Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

3 stars
Based on 15 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Green Valley Elementary School 1

Posted April 27, 2013
- a parent
My son attended his 5th grade year at Green Valley Elem. It truly has been a horrible experience. I cant speak for all the teachers, but my son's teacher needs to find another profession. She told her students the step by step process of her divorce. Her class room was so unorganized; to the point my son commented on it (he is an eleven year old boy!) My son constantly felt lost in her class.The list could truly go on, but these were my main issues. Trying to meet with the principle regarding my concerns was impossible. I finally left him a voice mail about 2 1/2 months ago; never recieved a call back.I spoke with another parent in my son's class. I'm sad to say that she too had the same concerns and issues with the teacher. At least I know that I wasnt just being "too hard" on her. I am so thrilled that this experience will be behind us soon and he will be attending an amazing school for the 2013-2014 school year! Sadly he will have to be playing catch up due to the lack of learning that happened this current school year. I hope this review helps.

Green Valley Elementary School 2

Posted August 24, 2012
- a parent
this school is ok. The only thing i have concerns about is when one of their stundents really needs to use the bathroom their not allowed to go because the teacher is teaching. I gave my child permission to walk out of class to go before they go in their pant and if the school has a problem with that please give me a call and I will be happy to speak with someone about it.


Green Valley Elementary School 4

Posted July 20, 2010
- a parent
GVE is a classic example of the situation schools are in these days with NCLB. The teachers are pressed to make the kids do well on CSAP and the Spanish-speaking kids are transitioned into full-time English too soon. Why does the school with mostly African-American and Hispanic kids do badly on a test written in Standard English for middle class white kids? It's the unrealistic requirements they are given. All too common.

Green Valley Elementary School 1

Posted October 24, 2008
- a parent
My son is in 1st grade and attended this school last year. Recently we had to change classes because of the lack of respect for us as parents by the teacher. We are concerned parents but the principal gave us the impression that we are overprotective and unreasonable. As far as safetly and parents being allowed to be involved in what their children are being taught, This school is terrible. The curriculum as well has not challenged my son at all. We actually do workbooks from home so that he is learning new things. I would not reccomend this school if you want to be invovled in your child's education.

Green Valley Elementary School 5

Posted March 14, 2008
- a parent
My son attend GVE for 2yrs now. My only worry at the begining was that my son spoke no English and his ELC classroom had English teachers only. My son is now Fluent in both languages had no trouble. He is now in DLC and his teachers are absolutely wonderful. They have the best method in teaching children. I get a behavioral book everyday and have to sign it everyday so Im aware of how my son behaves on a daily basis. He gets treasure box when he behaves good and follows directions. GVE is truely a great school. I have to completely disagree with the other parents who dont agree.


Green Valley Elementary School 4

Posted September 17, 2007
- a parent
Thank you for allows teachers to move up with their students. I liked having the same teacher two years in a row (2nd to 3rd this year)

Green Valley Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted September 02, 2007
- a parent
I feel there are too many children per teacher. My child is now in third grade, when she was in first she had 34 peers in her class.

Green Valley Elementary School 3

Posted March 01, 2007
- a parent
The school seems really disorganized and parents don't seem to care or support their kids. The special education teachers are wonderful most of the time and my son has really improved while in the ELC and DLC. It's a nice school atmosphere and design, but it needs some real leadership, accountability and structure to improve the academics. We were given the option of going to another school next year, and we will do that just so our kids have a chance at a better education. If the school improves, we would consider coming back.


Green Valley Elementary School 2

Posted February 28, 2007
- a parent
Both of my children have attended here since K. and now in 4 &5 This school lacks in academics and in teacher responsibility. The after school programs are about the only good thing there is to this school. The school doesn t follow up on any issues whether good or bad. When a child has a problem in academics there is no help to resolve it. There is too much violence committed here and no real follow through. Over all this school needs to be revamped. There is moderate parent involvement. When parent try to get involved they are told that 'we'll let you know' No follow through.

Green Valley Elementary School 3

Posted July 22, 2006
- a parent
Green Valley is a good school that needs more parental involvement. Classes are large but the teachers have a genuine love of teaching and care for each student. Many of their challenges stem from topics not being reinforced at home by parents. The principal knows most kids by name for positive reasons. The dress code is not overly strict (pants and polos in school colors) and contributes to a learning environment by removing social and cultural barriers. The PTA is very active with the student body, hosting an activity monthly. The best part is Green Valley students have music, drama, art *and* PE every week.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to inspire and support families to champion their children's education - at school, at home and in their community. We are a national non-profit with offices and programs in Oakland, Milwaukee, Washington D.C. and Indianapolis.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Green Valley Elementary School
4100 Jericho, Denver, CO  80249
(720) 424-6710
Last modified Green Valley Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Green Valley Elementary School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 16 reviews.