Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-6|Private
650 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
38 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (2 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Somewhat effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered School leader (1 response)
characters left.
There are 53 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


International School of Denver 4

Posted February 08, 2016
- a community member
ISD has many international families with broad experience and perspective. The school environment is welcoming and open, it's a strong community built on diversity. The language programs are impressive, notably in French and Mandarin. The immersion teachers are dedicated, experienced, hardworking and they truly make ISD an international school. Parents see exactly what work children are doing in immersion classrooms via workbooks, journals, and planners. The English program in the lower school needs improvement both in terms of faculty and curriculum. It is difficult to understand what takes place in English class in K, 1st and 2nd grade so more transparency is needed. The IB middle school is fabulous with exceptional teachers, strong curriculum, and it has a very cool "house" culture (think Hogwarts!). There's a lot of pride in the school as you can see in various theatrical productions in target languages, and at the Tea Fair, Talent Show and year-end International Bash. The school is undergoing change with a new headmaster and admissions director, and there's been more focus on streamlining behavioral programs around the IB core values. This has been needed due to playground roughhousing. Overall, it's a good school where students thrive and learn to be internationally-minded.

International School of Denver
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted November 16, 2015
- a parent
I agree with this statement because of the way the school tries to promote international mindedness.


International School of Denver 5

Posted November 16, 2015
- a parent
Genuinely the only truly 'International' school in Denver. A wonderful new Head of School and Assistant Head have arrived this year and they are bringing wonderful expertise to an already fantastic school. As a parent I feel as though my children are benefiting from a multicultural and multilingual education. The fees are remarkably inexpensive for the quality of education offered. The class sizes are small and the attention given to each student is really excellent. I feel that my children are growing each day. The new Head of School, Ms. Denny, is a strong supporter of Carol Dweck's work on a growth mindset and she shared this with the parent community at a recent event. I find this to be a very exciting turn of events of ISD as there seems to be genuine thought leadership at the school presently. I have noticed an improvement in recess supervision and general student behaviour this year. The school leaders quickly respond to queries and act in a very thoughtful way. The learning environment is excellent this year. I like how the young people are learning about how to be risk-takers, inquirers and reflective learners. Many parents still have a concern regarding the quality of math and science teaching. The school have tried to address this topic this year but I understand there are difficulties in finding the best fit between the different national curricula and parental expectations. It was pleasing to hear at a Middle School entry night that the student exit Grade 8 with outstanding terra nova scores in Math.

International School of Denver
Grateful to: School leader

Posted November 16, 2015
- a parent
Ms. Denny is a breath of fresh air and a positive influence on ISD. She is an excellent communicator.

International School of Denver
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted November 16, 2015
- a parent
I think that all students in all schools get to much homework. When I bring this up with school administrators I hear that I am in the minority in thinking this.


International School of Denver 5

Posted November 15, 2015
- a parent
The school has incredible, highly qualified, dedicated, and experienced immersion teachers. Language curricula is fully aligned with and accredited by the French, Chinese and Spanish governments. Parents are provided with weekly journals to see progress made in class, which includes extensive material completed by students. On the English side, there is room improvement in curriculum content and delivery. However, the school just hired an excellent 4th grade English teacher so it's moving in the right direction. As for behavioral issues mentioned on this site, the school is working on how to manage children during times of transition (recess, hallways), and currently, there are plans underway to improve supervision and foster positive values at ISD. In sum, the school offers excellent Immersion education with room for improvement in English instruction and student behavior. It's been a valuable learning experience for my child.

International School of Denver 1

Posted October 04, 2015
- a parent
We moved to Colorado to get our girls in this institution. We saw it won recognition as a great Spanish School. My girls Spanish is good, we are native speakers. However, the non Spanish speaking children have serious weaknesses in their language skills. After two years in this school, my girls developed some issues in their oral expression. Beyond the lack of good Spanish instruction, this school lacks supervision, kids run wild during recess, bullying, accidents and other incidents are common. Curriculum is weak. It is true what others said, changing schools is hard because the level of English is even worst than the Spanish they teach. My girls are now in a caring, nurturing school. They have tutors there to help their English, not only the language arts, but also the science and math that was far behind their peers. We only regret not leaving sooner.

International School of Denver
Develops honesty: Disagree

Posted October 04, 2015
- a parent
Incidents between classmates and other peers are not properly addressed. Many incidents go unreported. The school has a "don't ask, don't tell" attitude to keep parents from knowing.


International School of Denver 5

Posted March 31, 2015
- a parent
This school is truly amazing. Our daughter is enrolled in the ECE Mandarin program and we don't have anything negative to say about our experience this year. We lived in France prior to this where our daughter attended two different International schools, the last of which was IB Middle Years certified and while it was a decent school, I can say that ISD is lightyears ahead of it in almost every respect. The teachers are caring and truly dedicated to the students' educational and emotional needs. With very small classroom sizes (14 total students), the teachers can truly cater to the individual needs, providing more assistance for those kids struggling in an area and giving more advanced work to those who are ready. Curriculum is challenging and you can truly see your child learning, not only the chosen language, but all areas of academics; arts, music, math, science, English. The focus on cultural immersion, not just language, is impressive. The communication to parents from the administration is outstanding and the parent-involvement is impressive. I would recommend this school to anyone who wants to give their child the gift of an international education and bilingualism.

International School of Denver 1

Posted March 25, 2015
- a parent
I totally agree with the parent who submitted his/her post back in 2011. "It is not great. Some of the teachers are good but the professional development is horrible and many of the teachers are very young and very inexperienced. . The curriculum is also very weak. Many of the kids that graduate struggle with middle school. The school has tremendous potential but will never live up to it with such a weak administration." All of this is spot on. If only I was proactive enough and had carefully read the reviews before enrolling our 2 kids.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

International School of Denver
206 Red Cross Way, Denver, CO  80230
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 53 reviews. (303) 340-3647
Last modified International School of Denver is a Private school that serves grades PK-6
Top