Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Westerly Creek Elementary School

Public | PK-5

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 8 ratings
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
Based on 18 ratings
2011:
Based on 6 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

73 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 7, 2010

I am a little distressed at reading the recent posts about the school's principal. My husband and I give a little money to the school each year (nothing excessive) and we both have donated our time over the years, as do many of the parents and we have found the principal to be an incredible advocate for the school community. She is constantly evaluating what is best for the students and always seeking to make that happen. She has hired some amazing teachers over the last several years. I think she does a great job of trying to balance individual student's needs with the needs of the rest of the school community. On the few occasions that we have needed to discuss one of our children specifically with her, I thought that she was incredibly fair and reasonable in her approach, and I appreciated that very much.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 13, 2010

I had a child at WC for 1 year and have now switched out primarily due to the principal. I found her to be cold and extremely difficult to talk to. I need to be able to advocate for my child and she was completely uninterested in speaking with me.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 29, 2010

We have children at WC and are now looking elsewhere. In talking with other parents we are finding that we are not alone in our disappointment with the Principal. She is not supportive of parents, always takes the teachers side and definitely plays favorites. Many teachers are inexperienced and the school just lost two teachers that did have experience. We're hearing of many parents "choicing out". It's really too bad because the school has a lot of potential -just bad leadership.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 14, 2010

Couldn't agree more with the previous poster. The principal has very poor social skills and unless you are on her favored list (able to give lots of money and spend all your free time in the PTA) she won't give you the time of day. The teachers are generally good, but we are looking elsewhere.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 30, 2010

This is a new school with a very young and mostly inexperienced staff -including the principal. If your child is average and has no special needs then this school will likely be fine. The school will no doubt score well on test scores -not because the school does anything special or particularly well, but solely due to the demographics of the neighborhood. It's a very well educated and affluent neighborhood with many parents that value education and expect their children to do well. The Principal is young and very inexperienced. Several people have left because they found her too difficult to deal with. Here's a tip: if you donate a lot of money to the school she may bend over backward for you.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 7, 2009

My son attended ECE-3 and ECE-4 at WCE before we moved away. There are so many things we miss about WCE! We miss the diversity and the great after-school programs. The staff is great and truly dedicated to helping each child. But I have to say I miss the parents the most. WCE is blessed with a very, very, very involved group of parents. Because it's a small, community school, everyone walks their child to school each day, so you get to know not only your child's teacher and classmates, but also their parents as well. We were so blessed to a part of WCE's first few years in Stapleton.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 21, 2009

There is so much parental envolvment, I think it has so much potential
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 14, 2009

We have had a great experience at Westerly Creek largely due to the excellent teachers and staff. We have two children at the school (one in kindergarten and one in second grade) and feel that they are getting a very good education in a good environment from kind and well qualified teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 28, 2009

Westerly Creek is a community school with small class sizes, excellent and caring teachers, and a great group of parents. All of the teachers I have encountered care about the well roundedness of the children and not just the academic pieces. The PTA has done a great job supplementing the curriculum without burning the parents out. In a very short amount of time the parents, teachers and staff have created a nurturing environment where our little ones are blossoming.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 26, 2009

The parents are very active here - we all pitch in to help as much as we can. We're dedicated to making this the best school in a short amount of time and we're well on our way there. The teachers/staff have been wonderful - dedicated just as the parents are. I have been happy with the attention that my children get here as well - the class sizes are manageable and the kids do not get lost in the mix.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 25, 2009

The community and the teachers and staff are great!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 25, 2009

Westerly Creek is a small school in a fabulous community. It has great teachers, an amazing principal and very supportive families. The kids are so smart and are thriving there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 25, 2009

Westerly Creek is a fairly new neighborhood school that quickly coalesced to develop a strob sense of community - great parent participation, wonderful teachers and staff, and neat kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 25, 2009

The teachers and staff are a very dedicated group of individuals.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 24, 2009

We just love Westerly Creek! Miss Kayla is a wonderful ECE-3 teacher and provides excellent communication/updates with the parents. We are just thrilled with the program!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 24, 2009

The staff is excellent and is always looking to improve.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 24, 2009

Our kids have only been at Westerly Creek for a little over a half a year. Yet, in that time, we have noticed several things that make this a great school. First, the teachers are fantastic. They are communicative, involved, enthusiastic and caring. Our kids seem to be thriving under their guidance. Second, the parental involvement is really tremendous. Parents are very active participants at WCE, and seem to be hyper-aware of the need to cooperate with teachers (and other parents) in the education process. Third, this seems to be a really positive atmosphere for all the kids. Our first-graders come home nearly every day with nice things to say about their teachers, activities and friends. After moving from Bolton, Massachusetts (where we loved our kids' school) we were apprehensive about finding a good place for them in our new home. But, we continue to be pleased about, and comfortable with, their new school home.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 24, 2009

Westerly Creek has a very dedicated group of teachers and parents who have the same common goal 'the children' and strive to do whatever they can to make things happen. My family has been extremely happy with our sons education at the school thus far!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 24, 2009

The teachers are nice. The principle is excellent. All the parents help out at school whenever they can.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 24, 2009

Westerly Creek, while only 6 years old, is like an old-fashioned neighborhood school. There is a true sense of community. Parents are involved and friendly, and the kids are truly happy there. Most importantly, the students develop a love of learning and a strong intellectual curiosity.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

110 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
85%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

110 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
85%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 51% in 2013.

110 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
71%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

107 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
83%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 68% in 2013.

107 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
84%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2013.

107 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
71%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

95 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
82%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 70% in 2013.

95 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
82%
Science

The state average for Science was 49% in 2013.

95 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
75%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 57% in 2013.

95 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
75%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students95%
Female94%
Male95%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic82%
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)99%
Free lunch eligible71%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch99%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities97%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English96%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant95%

Reading

All Students88%
Female94%
Male83%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic77%
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)96%
Free lunch eligible71%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch91%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities90%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English90%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant88%

Writing

All Students76%
Female86%
Male68%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic71%
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)88%
Free lunch eligible41%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch83%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities79%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English79%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant76%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students86%
Female90%
Male81%
Black (not Hispanic)60%
Asiann/a
Hispanic65%
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)98%
Free lunch eligible59%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch96%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities90%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English89%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant86%

Reading

All Students87%
Female90%
Male83%
Black (not Hispanic)55%
Asiann/a
Hispanic77%
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)98%
Free lunch eligible59%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch97%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities92%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English89%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant87%

Writing

All Students74%
Female87%
Male57%
Black (not Hispanic)45%
Asiann/a
Hispanic53%
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)85%
Free lunch eligible48%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch83%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities80%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English75%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant74%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students84%
Female78%
Male90%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)92%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch88%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities91%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English86%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant84%

Reading

All Students89%
Female89%
Male90%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)97%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch92%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities93%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English91%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant89%

Science

All Students67%
Female62%
Male72%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)75%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch72%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities72%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English69%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant67%

Writing

All Students81%
Female80%
Male82%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)94%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch86%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities85%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English85%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant81%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Above average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

23%
of schools in the state are Below average
52%
of schools in the state are Average
24%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Colorado. Test scores are based on 2012-13 TCAP results from the state of Colorado.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Average

Reading growth at this school

Above average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 TCAP results from the state of Colorado.

2 This rating is based on 2011-12 and 2012-13 Median Growth Percentiles in Math, English Language Arts, and Writing from the state of Colorado.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 69% 56%
Hispanic 13% 32%
Black 10% 5%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 4% 3%
Two or more races 4% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 19%N/A41%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students PE instructor(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Special education

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Gym
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:55
School end time
  • 3:45
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
  • Before school
School Leader's name
  • Jill A. Corcoran
Fax number
  • (720) 424-3185

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Standards-based
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Special education
Foreign languages taught
  • None

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • PE instructor(s)
Extra learning resources offered
  • Tutoring
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Gym
School leaders can update this information here.

School culture

Dress Code
  • Neither uniforms nor dress code
Parent involvement
  • Wce has a strong teacher-parent partnership. parents are actively involved in our school in many roles: room parents, volunteering in the classroom, csc and pta.
More from this school
  • WCE is an exceptional community of excellent teachers, paraprofessionals, support staff, involved parents, and most of all the greatest kids!
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

8800 East 28th Ave
Denver, CO 80238
Website: Click here
Phone: (720) 424-3160

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT