Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Westerly Creek Elementary School

Public | PK-5

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 8 ratings
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
Based on 18 ratings
2011:
Based on 6 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

73 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 15, 2012

This school is a community within a community. The teachers and the administration know all of the kids and go out of their way to make each child feel successful.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 15, 2012

We have had an excellent experience at Westerly Creek. My three children have had excellent teachers, and wonderful academics. The Principal and her staff are very professional, kind, and caring. I cannot say enough good things about Westerly Creek. We will be sad to leave when my kids finish fifth grade. My children love to go to school. It really is wonderful and always one of the top ten schools in DPS.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 15, 2012

I love going to work each day. The support and kindness from not only the staff but the families as well makes Westerly Creek an environment conducive to learning. This staff is focused on building a compassionate community of learners which in turn promotes academic success.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted August 14, 2012

We have been a Westerly Creek family for 4 years and will have children in the school for another 8 years. We have found WCE to be a welcoming, caring, attentive, and demanding learning environment for our children. We have been nothing but thrilled with all the top notch teachers, administrators, and support staff. WCE addresses the needs of EVERY student in the building and makes it their priority to monitor the growth both academically and socially of every child. The review that said the principal plays favorites and the school only addresses the needs of a small percentage of students could not be further from the truth! We have found the administration to be fair, honest, and professional at all times. We have both a gifted child as well as an "average" child, and both of our children have received an education that is differentiated to their unique abilities. We are proud Westerly Creek Wolves!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 14, 2012

My children have had the opportunity to grow and thrive during our six years at Westerly Creek . The teachers are tuned in to their individual needs and many give 110% in their efforts to go above and beyond the typical classroom experience. The principal and vice principal have exceeded my expectations time and again. They are extremely hands-on, and amazingly receptive of and welcoming to parent feedback. We have been so very impressed with how vested the administration and staff are in our children's individual successes.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 14, 2012

Through our extensive travels, we understand that a great school starts from the top -the principal. Unfortunately, WCE has leadership that is threatening to the staff, students, and families. Phone and emails are unanswered and only the financially equipped families are acknowledged.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 14, 2012

Westerly Creek is a wonderful neighborhood school. My two children have attended since ECE and are now in 3rd and 4th grade. When you come to school each day you get a feeling of a real community where most of the kids, other parents, teachers and the principal know you and your children. The teachers are all wonderful and my children are receiving a great education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 14, 2012

Westerly Creek Elementary is giving my girls a private school education at a public school price. WCE is in the heart of Stapleton and has a phenomenal principle, assistant principle, superb, engaged teachers as well as a dedicated staff. We have been overwhelmed by how much our children have learned and are excelling scholastically. The school setting is smaller and intimate and focuses soley on the Elementary age levels. My kids have flourished in this environment. If you can't tell, we love Westerly Creek!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 14, 2012

Fantastic school, administration, teachers and community! We are very pleaded with the education our children are receiving there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 9, 2012

We have been proud to be a WCE family for the past three years. My daughter's talented and committed teachers have not only encouraged her to flourish academically, but also socially and emotionally. Westerly believes in educating the whole child and every child, from the truly gifted to the most impacted. Walking into Westerly is like walking into the neighborhood school you've always envisioned for your children. There's strong parent involvement and exceptional leadership from both the principal and assistant principal. The administrators always put children first and are true instructional leaders. They have a clear vision and mission for the school and hire and retain the most effective teachers in the district. We love being part of the WCE family!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 19, 2011

This is my family's second year at WCE and we have never been more pleased. My oldest daughter was having some difficulty with her previous school with bullies,favoritism played by the staff and teachers, etc. From the moment we she started at WCE she felt welcome as did we. This year our 4 year old started ECE and I am hoping to get my other two children there next school year. I would recommend this school to any and everyone with children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 7, 2011

We have 3 children attending Westerly and all of them are VERY happy there. We were at another school in Stapleton for 3 years and made our way back to a smaller school that cares about kids character just as much as their academics. I'm shocked to hear other parents writing about leadership...it is TOP notch here. The staff and leadership at this school are truly impressive!!! Each and every time we have had an issue with one of our kids, I have received notification not only from the classroom teacher but also from the Principal that same day. Also, if parents want to change something about the school (ie. acquire smart boards or change the gym floor) these issues are discussed, addressed and action is taken to get them done. I was making lunch with my 4th grader the other morning and he voluntarily said to me, "Mom, I really like Westerly Creek." I responded with, "That's great to hear, why?" And he said, "There is no bullying, the teachers do what they are supposed to do (instead of talking on their cell phones) and all the kids get along...there are no clicks." Truly a testament to the expectations and culture that has been set from the start.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 4, 2011

This school is pretty good. My son had an excellent teacher in ECE 4, and more than decent teachers in 3rd grade. What was confusing was the administrative part of the school. I thought it more than odd that parents were asked to organize the field trips, including booking the buses, without any clue as to how to do it. I had to go and find who was the person to book the buses, for instance. And then the field trips kept getting canceled. The teachers didn't seem to know when other big happenings in the school were booked to make sure they didn't book their own big event. Some of the front office staff were excellent and some were very rude. The principal seemed like an insecure person right out of graduate school. Clearly, according to the testing, there are more than enough great teachers to make up for the problems above, however. Both of my boys enjoyed attending the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 25, 2011

Reading through the reviews it's clear that there really are two camps at WC -the cheerleaders and everyone else. I think it's great that many people are passionate about the school. What isn't great is that the principal caters to this crowd and in exchange they think she can do no wrong. If you dare to question this crowd or the leadership then you are labeled as unsupportive of the school. Voicing any concern about existing policy is met with disdain and, yes, as others have pointed out, the Principle is very difficult to deal with and often won't even bother to look up from her computer when talking to you. That said, most kids will probably do fine here, but if you have a gifted kid or one that struggles then you won't find much support. Many, many people have left because they simply found this school to be difficult and unsupportive. Read these posts and it's easy to see who the cheerleaders are and who experienced what it's like if you're not in the "in crowd". I would say about half of the staff has been good while half just go through the motions. BTW, Chuck Raische at Stapleton 3 is an experienced principal and seems reasonable -this school may be a good option.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 20, 2011

This school keeps getting better and better. We have a 4th grader and 2nd grader that have each attended Westerly Creek since ECE. The Principal is dedicated, hard working, and fair. The teachers are excellent. The school is continuing to grow and as they add teachers, they are selecting excellent talent. I think all children are given an opportunity to thrive at Westerly Creek. This is a fantastic public neighborhood elementary school and the administration, teachers, parents, and students are all working hard to make it a thriving nurturing environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 31, 2011

We were excited about Westerly Creek as our neighborhood school and we think the principal is above average with leadership, parents and students. However, most schools and teachers are challenged when your child has needs that fall outside the median/standard curriculum, whether a child has special needs or requires additional stimulation. Even great schools can have bad teachers, which we experienced. Our child needed a different environment and we encourage all parents to research options that are best suited for your child, don't just rely on ratings or a generalized "Distinguished" ranking. We were discouraged by the principal and the teacher to move schools and didn t get support or solutions for our child. We were also disappointed with communication - phone calls were not returned or e-mails poorly handled. With school budgets such an issue these days, we shouldn't be surprised that motives can be monetarily driven. As far as public schools in Denver, at least Westerly Creek is better than most. Parent involvement is impressive and it is a wonderful community. They have hired some decent teachers, particularly Rich Ashburn is a 5-star quality teacher.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2010

Westerly is a great school for our family. We have been there for 6 years now. I encourage anyone interested in the school to go and see for themselves. The principal and staff works very hard and provides a great learning enironment for the students. Any problems we have had have been handled in a professional and caring way. My kids love going to school and are learning and being challenged.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2010

We are new to the school starting our second year this fall. It has been a very positive experience so far. The school just received its first rating in DPS as "Distiguished". We are very pleased with the school. As for those that are not, they are fortunate in Denver to have other choices so the can find the best fit for them and their kids. In our neighborhood families I know also choose Bill Roberts, Ebert, Steck, Odyssey, Denver Language School, Logan, Blessed Sacrament, and Stanley British. All great choices too. For us, Westerly Creek is our best choice!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2010

I donated plenty of time and money during the years my children were at this school, and still didn't find the principal easy to work with. At all. I am in education myself, and have worked easily with all kinds of people. Believe me, it isn't just MY personal problem.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 8, 2010

Our children have been at this school for five years, and it gets better each year. Basically, it's giving us a private school education for a fraction of the cost. The facility is new, clean, and well-maintained. The teachers are talented and dedicated, and the principal is eminently accessible and engaged. Even the test scores are now some of the best in the district. The people who have given low ratings to this school apparently have personal conflicts with the leadership or other parents. perhaps they are unwilling to donate the minimal time and money it takes to create a wonderful community.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

110 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
85%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

110 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
85%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 51% in 2013.

110 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
71%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

107 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
83%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 68% in 2013.

107 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
84%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2013.

107 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
71%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

95 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
82%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 70% in 2013.

95 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
82%
Science

The state average for Science was 49% in 2013.

95 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
75%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 57% in 2013.

95 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
75%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students95%
Female94%
Male95%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic82%
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)99%
Free lunch eligible71%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch99%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities97%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English96%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant95%

Reading

All Students88%
Female94%
Male83%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic77%
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)96%
Free lunch eligible71%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch91%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities90%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English90%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant88%

Writing

All Students76%
Female86%
Male68%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic71%
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)88%
Free lunch eligible41%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch83%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities79%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English79%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant76%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students86%
Female90%
Male81%
Black (not Hispanic)60%
Asiann/a
Hispanic65%
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)98%
Free lunch eligible59%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch96%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities90%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English89%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant86%

Reading

All Students87%
Female90%
Male83%
Black (not Hispanic)55%
Asiann/a
Hispanic77%
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)98%
Free lunch eligible59%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch97%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities92%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English89%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant87%

Writing

All Students74%
Female87%
Male57%
Black (not Hispanic)45%
Asiann/a
Hispanic53%
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)85%
Free lunch eligible48%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch83%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities80%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English75%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant74%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students84%
Female78%
Male90%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)92%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch88%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities91%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English86%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant84%

Reading

All Students89%
Female89%
Male90%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)97%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch92%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities93%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English91%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant89%

Science

All Students67%
Female62%
Male72%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)75%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch72%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities72%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English69%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant67%

Writing

All Students81%
Female80%
Male82%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)94%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch86%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities85%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English85%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant81%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Above average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

23%
of schools in the state are Below average
52%
of schools in the state are Average
24%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Colorado. Test scores are based on 2012-13 TCAP results from the state of Colorado.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Average

Reading growth at this school

Above average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 TCAP results from the state of Colorado.

2 This rating is based on 2011-12 and 2012-13 Median Growth Percentiles in Math, English Language Arts, and Writing from the state of Colorado.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 69% 56%
Hispanic 13% 32%
Black 10% 5%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 4% 3%
Two or more races 4% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 19%N/A41%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students PE instructor(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Special education

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Gym
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:55
School end time
  • 3:45
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
  • Before school
School Leader's name
  • Jill A. Corcoran
Fax number
  • (720) 424-3185

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Standards-based
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Special education
Foreign languages taught
  • None

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • PE instructor(s)
Extra learning resources offered
  • Tutoring
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Gym
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Neither uniforms nor dress code
Parent involvement
  • Wce has a strong teacher-parent partnership. parents are actively involved in our school in many roles: room parents, volunteering in the classroom, csc and pta.
More from this school
  • WCE is an exceptional community of excellent teachers, paraprofessionals, support staff, involved parents, and most of all the greatest kids!
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

8800 East 28th Ave
Denver, CO 80238
Website: Click here
Phone: (720) 424-3160

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT