Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Montessori School of Denver

Private | PK-8 | 303 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Denver

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $201,500. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $760.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 5 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

36 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted Saturday, October 18, 2014

MSD is an excellent school for a growing child. The kids develop a love for learning and for their community. The teachers adapt learning programs to individual student needs (versus forcing a one size fits all approach). We have been at the school for eight years and are very pleased. There are many long serving teachers and faculty members.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 12, 2014

Horrible School. As others said it's very cliquy. They don't accept "outsiders." The teachers are okay, but don't really listen to you or address your concerns. The administration, although they may listen, don't care unless you are one of the Rich snobs, that can give them more money. I and others I know also, found when we left MSD, that are kids were way behind their peers. My daughter was considered two grades below where she should have been. Don't go there, it's a big waste of your money. There are far better schools in the Denver area!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 11, 2013

I can't say enough about the dedicated teachers and staff. Very supportive leadership, teachers are caring and committed. The other day I saw teachers and kids playing together and enjoying each other. It takes a village and they have one!,
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 9, 2013

I love that MSD's elementary curriculum is 100% individualized. My 2nd grade son comes into the classroom each day to find a personalized lesson plan--with choices in place. He feels like he controls his learning, yet he is held accountable and his success is measured in every minute detail of each discipline. His teachers have instilled in him the desire to push hard to learn more, and he is always motivated to move ahead. (And I'd like to add that while the choice of the school is dependent on what's best for my children not for me personally, I happen to adore the community which has been warm, fun, and inclusive.)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 6, 2013

Amazing school, amazing teachers, administration is adequate. I do wish there was more of a sense of inclusiveness with all families , but that is okay! We are in the middle school now and LOVE the new middle school teacher! He understands middle schoolers and we have seen our daughter grow so much academically and emotionally!! Thanks!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 24, 2013

We had a poor experience with this school and our son now happily attends another independent school. The teachers and administration are not open to making changes or to accommodating the needs of individual children. The parents are very "social" in a cliquey sense and the entire atmosphere is false. Beautiful campus, beautiful classrooms and library. Look underneath, very carefully, before you sign on for this place.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 15, 2013

To be brief, the teachers are dedicated, the administration is cold and quite full of themselves and the campus is beautiful.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 29, 2012

We have been at MSD several years and absolutely love it. The teachers are incredibly skilled and supportive, and my son is learning things in kindergarten that my other son (who is in a HGT program at another school) didn't learn until later. The school helps facilitate a true love of learning, and has a supportive community of engaged parents. The Montessori approach is amazing - we couldn't be happier and are planning on staying through 8th grade.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 26, 2012

This school look good but it is not a great school. If you have any issues, the teacher and admin will listen, but nothing will be done. The parent population is very cliquey and you can not voice your opinion. Your child needs to be the norm to do well here however, if your child has any issues or need a little attention, they will not receive it and they will be ignored.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 20, 2011

I didn't have a great experience with this school. There is no real solid academics to speak of. The main concentration is on social skills. Your child will be very polite when leavening the school, but it doesn't go much beyond that. We are leavening MSD & to my surprise my child is behind in reading, spelling, & math. She was never exposed to Everyday Math & her new school is very involved in it. This whole summer I have had to do tutoring in reading & math. If you are looking into this school, make sure you have your child regularly evaluated by someone outside of the MSD system. MSD is also huge on contributions. You will receive NUMEROUS e-mails and flyers about donations. It's over the top and they make you feel like it's mandatory. I would only recommend MSD for 3 yr. old to pre-school, but then I would highly suggest moving to a different. school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 10, 2011

We love MSD -- there is a great community, the parents and staff are engaged and fun! And most of all, it is a terrific place for developing curious minds. My two kids, both very different learners, have been challenged and supported year after year. My oldest, now in 7th grade (MSD only goes through 6th grade) is probably at least two years ahead of his peers academically. But what we treasure is the love of learning our boys now both have.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 13, 2010

I am not a parent involved with other parents at the school to any great degree-that is an option at MSD, but not a requirement for a positive experience. My 2 children, who are very different learners, have both had a wonderful education and have thrived in the loving environment of MSD. These very involved teachers know my children, care deeply for them, have expectations and tools to help them reach goals and love learning. This has been the best possible foundation for middle school and beyond. My son matriculated to a public environment and has thrived socially and academically.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 16, 2010

In a word: AWESOME. My kindergartner just finished a year at MSD, and he and his classmates were doing multiplication, division, and fractions.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 18, 2010

MSD is a great school. The teachers are awesome, and so are the students. The teachers let you explore create and learn. I am in Upper Elementary, our head of school is Stephanie Flanigan. Every day I love to go to school. they have classes and experiences you will not have at any other school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 12, 2010

MSD falls short on 2 key factors. 1. All ages should receive 3 hours of uninterrupted work. At MSD they are really only getting about 2 hours in the morning with the rest of the time spent on the playground and line time. 2. Extended primary for ages 5 and 6 gives the advanced primary student more time for work in the afternoon with smaller peer groups. What really happens is your 5 year old who misses the arbitrary age cutoff is sent to another classroom to 'rest' with other kids, some 4 year olds, who don't require the sleep offered in the nap room. There is some interaction with an assistant and work is allowed but the teachers remain with the extended primary kids in their classroom. Short staffing results in too much play time and low quality rest/work time. Anti Montessori methods from an otherwise excellent school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 11, 2010

Our daughter used to fake every illness to get out of going to school. Since starting at MSD 3 years ago she is the happy, energetic, engaged child we were missing. The environment is structured yet individualized, and kids are encouraged to find and explore their passions. Teachers are amazing. GREAT school - we couldn't be happier!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 11, 2010

We moved both our kids to MSD and are thrilled with the decision. In our experience three main things set the school apart: 1. exceptional leadership - head of school is committed, smart and engaged 2. Exceptional teachers / philosophy - each of the teachers we've had have been part of the school for years, and are creative, warm and dedicated. They always work to bring out the best in the kids 3. commitment to the mission - which is integrated into all activities and curriculum. This delightful school delivers on what it says, and our kids are thriving!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 10, 2010

Our family has been a part of the MSD community going on six years. MSD is truly a gem! We currently have two children at the school, and are confident that they are receiving a top notch education. My children look forward to going to school every day. They come home with excitement and passionate stories about what they've learned during their day. My children are very different, and the education they receive at MSD has complimented their individual personalities, strengths, and interests. Not only are they excelling in reading, writing, and math, they are thoughtful, engaged, socially conscious, and highly attuned to the future ahead of them. We feel extremely lucky to be a part of this community on so many levels. The teachers are outstanding! The administration is devoted to creating an excellent school, and they genuinely care about their families and community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 1, 2010

We have two children at MSD and could not be more pleased with our experience over the past several years. As parents, we feel incredibly fortunate to have found MSD and it is a core reason we have stayed in the Denver area. The administration and faculty treat our children like the young adults they are, fostering independence and confidence in a thoughtful and compassionate way. This school stands behind its mission statement of creating global learners who do good in the world. My children are receiving a well rounded education in the core academic subjects as well as learning how to be a good citizen, leader and group member. It is refreshing and stabilizing to see a place where our children are truly cared for and assisted in becoming capable, contributing members of our future society.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 1, 2010

MSD has been the best thing I have ever done for my child. He is an articulate, compassionate, global thinker thanks to MSD. He has the knowledge that learning is fun and knows how to think rather than learning via rote memorization. Our entire family was embraced and welcomed by the MSD community, but the teachers are what really ROCKs this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
 

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

Unfortunately, this school doesn't have sufficient data to generate an academic rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 81% 56%
Two or more races 15% 3%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 3%
Black 1% 5%
Hispanic 1% 32%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:10 am
School end time
  • 3:00 pm
School Leader's name
  • Stephanie Flanigan
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Independent Montessori
Associations
  • AMS
  • NAIS
Fax number
  • (303) 757-6145

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Montessori

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1460 S Holly St
Denver, CO 80222
Website: Click here
Phone: (303) 756-9441

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





Hillel Academy
Denver, CO


Denver Academy
Denver, CO


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT