Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Stanley British Primary School

Private | K-8 | 426 students

We are best known for holistic and child-centered academic programs.
 
 

 
 

Living in Denver

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $410,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,010.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 10 ratings
2013:
Based on 9 ratings
2012:
Based on 6 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

31 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted Monday, September 15, 2014

Stanley British Primary School is where my son started at Stanley as a kindergartner and now an incredibly self-aware, empowered and academically resourceful and as engaged 5th grader. The intentional integration, social emotional development and academic instruction to teach the whole child. Stanley celebrates each students gifts and talents. Many schools purport to do this, but Stanley has been a pioneer of this approach for over 40 years. Stanley students can critically and creatively problem solve, connect their learning to the world around them, and effectively collaborate and communicate with culturally and socioeconomically diverse groups of students. Stanley diagnosed my son's dyslexia,provided resources in his learning and embraced this gift instead of label/isolate him. He now is learning to be a leader to help others be successful with different learning capabilities. My family is privileged to be a part of this special school - I wish every child could have a Stanley BPS education as it celebrates the individual child with a focus on the their gifts and talents. The head of school has integrity and leads rather than react and the students are taught to self advocate.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 12, 2014

Stanley British Primary School is an accredited K-8 independent school with approximately 435 students. My daughter started at Stanley as a kindergartner and is now an incredibly self-aware, empowered and academically resourceful and engaged 9th grader. The British Primary philosophy intentionally integrates social emotional development and academic instruction to teach the whole child. Many schools purport to do this, but Stanley has been a pioneer of this approach for over 40 years. Stanley students are fully equipped "21st Century Learners" - students who can critically and creatively problem solve, connect their learning to the world around them, and effectively collaborate and communicate with culturally and socioeconomically diverse groups of students. Stanley is an inclusive community that values all families and appreciates and celebrates the ways our differences enhance human connection and understanding. My family is privileged to be a part of this special school - I wish every child could have a Stanley BPS education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 12, 2014

Speaking as the parent of a 7th grader and a graduate (10 years so far at the school), Stanley is a very special place for kids and families! Student excitement about learning is palpable, from the new kindergarteners making self- portraits to the middle schoolers confidently explaining their science fair projects. Teachers devote their attention not only to creating stimulating lessons leading to academic discovery and practice, but also addressing the whole child through building respectful classroom communities and helping kids to discover who they are as learners. Read Elizabeth Green's "Building a Better Teacher" to understand more about why the Stanley philosophy and approach to teaching works so well to prepare kids for life after middle school. Stanley encourages kids to be curious about the world around them and to pursue their interests, while also developing the skills they'll need after they graduate.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 12, 2014

Sending our three children to Stanley BPS is the best parenting choice we've ever made! Each child has been treated as an individual by the most caring, intelligent and dedicated teachers on the planet. The head of the school is brilliant, open and humble and has done an excellent job to ensure the sustainability of this remarkable place. When you walk into a classroom, you immediately notice the strong mutual respect between teachers and students. One result of this is a happy and engaged class (teachers and students) where students experience the joy and pride of discovery from having "uncovered" learning rather than having it "covered" by the teacher. This method requires truly active engagement by both the student and the teacher and you can witness it every day. I wholeheartedly recommend this beautiful school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 11, 2014

This school is great! Our children have been here for 2 years and they absolutely love Stanley. We initially were torn between public versus private, but we are so glad we chose Stanley. They have a real sense of community that fosters our children's creativity while also encouraging them to learn. We highly recommend Stanley!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 8, 2014

We have two children who attend Stanley British Primary School, one in 1st grade and one in Kindergarten. We heard about Stanley when our girls were still babies from close friends of ours whose children attended Stanley from Kindergarten through 8th grade. Stanley is a warm and inviting school - as a newer family to the school, we have been immediately included as part of the Stanley family. Our 1st grader attended Stanley for Kindergarten as well last year and she had an amazing first year. The teachers and interns are phenomenal - the children are truly listened to, cared about, and met on their own individual levels in all areas: socially, emotionally, and academically. Parent involvement is an integral part of the Stanley experience, and Stanley makes it possible for parents who work both in and outside of the home. We absolutely love Stanley!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 3, 2014

I am so impressed by Stanley and how it really stays true to the mission. My children are not only engaged in their own learning but they are intrinsically motivated! The love coming to school everyday and I attribute that to the amazing teachers and community!!! I feel so fortunate that we are part of this very special community!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 29, 2014

As a parent of two Stanley students, I do not understand comments about the headmaster and about the preferential treatment of "jocks". First, the headmaster is outstanding and one of the brightest educators I have known. Yes, the school does have to work within its own budget, and it is his job to be sure that happens. Within the Stanley community, he is revered and held in very high esteem. The "jocks" comment makes no sense at all -- maybe the person meant to review a different school? Athletics are embraced at Stanley, but there is a noncompetitive atmosphere and I cannot recall meeting any students who are intensely focused on athletics. As for the emphasis on test taking -- I am flummoxed by this comment. My kids have only ever been given one formal assessment test, and the teacher called to ask my permission first. Every teacher knows his or her students very well here and we feel fortunate to be part of it all.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 9, 2014

I have been a fan of Stanley BPS for many years but I feel I must add my voice to several here who have written about mission drift and a different direction that the school has taken in recent years. This was a school founded on the principles of love of children, love of learning, curiosity, curriculum skillfully interwoven, and teachers following the interests of the child. This is all eloquently stated in the school s materials. Sadly, very little of it holds true any more. There is now much more focus on adult-oriented goals, test scores, and top-down curriculum (as well as on fundraising). My middle school student, who began at Stanley with a joyous Kindergarten teacher, is overloaded with homework and tests. The school is no longer a place where individuals are celebrated nor where children are free to take risks to learn about themselves. They are getting pushed through the cookie cutter of traditional schooling and parents can find that option anywhere for a lot less money. There are still some good teachers at Stanley, but less curiosity. Take care to compare the information you receive with what is really happening in classrooms, particularly 3rd grade and up.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 28, 2014

Stanley is a wonderful community of students, teachers, parents and administration. From top to bottom, Stanley is truly a "community of joyful, lifelong learners." There is support throughout the community and the administration is one that leads by example. I'm convinced that there isn't a happier place that exists. From the moment you walk into the school, it's apparent that the students and teachers are all thrilled to be there. Schools like this are rare and it's a privilege to be a part of such a beautiful family.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted November 18, 2013

As a parent of a young student, I have been so impressed by the intentional events to help our family become part of the community. We love the teachers, multi-age classroom, the ability to challenge my child at her academic level, and the social emotional curriculum. We could not be happier with every aspect of the school and look forward to our other child being part of this incredible school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 11, 2013

The idea of this school is grand, but execution falls short. I am extremely frustrated with the headmaster who is unresponsive to parent concerns. There are some wonderful teachers and an equally wonderful parent community, but vision and leadership are lacking.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 6, 2013

If I had rated this school 11 years ago when our first child started here it would have been 5 stars, long story short awful administrators over dedicated, but frustrated teachers. They lost their vision and mission, so sad!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 5, 2013

As a first year teacher, I could not imagine a more supportive or engaging school to begin my career. Stanley's administration treats staff members with the utmost respect, allowing all teachers and staff members to take risks, challenge themselves, find joy in their work, and focus on the most important thing: the students. Many teachers have stayed at Stanley for 10+ years due to this environment and I cannot imagine a better place to teach or to send a child.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted November 5, 2013

Stanley BPS has been an amazing school for both my children. The environment and community is so different than how we learned growing up. My kids are loved, honored and treasured by their teachers, staff and their diverse group of peers. They have learned to be confident in their strengths and to work on their weaknesses. Both my children take educational risks daily because they feel so comfortable and supported by their community. I truly believe the world would be a different place if the Stanley philosophy was widespread in current schools. Our family feels truly blessed and grateful to be a part of this community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 15, 2013

Could not be happier with this school. The staff and the community are amazing! The educational philosophy of the school provides the children with life long skills needed to make a positive impact in their community and the confidence to achieve success.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 25, 2013

Stanley is a wonderful school with an incredible philosophy supported by amazing leadership, educators, staff and families. The school community is warm, friendly and welcoming as well as incredibly inclusive - embracing and celebrating diversity in its many forms. Parent involvement and participation is encouraged in both the classroom and the broader school - which is run very transparently. The thoughtful curriculum intentionally takes into account the development of a child as a unique individual, and supports an individual learning path, while also promoting working together in groups. Multi-age classrooms combined with exceptional teachers able to differentiate curriculum allows my children to learn at a level appropriate to them as individuals. In addition to a rich academic and arts education, social emotional programming is very thoughtfully interwoven into the school experience which results in an incredible sense of classroom and school community, and a sense of comfort and belonging for every child in the school. Happy children who love school and love to learn - what more could you ask for?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 19, 2013

We love this school! Our children have learned how to be empathetic,kind and gracious. They trust their teachers,feel safe in the classroom and the playground,and have gained confidence beyond their years. The teachers and the administration are very warm and inviting. Coming from the public school system, this is quite a welcome change. The way the students learn is through uncovering material in creative ways that best align with their learning style. Children are encouraged to learn "by doing" versus just reading from a text or putting pencil to paper. Looking in to the middle school, we see the most confident,well-adjusted,kind and smart individuals. What more could we ask for?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 12, 2013

We have had all of our children at Stanley. Unfortunately, over the past several years we have seen a steady decline in the quality of staff and more importantly the quality of leadership. The past head of school and founder was a brilliant woman with her mind only on the best for the children. She had created a beautiful community of commitment to that ideal. However, the new headmaster is interested only in money, and focuses on that end. They are now plagued by turnover of great teachers replaced by mediocre new college grads and families leaving in droves. Sorry to say we are among them. We are not rich, we are academicians and there is no room for us in this community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 9, 2012

Our girls love Stanley. They are excited to come to school every day. The teachers are incredible- very caring and supportive, and they know each child very well.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
 

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

Unfortunately, this school doesn't have sufficient data to generate an academic rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 68% 56%
Black 11% 5%
Two or more races 8% 3%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 7% 3%
Hispanic 6% 32%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Dance teacher(s)
Gifted specialist(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
Reading specialist(s)
Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School social worker/counselors(s)
Special education coordinator
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff French
Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular special education needs
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs
Staff resources available to students
  • Special education coordinator

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Computer lab
  • Science lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Orchestra
Performing and written arts
  • Dance
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Computer animation
  • Graphics

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • French
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
  • Kitchen
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Swimming pool

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Gifted / high performing
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
Staff resources available to students
  • Gifted specialist(s)
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:15 am
School end time
  • 3:00 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 7:15 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 6:00 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Tim Barrier
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • ACIS, NAIS
Associations
  • ACSI
  • NAIS

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • British Primary (inquiry-based learning)
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Individually guided instruction
  • Internships
  • Multi-aged
  • Project-based
  • Standards-based
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular special education needs
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • None

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Gifted specialist(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
  • Special education coordinator
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
  • Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • French
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
  • Differentiated learning programs
  • Mentoring
  • Tutoring
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
  • Science lab
  • Swimming pool
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Lowry Swim Club
  • Lowry Family Center
  • Denver Public Schools
  • Aurora Public Schools
  • University of Colorado-Denver
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Lacrosse
  • Soccer
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Field hockey
  • Lacrosse
  • Soccer
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Orchestra
Performing arts
  • Dance
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Computer animation
  • Graphics

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Student council/government
School leaders can update this information here.

Photos

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
More from this school
  • Vision We envision a community of joyful, lifelong learners prepared to make a positive difference in the world.? Mission Our mission is to engage, challenge, and inspire children to reach their potential and develop their own voices within an inclusive, diverse, and collaborative community that values distinct contributions and abilities. We prepare teachers to implement our vision, mission, and values, and we share our educational approach with the larger community.
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
 

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2012-2013 school year
$14000 - $16000
Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
Yes.
School-based aid
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

350 Quebec Street
Denver, CO 80230
Website: Click here
Phone: (303) 360-0803

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT