Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
1-12
Private
Denver, CO
Students enrolled: 360
Before care: No
After care: Yes

4 stars
Based on 27 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


28 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Denver Academy 5

Posted April 20, 2014
- a parent
Denver Academy has been a great place for my son. The teachers "get" him and he enjoys going to school. Every year he has been placed with a teacher that fits his learning style. If he weren't at Denver Academy, I have no doubt that he would have failed out by now. I'm so glad we found Denver Academy!

Denver Academy 5

Posted April 08, 2014
- a teacher
Denver Academy is a school that shows the love of learning. As you walk the campus, you can tell how much the students succeed by the smiles on their faces and the activities they are involved with. Rather they are studying poetry by the pond or understanding the ecosystem on the varying sites on the campus. Denver academy offers as wide variety of ways to learn and help students succeed in their learning.


Denver Academy 5

Posted December 04, 2013
- a parent
Denver Academy is an amazing school period. I have one child in High School at Denver Academy (DA) and one in public school at Cherry Creek High School. Both are great schools but the faculty, staff, and administration at DA are in another league when in comes to crafting an individual learning plan for each student. The environment at DA is inclusive, friendly, like a family. Students show respect for each other and their teachers. I know several recent DA graduates and they are doing well in college and in life. DA is expensive but without the kind of individualized learning experience DA has given my child he never would have made it through High School. My child is extremely smart, yet public schools don't have the knowledge or inclination to educate a child with ADD and a processing disorder. Best of all the philosophy at DA is that home work is the responsibility of the student and the teacher NOT THE PARENT. That alone is worth the tuition.

Denver Academy 5

Posted November 11, 2013
- a parent
Denver Academy is life changing. In one quarter, my daughter's anxiety, depression, migraines, and stomach aches she has had the last 6yrs literally disappeared. When her ADD was not properly addressed in school, these problems arose, worsened to the point that the idea of school made her physically sick. DA gave her the space to grow and learn without pressure and to truly help her learn in ways she connected to - she thrived. She has gone from hating school to wanting to be there. From hating homework to somewhat enjoying it. Most importantly there is hope for a bright future as her grades improve and she learns to challenge herself. I also personally love being a parent at this welcoming, communicative, and extremely friendly school. They welcome input, advice, and ideas. The staff is bright, creative, laid back, and truly gets kids with learning differences like no other place on earth. I have learned more in free parent support groups and school sponsored educational nights that I have in years of therapy. I feel so lucky to live in Colorado - so that my daughter can have this amazing educational experience that will last a lifetime!

Denver Academy 5

Posted October 20, 2013
- a parent
Denver Academy has done wonders for our daughter who has a somewhat rare learning disability. She is very bright, yet struggled in another private school because the teachers did not know how best to help her learn. Also at her old school she had trouble fitting in socially and was bullied. Not at DA! Bullying is not tolerated, and staff works very hard to teach kids to accept each other. My daughter is excelling academically because DA teachers are trained in how to teach her and to provide just the right amount of challenge for her needs. The one-on-one attention at DA is outstanding! I feel DA staff truly care about each and every student, and they all seem to love what they do. They truly see education as a partnership between parent, student and teacher.


Denver Academy 5

Posted October 10, 2013
- a parent
Denver Academy's philosophy, quality teaching staff, out-reaching counselors, visionary administrators, concerned parents, dedicated and tireless volunteers, and blossoming students make this a truly transformative environment and experience. Teachers have an in-depth understanding of their students personally and academically, as well as a broad, eclectic, yet focused, curriculum and approach to teaching and learning. With such a variety of methods utilized by both teachers and students, growth is observable emotionally and academically, resulting in happier kids and families. It is a valuable investment to help build a solid foundation for a future. In academic terms it's an A+. In Maslow's terms, it's the top of the pyramid!

Denver Academy 5

Posted October 08, 2013
- a parent
Denver Academy is 100% amazing, my son has never passed a class in regular education - even with re mediated course work. He had to take anxiety medication just to make it through the day. He now since beginning school in August is functioning at grade level and doing well- he is doing this completely off medication. His outlook on life, gate, affect and eye contact have all changed dramatically.Having a team of totally devoted educators that love their job and love children have definitely impacted the kids but all those lives around the kids- think how many of these children will go on to impact the World- Hip hip Hooray for DA!!!

Denver Academy 5

Posted October 07, 2013
- a parent
The best school for any child who needs an education outside the box. For four years my sons teachers have always been extraordinary; his current homeroom teacher has a masters degree in literature. They bend over backward to provide exactly the encouragement, accommodations, and motivation that each child responds to. Each child is treated with respect for their individual talents. In response to the poor reviews; my son tests poorly on standardized tests, because he is a slow processor, but a closer look clearly reveals him to be at or above grade level. So yes, if you go back to a public education where they assess the child solely with testing, they might easily look behind. We are looking forward to another four years in this unique and exceptional environment.


Denver Academy 5

Posted October 07, 2013
- a parent
Denver Academy has made the difference for my 6th grader. He is now confident, happy, and loves going to school. During his first year here, his reading level shot up by two grade levels! The Denver Academy staff is an amazing group- they are highly competent, caring, and committed to each and every student's success.

Denver Academy 5

Posted October 04, 2013
- a parent
I wish I had started my daughter at this school years ago. My daughter loves this school. She isn't ignored like she was at her previous public school. They truly care about my daughter's education and want her ,and all of their students, to be successful. They also educate parents and help them in any way possible. I drive an hour in the morning and an hour in the evening to have my daughter go to school here. She is learning, she is building confidence, and she now loves school. We love Denver Academy!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Denver Academy
4400 E Iliff Ave, Denver, CO  80222
(303) 777-5870
Last modified Denver Academy is a Private school that serves grades 1-12
Denver Academy Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 28 reviews. Top