Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-8|Private
484 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
15 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Don't know (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Ineffective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (2 responses)
characters left.
There are 41 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


St Vincent De Paul School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted July 21, 2016
- a parent
Thank you to Mrs. White for teaching my son and daughter how to work through academic homework quickly and efficiently. Thank you for being tough but fair to your students!

St Vincent De Paul School
Teacher effectiveness: Effective

Posted July 21, 2016
- a parent
Good teachers from pre school trough 8th grade with one or two exceptions. I do feel they are being stifled by current administration. Several of the best teachers have been fired recently.


St Vincent De Paul School
Amount of homework: Too much

Posted July 21, 2016
- a parent
Overall homework assignments are reasonable for grade level until 6th and seventh grade. Over the past three years homework escalated to 3-4 hours a night in 6th grade .....too much!

St Vincent De Paul School
Develops grit: Agree

Posted July 21, 2016
- a parent
It teaches academic discipline starting early in their school careers. Homework assignments are increased each year to having 2-3 hours of homework a night in 7th grade.

St Vincent De Paul School
Develops respect: Neutral

Posted July 21, 2016
- a parent
It teaches the children to be respectful of adults with some exceptions. There is a population of students that are not respectful of other students,


St Vincent De Paul School
Develops empathy: Disagree

Posted July 21, 2016
- a parent
For a Christ centered environment, the school is lacking in compassion, caring and empathy in its students. There are many highly competitive parents that will do anything as long as it gets their child ahead. This is reflected in the student body which tends toward highly competitive social climbing students. There are fewer practicing Catholics than there were ten years ago.

St Vincent De Paul School
Develops honesty: Disagree

Posted July 21, 2016
- a parent
Bullies are given more credit and positive attention than kind, hard working students. We have known many nice families that have left the school because of bullying. The administration does not address their issues.

St Vincent De Paul School 2

Posted July 21, 2016
- a parent
We have been at SVDP for almost eleven years with our three children and have been very active in the parish during that time. It is suffering under The poor leadership of Sr Maria Ivana who has been in position going on five years. Reactive parents seem to guide her decision making. There have been many knee jerk reactions responses to hot headed parents that do not represent the schools best interest. It has become a very me centered community which has lost its service base. The principal avoids dealing with big issue and is overfocused on controlling petty things. Academically, the math program is very average and Spanish is a waste of time. My 8th grader left knowing the same amount of the Spanish language he learned in kindergarten.


St Vincent De Paul School 5

Posted April 13, 2016
- a parent
St. Vincent's provides its students with a strong academic foundation, while embedding faith formation with fun community building activities. I have the opportunity to work in several independent schools and catholic schools on a daily basis and I feel confident my 3 children are in a great learning environment.

St Vincent De Paul School 5

Posted March 04, 2016
- a parent
Great community, outstanding fundraisers, nice kids and familys. We've been completely please thus far. Huge difference from our old school and our 2nd is starting soon.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

St Vincent De Paul School
1164 South Josephine Street, Denver, CO  80210
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 41 reviews. (303) 777-3812
Last modified St Vincent De Paul School is a Private school that serves grades PK-8
Top