whole-person education they re receiving. St James is a superb and affordable alternative to horrific Aurora public schools and Lowry's exorbitant private academies. An average class size of 14 gives the excellent teachers a lot of freedom. St. James is on solid financial ground and will be open next year with enrollment about where it is now, around 130. The Archdiocese won't close the school, it serves important African-American and Hispanic-American Catholic communities, to the benefit of all. Well-behaved, culturally-diverse student body is postured to succeed in High School and beyond. The new principal took some time to grow into the position, and had to resolve a personnel action in a way that alienated some parents, thus the extremely polarized reviews you see here. But she has grown into the position and is a plus for the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 3, 2009

I love this school. It has wonderful leadership and wonderful teachers. Both of my children are doing great here. They even have a gifted and talented program which no other catholic school has! This is a great community for true catholic education!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 24, 2009

Enrollment is declining (which speaks to parent satisfaction) and teacher morale is declining as well. One of the biggest issues here is that the Archdiocese of Denver refuses to acknowledge that there are any problems wich doesn't bode well for any improvement of the current situation.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 23, 2009

Great building, great kids, but new principal is really struggling. She has been very confrontational with parents and teachers and has made many parents, ourselves included, feel unwanted.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 21, 2009

Awesome school. Getting back to its true calling of offering a faith-based education. Wonderful faculty and staff. We are so excited to have the option for our three children of a truly Christian education in the heart of the city. Thank you Saith James!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 11, 2009

new direction of school not good. new princpal and new teacher. School could close. Look very closely before enrolling.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 7, 2009

Under new leadership(not good) 08/09 enrollment has dropped below 130- Archdiocese came to speak to parents and warned them the school could be closed. Be careful before writing a check.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 30, 2008

This is a great school where the many of the middle schoolers are winning academic scholarships to Catholic High Schools. There is a new principal who is really taking the school community to the next level.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 6, 2008

I think St James is an excellent school. My first grader has homework that is too hard for me! He is learning so much.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 1, 2007

I have been a parent at St.James for over ten years. During this time St. James has gone through many changes. In the past five years it has done nothing but improve in all areas. Mrs. Loiselle as been a great asset to the school. She is supportive with both students and parents. Her first priority is the safety and well being of the students. I have one child who excels in school and one who had struggled in school. St.James reaches out to all students. Their goal is to see every child succeed. My oldest child went on to a Catholic college with a major in biology. She contributes her success to her 7th and 8th grade science teacher. She has says he is the 'Best Teacher Ever'. St.James has been a great school for my family.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 23, 2007

St. James has it all: terrific leadership, committed and experienced teachers, an open and involved community, a truly diverse student body and a commitment to excellence in academic, spiritual and character education. There's no better school around!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 16, 2007

We were very disappointed in this school. My children received good grades but were not challenged. My 7th grader and 6th grader had the same science homework for the entire year. The principal seems more interested in the uniform dress code than anything else.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
 

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

Unfortunately, this school doesn't have sufficient data to generate an academic rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 63% 56%
Black 19% 5%
Hispanic 14% 32%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 3% 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 0%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Two or more races 0% 3%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman Catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1250 Newport Street
Denver, CO 80220
Website: Click here
Phone: (303) 333-8275

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT