Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

The Logan School for Creative Learning

Private | K-3, 5-8 | 247 students

We are best known for for our individualization.

 
 

Living in Denver

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $410,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,010.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted November 11, 2012

Logan provides a phenomenal education for gifted, self-directed learners. The environment is one of independence, safety, responsibility and respect. Children learn how to take charge and be accountable for their work and their behavior. Expectations are rigorous. Perhaps the most significant takeaways for us after seven years at the school are the critical thinking skills our child has learned, the confidence our child has in her abilities, the self-evaluation skills she has gained, and the resilience she has attained, learning that even when she does not succeed, she can persist, improve, and soar higher next time. Also great opportunities for the performing arts in upper grades, decent language instruction, and increasing physical education opportunities. The student environment is challenging and supportive of each other, with very little bullying (that is never tolerated when it occurs).
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 25, 2011

I went here for 6 years and it was a wonderful school for me. The teachers are great and i got a challenging education.


Posted July 27, 2011

There are a lot of great things about the school but also some really troubling things like lack of basic math facts education and lack of basic Englsih grammar and vocabulary learning. No tests sounds great but teachers and students aren't held accountable and kids have a hard time transiitoning to other schools. I found that the same hands on experiental trips can be gained at free charter schools and the cost for the same trip is about half of what The Logan School charges.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 15, 2009

Logan is a wonderful place for a child to attend school. The school emphazises the process of learning and ways to love that so that children become active learners beyond the school. The children also learn to take responsibility for their work and the quality of it, even in the youngest grades. The school is big on respect and tolerance. The teachers we have had so far have been fantastic and the administration does a good job of making itself available for feedback from parents. We feel that our children are getting an amazing education there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 31, 2008

The Logan School is amazing. The parent community, the student body, and the staff all work together to create an incredible place for children to explore and learn. This is truly a unique experience. My children are excited for school every day!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 15, 2008

I absolutely love the logan school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 2, 2008

My daughter has been with the school for over a year and really loves it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 27, 2003

My kids wake up excited to go to school every day. I feel so lucky we found Logan for them! Logan is preparing them to be life long learners.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
 

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

Unfortunately, this school doesn't have sufficient data to generate an academic rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 80% 62%
Asian 7% N/A
Black 7% 5%
Hispanic 5% 29%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% N/A
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Two or more races 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Teacher resources

Foreign languages spoken by school staff French
Italian
Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • MathCounts (2010)
  • State of Colorado River of Words Poetry Competition (2010)

Special education / special needs

Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Specific learning disabilities

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Clubs
  • Gardening

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Painting
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing and written arts
  • Drama
Clubs
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Latin
  • Spanish
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • French
  • Italian
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
Clubs
  • Gardening

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Gifted / high performing
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
  • Before school
School Leader's name
  • Andrew Slater
Gender
  • Coed
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Fax number
  • (303) 340-2041

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Independent Study
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Specific learning disabilities
Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Latin
  • Spanish

Resources

Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • French
  • Italian
  • Spanish
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer
  • Gym
  • Library
  • Playground
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Painting
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing arts
  • Drama

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Gardening
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

School culture

Dress Code
  • Neither uniforms nor dress code
More from this school
  • The Logan School provides an experiential-based educational opportunity for gifted children of all backgrounds that allows each child to develop individually to his or her full potential. We nurture the academic, social, emotional, and physical needs of our students in an environment that combines hands-on learning with personalized attention.
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
 

What does it cost?

Financial aid offered
Yes.

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
East High School
George Washington IB
Area Private Schools
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1005 Yosemite Street
Denver, CO 80230
Website: Click here
Phone: (303) 340-2444

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT