Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Mile High Academy

Private | PK-12 & ungraded | 201 students

100 years of Christian education

 
 

Living in Denver

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $350,500. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $890.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted December 9, 2013

I am a parent of a middle schooler at MHA and over the last few years have seen a renewed commitment to excellence in both academics and curriculum content all the way through grade 12. The elementary teachers are great, strong in reading and math, and provide many creative learning opportunities through field trips and hands-on experiences. The new middle school is doing a great job of preparing kids for high school in math, science and language arts. The high school is focused on preparing kids for college (offers several AP classes) and a high percentage of graduates go on to attend college. The rigorous academic program within a Christian environment is just what we were looking for. The excellent teachers who work with the parents, smaller class sizes, the wonderful music program, and the outstanding technology available at the school are huge bonuses! I am very pleased with MHA and so happy we found a great school 'family.'
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 20, 2013

MHA has been a great experience my sister went to this school for her senior year. She has left a better person. My son is now enrolled in this school and we are loving what he is learning. MHA started a one to one laptop program, smart boards in all classrooms do they are doing a lot with technology. My son participates in a Suzuki strings program and we love the environment he is learning in and he loves going to school everyday. I would recommend this school and encourage you to see for yourself. Once my son gets to middle school I'll post again!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 14, 2013

I went to MHA through the sixth grade. When I transfered to public school, I found that I was two full years ahead of my age group in every single subject. I plan to send my children to MHA for sure!


Posted November 6, 2011

My husband and I graduated from Mile High Academy in 1981. Our oldest son graduated from MHA in 2009. Our second son in a senior this year. Both have attended MHA since first grade. We have been pleased with the education our boys have received at Mile High. While attending MHA our oldest son was offered a scholarship to attend Pacific Union College in Angwin, CA. He is a business and pre med major in his junior year. He is doing well and on track to get in to med school. Needless to say, we are grateful for the education he received at MHA that prepared him for challenging college classes. Our second son was recently recruited to play soccer at Walla Walla University in Washington. We are grateful for this opportunity and credit MHA's athletic program. I have never seen a more devoted group of teachers and administrators. They truly want every student to succeed and go above and beyond to show love and support for each student.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 18, 2009

As we wrap up our first year at this school, we are so pleased with the experience our kids have had! We have found the teachers to be exceptional - both at the elementary and high school. They are committed to providing a quality Christian education, and often use their personal funds to provide extras in the classroom. The appeal of this school is not in the outdated, much-in-need-of-remodeling building, but in the spirit of both students and staff, and the strong Christian spirit! Mr. Baldwin and the staff have begun a strong start to the vision of making MHA a place of spiritual, social, physical, and academic learning. We are looking forward to the fall!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 5, 2008

As the new principal at Mile High Academy, I am disappointed to see such a derogatory statement by a parent. I will agree that improvement in various areas are needed. My top priority is to restore the integrity of the curriculum and the perception of the faculty. As a professional educator, On the whole, after visiting all of the classrooms, I have found the faculty to be outstanding. They are dedicated to the academic and spiritual growth of their students. If parents, alumni, or constituents feel that there are areas of improvement, please speak directly with me. I am committed to making Mile High Academy a place of learning - spiritually, socially, physically, and academically.


Posted January 27, 2008

Poor saftey, Mediocre teachers, Poor math, not much curriculum and not much techinical education. I wouldn't go to this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 25, 2007

Poor academics. Great teachers. Strong music program. That's the only good thing
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
 

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

Unfortunately, this school doesn't have sufficient data to generate an academic rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 46% 62%
Hispanic 21% 29%
Asian 16% N/A
Black 6% 5%
Two or more races 6% N/A
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 4% N/A
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

College readiness and student pathways

Colleges most students attend after graduation Union College
Loma Linda
Southern Adventist University
Read more about resources at this school
Source: Manually entered by a school official.

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
College counselor(s)
Computer specialist(s)
ELL/ESL Coordinator
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
Reading specialist(s)
Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff Spanish
Italian
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • None - the school offers no services

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Science lab
Vocational or skills-based training offered
  • Computer programming
  • Engineering
  • IT support

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Photography
Music
  • Band
  • Bell / Handbell choir
  • Chamber music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Orchestra
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Performing and written arts
  • Drama
  • Improv
Media arts
  • Graphics
  • Video / Film production
Clubs
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered
  • Spanish
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Staff resources available to students
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Italian
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Advanced placement courses
  • Honors track
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
Clubs
  • National Honor Society
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Phone
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Seventh-Day Adventist
Associations
  • GCSDAC

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Advanced placement courses
  • Continuation
  • Honors track
  • Internships
  • Standards-based
  • Virtual school
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • Spanish
Level of special education programming offered
  • None - the school offers no services
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Vocational or skills-based training offered
  • Computer programming
  • Engineering
  • IT support

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • College counselor(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
  • Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Italian
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Career/college counseling
  • Tutoring
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
Transportation options
  • Accessible via public transportation
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Performance stage
  • Science lab
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Adventist Health Systems
  • Centura Health
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Flag football
  • Power lifting / Weight lifting
  • Soccer
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Soccer
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Photography
Music
  • Band
  • Bell / Handbell choir
  • Chamber music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Orchestra
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Performing arts
  • Drama
  • Improv
Media arts
  • Graphics
  • Video / Film production

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Community service
  • National Honor Society
  • Student council/government
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What does it cost?

Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
Yes.

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Union College
Loma Linda
Southern Adventist University
College preparation / awareness offered
SAT/ACT prep classes
College presentations or information sessions
College prep programs/courses during the year
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

711 E Yale Ave
Denver, CO 80210
Website: Click here
Phone: (303) 744-1069

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT