Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
29 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (4 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (4 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (4 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (4 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (5 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (4 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered School leader (1 response)
characters left.
There are 61 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Southmoor Elementary School 5

Posted April 16, 2016
- a parent
Great teachers and community support. We love the HGT program as well as the traditional academics. Administration has done a phenomenal job of creating flexible classrooms so that kids leave their home room in order to join the most approprioate learning environment for their reading and math needs.

Southmoor Elementary School
Grateful to: School leader

Posted April 16, 2016
- a parent
Sarina Compoz and Karla Gruenwald are always willing to spend the time needed to solve problems and they're committed to the continued growth of the school and community.


Southmoor Elementary School 5

Posted March 09, 2016
- a parent
This is our first year (kindergarten) at Southmoor Elementary. We could not be happier with the school, its leadership and the community that wraps its arms around it! We feel so lucky that we get to live in this community of Denver and send our child to such an amazing neighborhood school! From the play based and traditional kindergarten classrooms, to the HGT program (Highly Gifted & Talented), passion projects, and most importantly, the teachers that are dedicated to educating our children. Such a special school!

Southmoor Elementary School 5

Posted March 08, 2016
- a community member
I love the many shapes and forms that learning takes at Southmoor - from traditional classroom to Passion Projects to technology based to good old life lessons - it's all here! The leadership is innovative, the teachers are committed and the community is amazing!

Southmoor Elementary School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted September 06, 2015
- a parent
My son came home extremely proud about getting a "good citizen" award for being respectful and kind. Since then he has make it a point to continue earning that award.


Southmoor Elementary School 5

Posted September 06, 2015
- a parent
This is our first year with Southmoor and we love it. The teachers are all very pleasant and our kids love them. The facilities are brand new and well done. The amount of communication we get from the school is incredible. The Principal has always been there for us and taken care of any issues we have had. We moved into the area specifically because of the great ratings this school had, and we couldn't be happier with our decision.

Southmoor Elementary School 1

Posted July 05, 2015
- a parent
Bullying is a huge problem there and don't expect to be heard by principal or especially assistant principal -when describing the demeanor of the assistant principal two words come to mind dazed and confused. Definitely looking into a new school even if it means selling a house and moving to the other school district.

Southmoor Elementary School 5

Posted August 05, 2014
- a parent
I have a child in the HGT program and a child in the traditional program and I am highly satisfied with both programs. The school works hard at making sure each child has their needs being met. I have one child with a 504 in place and the school has been very helpful about the accommodations that are needed to help my student thrive. The new principal is a great addition.


Southmoor Elementary School 5

Posted July 29, 2014
- a parent
We love Southmoor. It's a great neighborhood DPS school that's focused on rigor for all students, no matter where they fall on the bell curve. Our principal is inspiring. Our parents are engaged. Our staff is the best combination of tenured/experienced and new/eager. Both of my children LOVE going to school.

Southmoor Elementary School 5

Posted April 11, 2014
- a parent
Southmoor is excellent. The teachers are talented, creative, and committed, and the environment is supportive. The new principal is wonderful: a strong, supportive leader. The HGT program is a godsend and the kids mix well between the HGT program and the traditional classes. Also, the music program is great: guitar club, choir, band, gospel choir, talent shows, etc.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Southmoor Elementary School
3755 South Magnolia Way, Denver, CO  80237
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 61 reviews. (720) 424-3930
Last modified Southmoor Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top