Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Noel Middle School

Public | 7-8 | 433 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars


Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

7 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted December 3, 2009

As a teacher at Rachel B. Noel I feel that the staff cares for all the children and we all work very hard to meet the children where they are and bring them up. We've had challenges but we're facing those challenges and doing what needs to be done for the students to be successful. We've got an excellent parent leadership team that has taken off this year, our AVID program is growing and spreading school-wide, we have a Gifted and Talented program that picked up this year and our athletic department rocks. So far this year our flag football team won and our volleyball team made it to the playoffs.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted November 30, 2009

I work at this school because I love it! I drive a distance to come here when i could easily work in another district, but the students and my relationships with them keep me here. We work hard at this school to meet the needs of our students, both academically and emotionally. There are amazing things happening at our school!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted November 20, 2009

Now that they have a new Principal at the helm, the school has taken a dramatic change for the better. Definately a school to check out if you want your kid to go to a traditional middle school


Posted September 21, 2009

Our school is wonderful because of both the amazing staff and students. Working as One Noel, we are working together to be the best through hard-work and dedication by all that are involved in our amazing school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 20, 2009

We are One Noel and we are aiming for Proficiency for ALL!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 10, 2009

Unsafe, unfriendly, poor academics, make for a horrible school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 27, 2007

my son only went for two months to this school and my overall experience was very unsatisfactory. This school needs major help
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 55% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
14%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 68% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
27%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 61% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
29%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 52% in 2013.

208 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
14%

2012

 
 
14%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 67% in 2013.

208 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
24%

2012

 
 
23%
Science

The state average for Science was 52% in 2013.

208 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
10%

2012

 
 
9%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2013.

208 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
20%

2012

 
 
19%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunchn/a
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrantn/a

Reading

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunchn/a
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrantn/a

Writing

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunchn/a
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrantn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students14%
Female15%
Male13%
Black (not Hispanic)9%
Asiann/a
Hispanic15%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Free lunch eligible14%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch6%
Students with disabilities (IEP)0%
Students without disabilities16%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)4%
Proficient in English10%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant14%

Reading

All Students24%
Female29%
Male19%
Black (not Hispanic)18%
Asiann/a
Hispanic24%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Free lunch eligible22%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch28%
Students with disabilities (IEP)0%
Students without disabilities27%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)7%
Proficient in English24%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant24%

Science

All Students10%
Female13%
Male8%
Black (not Hispanic)7%
Asiann/a
Hispanic10%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Free lunch eligible11%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch0%
Students with disabilities (IEP)0%
Students without disabilities12%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)0%
Proficient in English10%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant10%

Writing

All Students20%
Female30%
Male11%
Black (not Hispanic)12%
Asiann/a
Hispanic22%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Free lunch eligible20%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch11%
Students with disabilities (IEP)0%
Students without disabilities23%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)4%
Proficient in English14%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant20%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Below average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

23%
of schools in the state are Below average
52%
of schools in the state are Average
24%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Colorado. Test scores are based on 2012-13 TCAP results from the state of Colorado.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Below Average

Reading growth at this school

Below Average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 TCAP results from the state of Colorado.

2 This rating is based on 2011-12 and 2012-13 Median Growth Percentiles in Math, English Language Arts, and Writing from the state of Colorado.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 69% 32%
Black 27% 5%
White 3% 56%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 3%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 96%N/A41%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Amanda DeBell
Fax number
  • (720) 424-0945

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

5290 Kittridge St
Denver, CO 80239
Website: Click here
Phone: (720) 424-0800

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT