Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Southmoor Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 481 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 5 ratings
2012:
Based on 6 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

22 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 11, 2014

Southmoor is excellent. The teachers are talented, creative, and committed, and the environment is supportive. The new principal is wonderful: a strong, supportive leader. The HGT program is a godsend and the kids mix well between the HGT program and the traditional classes. Also, the music program is great: guitar club, choir, band, gospel choir, talent shows, etc.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 21, 2013

Southmoor Elementary is our home school. The parent community is extremely supportive. We have new leadership our principal is amazing, motivating, transparent and collaborative. My kids love school and I love that Southmoor is focused on the whole child, inside and out.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 19, 2013

My children have attended Southmoor Elementary for the past 5 years. They love their teachers and are thriving. The new principal (August 2013) has been a great addition and we are very pleased with the teaching staff. My children are excited about school, have healthy friendships, are learning from adults who are invested in their overall growth and development. We love our Southmoor community and the school has been a home run for our family. We feel so lucky to be part of this school. I think Southmoor is a tremendous asset to the neighborhood.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 24, 2013

My daughter has been going to south moor since 2nd grade and we have enjoyed the curriculum . Its a great school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 6, 2013

There is so much potential here but the problems are bringing it down. Bullying has been a large problem that is not being addressed by the Principal. In the last two weeks, my son has been spit on, choked, punched in the head, pelted with sports balls and dragged to the ground during recesses. When I brought it up to his teacher, she said it's a big problem and actually gave me names of kids my child should avoid. The Principal came in to a parents meeting last month, showed next year's budget, not saying how she came to the figures but two teachers would have to be released. The next day, we receive a memo from her indicating that the parent committee recommended that two teachers be let go, essentially blaming others. On the other side, I have found my son's teachers to be extremely helpful and caring about his needs and the HGT program is strong, although the Principal has indicated that program may change. There is a leadership void at this school that needs to be addressed. Also, there is almost a class structure there whereas if you are not at an income level that matches the neighborhood surrounding the school, you are a lesser citizen. Currently researching other schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 21, 2013

Very disappointed in southmoor. The principal is hardly visible, teachers don't feel valued or supported by the principal, and bullying is a huge problem. The overall atmosphere here is disconnected with a huge lack of communication on all ends. The overall atmosphere was so unhealthy that I pulled my child from the school. They need a complete change in every direction starting from the principal on down!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 13, 2012

Southmoor Elementary is a jewel in the DPS. This school is rich in teachers, has an excellent parent group and is located in a supportive community environment. My children have thrived and they continues to grow. The school communicates with parents, hosts all kinds of events to bring the community together and meets the needs of the kids. Southmoor is a great school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 27, 2012

This is our 5th year at Southmoor. We have had an amazing experience-excellent teachers, strong parent involvement, wonderful cultural diversity, and a warm and caring staff and community. Our kids love school and are thriving academically. All schools face challenges and Southmoor is addressing those. Steps have been taken to alleviate class sizes. Test scores are climbing. The sense of positive energy and momentum is palpable. We are excited for another great year!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 14, 2012

We are so excited for a brand new school year at Southmoor! This school brings together the best of the best - teachers, kids and community. My child has loved the experience of being a Southmoor student, and as an involved parent, I have witnessed first hand how the collaboration of strong teachers, willing parent volunteers and good leadership can help a school be the best it can be. No school is perfect, and sadly, the districts are not either, but at Southmoor, everyone is committed to working together to overcome challenges and raise the school's level of academic performance, without losing focus on helping our kids grow as individuals. And it is working! Southmoor is growing and succeeding. We are so happy Southmoor is our neighborhood school...we walk to school each day with smiles on our faces!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 18, 2012

We moved from Florida 3 months before school finished. My 2 kids atended to Southmoor, and they both loved the school, made friends really quick and though the teachers were the best ever. They learned a lot of new things. I have had myself a good experience with the office, they have been very helpful every time I have had to go there. Everything has been wonderful as of experience this year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 31, 2012

the last post says it all, the other negative post in 2012 were removed. Why, we are in US and should be able to state negative comments.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 30, 2012

I posted a one star review of this school earlier in 2012, agreeing with yet another one star parent rating. Ironically , BOTH OF THESE HONEST AND CANDID REVIEWS HAVE DISSAPEARED FROM THIS WEBSITE! What is up with that ? Not a great school. There are many unhappy parents looking for alternative schools and it would seem we are not being given an opportunity to genuinely warn other parents! No strength in the new leadership. The leadership seems mostly concerned with test scores...not with giving our children a strong general education. Teaching to the test is commonplace, in fact the principle discussed bringing in tutors to raise test scores in science the week before the CSAP tests, rather than demanding the teachers actually TEACH science more effectively during the school year! I don't get it! Time and effort is taken away from reading and math so that the younger kids can "practice testing"! I find this absolutely unaccepable. Many nice teachers, but many are not truly strong teachers, and they are not getting guidance they need from the principle.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 31, 2011

Overcrowding is the only issue at Southmoor due to it's popularity. Now that they are restricting enrollments the overcrowding shouldn't be an issue. You just won't be able to choice into this school and need to be living in Southmoor. The school is overcrowded and popular for a reason.....it is a great school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 17, 2010

One of the best and brightest elementary school in DPS. All of the classes are full because of this, even the highly gifted progam that is in the trailers. The teachers are hard working and dedicated to the kids. A great, diverse population. The new principal comes with great creditals . It is so hard to ask for more in these day when all schools are asked to cut things to the bare bones. My kids thrived at this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 22, 2010

This school is way over crowded, class size is to high and classrooms to small to accomodate the size of class. There is an exception; the High classes seem to get the larger classrooms and the smaller number of students. Most teachers are very concerned with their students, but there are a few who seem to let their aids do all the work. They receive a high rating because of the high classes, sometimes the regular clases get forgotten. A Grandparent


Posted April 22, 2010

Great teachers, Great Principle, overall a good learning environment
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 9, 2008

Southmoor Elementary is a wonderful school! The student population is diverse and high achieving. Parents, teachers and students work together to set high learning goals and the teachers work hard to help each child reach those goals. I have observed teachers who accomodate all the learning needs in their classroom. I must say the teachers at this school work long hours and attend many hours of training and it shows! Keep up the great work Southmoor.


Posted May 15, 2008

Southmoor is a nice school with a lot of involved parents. My son attended 1st grade and did well. He has a processing delay and needs a little extra help. The special education team was very good although it seemed stretched. But the class sizes are way too big without any assistants. My son's class was supposed to have an assistant for an hour out of the day but I rarely saw her stay in the class (when I volunteered) as I think she was working in several classrooms. The two 30+ 1st grade classes were divided into a third class half way through the year which helped. But I worry about future years where the classes are around 30 students (and few assistants). For that reason we are moving into another school district. I also thought the communication for the administration could have been better. MORE ASSISTANTS ARE NEEDED!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 11, 2006

Highly focused on literacy, math, science & social studies. Dedicated teachers. The best physical wellness program throughout Denver. Music for each grade level, including band and district proformances. Art for each grade level including showings.Competitive Destination Imagination teams through parent volunteers.Competitive Cup Stacking teams offered through Physical Wellness. Non-Profit group of parents making sure no child is left behing. Mi Casa A Su Casa!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 27, 2006

Parents are very involved, although class sizes are dangerously over crowded. We dis enrolled our son from kindergarten for this reason; they were running one teacher for over 30 students per class.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

69 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
84%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

69 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
83%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 51% in 2013.

69 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
75%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

66 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
85%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 68% in 2013.

66 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
86%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2013.

66 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
63%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

75 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
84%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 70% in 2013.

75 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
88%
Science

The state average for Science was 49% in 2013.

75 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
77%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 57% in 2013.

75 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
79%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students77%
Female74%
Male78%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)84%
Free lunch eligible58%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch88%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities80%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English84%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant78%

Reading

All Students80%
Female78%
Male80%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)82%
Free lunch eligible62%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch91%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities82%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English84%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant81%

Writing

All Students68%
Female65%
Male70%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)76%
Free lunch eligible50%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch79%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities71%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English73%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant69%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students85%
Female76%
Male89%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)97%
Free lunch eligible63%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch92%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities88%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English90%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant85%

Reading

All Students82%
Female81%
Male82%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)95%
Free lunch eligible56%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch90%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities87%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English89%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant82%

Writing

All Students76%
Female76%
Male76%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)89%
Free lunch eligible50%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch84%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities80%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English85%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant76%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students83%
Female78%
Male87%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)92%
Free lunch eligible58%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch93%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities90%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English80%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant83%

Reading

All Students84%
Female83%
Male85%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)90%
Free lunch eligible58%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch93%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities91%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English85%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant84%

Science

All Students65%
Female61%
Male69%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)77%
Free lunch eligible26%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch80%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities71%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English68%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant65%

Writing

All Students80%
Female83%
Male77%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)83%
Free lunch eligible58%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch87%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities87%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English77%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant80%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Above average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

23%
of schools in the state are Below average
52%
of schools in the state are Average
24%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Colorado. Test scores are based on 2012-13 TCAP results from the state of Colorado.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Average

Reading growth at this school

Above average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 TCAP results from the state of Colorado.

2 This rating is based on 2011-12 and 2012-13 Median Growth Percentiles in Math, English Language Arts, and Writing from the state of Colorado.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 58% 57%
Hispanic 16% 32%
Black 12% 5%
Asian 8% 3%
Two or more races 5% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 0%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 28%N/A40%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students PE instructor(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Gym

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Gifted / high performing
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
  • Before school
School Leader's name
  • Kent Burger
Fax number
  • (720) 424-3955

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Standards-based
Foreign languages taught
  • None
Vocational or skills-based training offered
  • None

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • PE instructor(s)
Extra learning resources offered
  • Tutoring
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Gym
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3755 South Magnolia Way
Denver, CO 80237
Website: Click here
Phone: (720) 424-3930

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT