Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Denver Montclair International School

Private | PK-6 | 440 students

Student diversity

Looks like we have no information about the race or ethnicity of the student body.

 

Special education

The school has not provided this information yet.

 

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Denver

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $410,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,010.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 6 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

30 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 23, 2008

My 3-Year-Old loves going to school. The teachers are caring and very knowledgable. I highly recommend DIS.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 9, 2006

Over the past year DIS has greatly improved. However there are a few parents that are having a difficult time letting go of the past and moving into the present. The school administration is open to and invites clear and direct communication from all quarters. Many parents take advantage of this openness and others do not. Be this as it may, there are simply many more satisfied parents than not and the school continues to grow and get better every day. The children are safe, educated and have fun each day and the teaching staff are as dedicated as any in these United States It is a great pleasure to be involved with Denver International School.
—Submitted by an administrator


Posted February 7, 2006

Denver International School has been a wonderful experience for my child. The teachers are very nuturing and because of the small class sizes, children learn how to learn. My son can already write his name, do simple addition and recognize words and he is four! While I know there were some problems with the Executive Director last year, he is gone and the new Executive Director is hands-on, available and I can see that he really cares about the school. I would recommend this immersion and bilingual language school (French, Spanish and Mandarin Chinese) to anyone.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 6, 2006

The school has improved enormously in 2005/06. It relocated in the summer of 2005 and its new building is much better. The new principal - Doug Mahon - is an outstanding asset to the school and has helped to improve every aspect of the school. The quality of the staff - especially on the French program - is outstanding.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 11, 2005

Each classroom is a school unto itself, with incredible teaching talent from all over the world. Unfortunately, the school leadership operates with a disfunction that I've never seen in a professional organization. Most of the veteran parents are burnt out from a series of board-related crises. There is massive teacher, student, and administrative turnover. With a parent-elected board, this might be a great school. As it is, be sure that you choose a teacher that you have confidence will protect and nurture your child against an institution gone bad. This is a school with great positives and negatives.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 15, 2005

This school has been a big disappointment to our whole family. Its outstanding language program and focus on cultural education dramatically deteriorated the 1 1/2 years my child was here, as the school's funds deteriorated due to mismanagement. The financial concerns of the school spilled over to the overall safety of the children. The school [admittedly] cannot afford to hire enough teachers (some teachers have even left during the course of this year)or install an adequate security system (there isn't any). We finally had to take our child out mid-year due to the number of 'accidents' that have occurred at the school while there was no adult supervision. I cannot recommend this school as it is not a good value considering the cost (it is a private school) vs. what the children and parents get out of it. Not to mention the potential harm that may happen to the children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 7, 2005

High quality of academic programs. The bi-lingual nature of the program is the best part. Many extra-curricular activities. High level of parent involvement, although often this can be too high, as the school does not demonstrate any strong leadership (new Principal started in Sept 04 resigned in Dec 04), and school run by a 'Board of Trustees' (well-meaning, but often at odds with each other). Overall, DIS is a great school to be associated with, despite its flaws.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 3, 2004

My daughter has attended this school for several years. The tuition were raised by 25% over the last 2 years to match the tuitions of such prestigious schools as Colorado Academy, Grayland School, in the Denver area, even though it does not offer the same benefits. Time to leave the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 5, 2004

I enrolled my daughter in the Spanish immersion program this year. She is doing great, loves going to school and has an amazing teacher! Great after-school programs right there at the school - ballet, soccer, dance, music etc. Good not be happier!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 22, 2003

Diversity of race, family dymanics,and culture is captured within the walls of DIS. This school has students from approx 17 countries, some come here not speaking any English. Language immersion is a huge reason I have my 2 daughters here, they started in French immersion at age 4 and are now joining the new Mandarin immersion program. Last year for 1st grade, the English teacher was magnificent. I cannot say enough about the opportunities this school gives children to be bilingual in French, Mandarin, and Spanish. A 3rd language is begun in mid elementary, and Arabic is an option.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
 

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

Unfortunately, this school doesn't have sufficient data to generate an academic rating.

Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Language learning

Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered
  • French
  • Mandarin Chinese, Spanish
Foreign languages taught
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • French
  • Spanish

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • Honors track
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:30 a.m.
School end time
  • 3:15 p.m.
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
  • Before school
School Leader's name
  • Adam Sexton
Gender
  • Coed
Special schedule
  • Extended/longer school day
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Fax number
  • (303) 360-9426

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • Honors track
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • French
  • Mandarin Chinese, Spanish
Foreign languages taught
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • French
  • Spanish
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Neither uniforms nor dress code
Parent involvement
  • Dis administers a work bond program to promote parent involvement in the school and to reduce the school’s operational costs. families are assessed a $400 fee, payable upon first enrollment. if 20 or more hours of approved volunteer service to the school are completed within the year, this bond is rolled over to the following year, or refunded in the case of departing families. families who choose not to perform service forfeit their work bond and must post a new $400 bond in order to re-enroll. volunteer opportunities exist in abundance and families are encouraged to contribute their time and expertise toward the enrichment of the dis community.
More from this school
  • Learning another language at an early age enhances the student’s ability to process information and to acquire ‘cerebral elasticity’, thus broadening their academic prowess across the board. DIS students become better world citizens through multicultural exposure. We focus on character development, including developing respect for oneself and others and the importance of tolerance and acceptance.
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
 

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Hamilton Pre-International Baccalaureate
Denver Center for International Studies
Graland Country Day School
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

206 Red Cross Way
Denver, CO 80230
Website: Click here
Phone: (303) 340-3647

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT