Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Good Shepherd Catholic School

Private | PK-8 | 35 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Denver

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $385,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $760.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 5 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

15 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 29, 2014

Our family moved to CO in August from CA and were fortunate enough to be admitted to GS. We reviewed several top schools in Denver-private, public and religious. Immediately we were impressed with the admissions office, admin staff and leadership. The Good Shepherd community, parents, teachers and school welcomed our family with open arms. The teachers are very communicative, supportive and well qualified. Both the elementary and middle school faculty have worked to help develop the "whole child" for both our daughters. Good Shepherd also offers wonderful support in the learning specialist department, technology, counseling, PE and arts/religion. As a new family we could not be more impressed with Good Shepherd and the community. Obviously by some reviews listed not everyone shares my appreciation for the Good Shepherd faculty and administration...luckily for Denver residents you have other options for education which may in fact be a better fit. If you are looking to join a warm, faith based, parent involved, supportive & communicative school --- look no further. Good Shepherd has a long wait list for a reason...it's an outstanding school. E Stribley
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 28, 2014

We have been at Good Shepherd for 4 years. We have been extremely happy with all the aspects of our family's experience here. There is a strong academic program with amazing teachers, rigorous programs and consistent expectations from grade to grade. We are also extremely impressed at the involvement of the parents at this school and the amazing sense of community we have experienced at Good Shepherd since the first day we walked in.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 9, 2013

I sadly agree with several comments below - which seems to boil down to a common thread: principal leadership or lack thereof. Dictatorial approach, deficit based thinking, no flexibility or creativity when it comes to providing students what they really need to engage in learning. Punitive and judgmental approach when students as young as four do not comply. Seem to overreact for unacceptable but age appropriate behaviors. No desire to listen to parent feedback - answers like : "There is always "that kid" and "i am a great educator" happen in the same conversation. Leadership seems more concerned about protecting staff than about ensuring that ALL kids are learning given their interests and talents. Teachers, office and counselor have good intentions, parents are highly involved, yet the sense of community is not there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 10, 2013

I went to Good Shepherd, and wish so much my parents had sent me somewhere else. The children are cliquey, and have a disdain for individuality. The parents are no better. They teach values, but exhibit the opposite. The leadership has zero interest in helping with any concerns the parents and students may have. Overall terrible experience.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 16, 2013

Before enrolling at Good Shepherd we had heard such wonderful things about it. After several years at the school, our experience has unfortunately not been what we had expected and we decided to leave this year. The class sizes are very large, especially in the youngest grades. It just seems to be very crowded at the school and we believe our kids will get more individualized attention elsewhere. Socially it seems rather cliquey, and teacher turnover is very high. Thus, the sense of community is greatly lacking. Parents are, however, very involved at the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 13, 2013

A push by administration to maximize school capacity at 28 kids per class has resulted in what we feel is overcrowding in each small class room and has significantly effected the quality of education that the children are receiving. The level of teacher turnover and the principles lazy approach to recruiting new talented teachers is alarming. Further the principle is not approachable and is very defensive to parent input and feed back. The level of parent involvement is very high which is the saving grace of Good Shepherd. However there is not a great sense of community due to poor leadership and the numerous cliques that exist in the school. Sadly it is not the school it used to be.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 5, 2013

Sadly the school has systematically disassembled/undermined its previous sense of community. Unfortunately the principal takes a dictatorial approach, becoming very defensive when approached for discussion.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 27, 2011

We have been at Good Shepherd for 10 years and have been very happy with our experience. Our children love their school! We feel very lucky to be a part of such a wonderful community of families, teachers, staff, and administration. I disagree wholeheartedly with the previous reviewer's comments. The administration works very hard to hear the interests and concerns of the school families. Teacher to student ratios are appropriate and I believe lean strongly towards benefitting the student. The teachers do a fantastic job of challenging both gifted children and ones who might need additional help. Thank you, Good Shepherd administration, teachers, and staff!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 3, 2010

When our kids started at Good Shepherd several years ago, we could not have been happier. Fr Neal , Ms Nancy, the faculty and the school community could not have been better. However, our opinion of Good Shepherd has changed dramatically over the last 2 years to the extent that I struggle to even give it 3 stars. The administration is detached and aloof. Meanwhile, teacher:student ratios have swung wildly out-of-control and several new learning programs have been instituted without either proper staff training or effective parental communication. The school struggles SIGNIFICANTLY to challenge academically gifted children while, at the same time, leaving children who require extra attention completely to fend for themselves. Worst of all, I no longer feel as though the staff are interested in finding and cultivating the unique , good qualities resident in every student there. We are likely not returning in the fall.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2009

We have the most awesome staff and student body, period.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted September 16, 2008

Fantastic school, great Montessori program, talented and caring teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 3, 2008

We have one child at Good Shepherd in the traditional program and I cannot say enough good things about it!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 8, 2008

We have two children there and could not be happier. THEY couldn't be happier. The only negative I have is that it is not as economically diverse as it was when our kids started there. It definitely feels more like a private Catholic school than it does a diocesan Catholic school. But the school community is incredible. The teachers are completely committed to their kids' success and Fr Neal is a perfect fit.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 7, 2008

Both of my daughters attend Good Shepherd. One is in 8th grade and went through the traditional program from Kindergarden on. The other is currently in grade 3 in the Montessori program. I've found the school to be excellent academically and to be relatively free of the chaos that accompanies middle school age kids. Good environment, involved parent community and caring staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 22, 2007

Our two kids flourished here. Supported by a warm community of compassionate, dedicated teachers and friendly parents, Good Shepherd instilled great values in our kids while teaching them about the world around them. We highly recommend this school to anyone looking for a quality education for their children. The fact that it offers a faith-based curriculum is a plus.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
 

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

Unfortunately, this school doesn't have sufficient data to generate an academic rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 84% 56%
Hispanic 6% 32%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 5% 3%
Two or more races 3% 3%
Black 1% 5%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 0%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • AMI
  • AMS
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Archdiocese of Denver
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

620 Elizabeth Street
Denver, CO 80206
Phone: (303) 321-6231

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT