Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Westerly Creek Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 604 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 8 ratings
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
Based on 18 ratings
2011:
Based on 6 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

73 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 21, 2014

Very happy with the school and the teachers. There are teachers aides in most, if not all, of the classrooms and generally very high levels of parent involvement. We also value the PE, music and arts classes and the school's focus on helping develop student character and reinforcing positive behavior: Compassion, Respect, Empathy, Engagement, Kindness. Our kids love going to school here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 15, 2014

We have been at WCE for 3 years. My oldest son started as a kindergartner and my youngest will start kindergarten next year. We have been delighted with both the teachers and the administration. Knowing the teachers and the administration was important to me so I became involved very early with PTA and classroom volunteering. Both have been great experiences which have allowed me to get to know Jill Corcoran (principal) and each of my child's teachers. Jill has always been receptive to all of my feedback and is clearly committed to making the school the best school in metro Denver. I love that she knows almost all (if not all) of the kiddos by name and greets them enthusiastically in the morning. Our teachers have also been fantastic and always open to having me in the classroom and to providing good communication. I wholeheartedly recommend WCE to anyone who is looking for a good, warm school home.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 28, 2014

My daughter, Kate, recently completed her Kindergarten year at Westerly Creek (her second year at the school). We could not speak more highly of the school. When we moved here Kate had just completed a difficult year of preschool in California due to her social integration issues and Sensory Processing Disorder. Kate came in to Westerly Creek with an IEP, which was assessed and issued in California. Both Kate's ECE and kindergarten teachers were very accommodating of Kate's needs and provided an environment that have allowed her to excel both academically and socially. The parents, students and faculty at Westerly Creek have left us desiring little more for our daughter's academic environment and opportunities. Kate's younger sister, Lucy, is getting ready to start ECE at Westerly Creek this coming year and we look forward to watching her grow in the same environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 20, 2014

The Principal has been a gift to our community. She is a pillar of strength and devoted to each and every one of the 700+ children. I've watched her at the CSC meetings and with her students and her teachers and she is genuinely compassionate and in love with all of her students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 20, 2014

Westerly Creek is a solid, student-centered school where teacher support and quality are paramount. This website proves that you can't please all the people all the time. Some parents who are stating their opinions - without any cited evidence - are entitled to their feelings however any one school can not meet the demands of entitled people who expect to get their way without being cognizant of the common good of all kids. The reason why this school is so high performing, attracts the best teachers and implements innovative programs is because of the principal. People need to respect that running one of the highest performing schools in the city school takes leadership moves that are not always popular with people with are only most concerned with their own little bubble of issues.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 28, 2014

WCE is an incredible place for kids - all kids! The leadership is strong, firm, yet supportive and continuously makes kids the focus of every decision. Our oldest is in 2nd grade, so we only have experience with the ECE-2nd grade teachers, but they have been so amazing for our kids!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 10, 2014

The principal is a terrible. She picks her favorite parents, students and teachers while belittling the rest. I have never experienced such a tense and unwelcoming school,
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 1, 2014

I agree with other people. The school is nice. But the principal is very unprofessional and also bulling. I am surprised she is still there


Posted December 21, 2013

We've had two kids at Westerly Creek and are very happy. Our kids progressed very well academically and loved going to school each day. On the one occasion where my child witnessed some minor bullying behavior, I notified the teacher and was very impressed that although it was a very minor verbal incident, the teachers took it very seriously and dealt with it firmly and appropriately. I love the emphasis on good values...being kind to others, including everyone, helping others, etc. As for the Principal, she is great and clearly cares very much about the kids. It seems she is sometimes criticized for not tolerating disruptive behavior in the classroom, but that is not a fair criticism at all. She's doing her best to serve ALL the students in the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 22, 2013

Westerly Creek could be an amazing school if the Principal was no longer there. I cannot stress enough how disappointed we are/were in her ability to differentiate and her lack of emotional maturity. I honestly feel bad for the teachers that work for her because of her ability to bully and play favorites. I would not recommend this Principal to anyone. It is clear all she cares about is money and test scores based on her actions to my children's teachers and my children. Sad!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 9, 2013

Westerly Creek is about as good as it gets for a DPS school. The teachers are unbelievably good and unbelievably dedicated to the principal which is a sign of her strength. The only downsides are: (1) class size (but that is due to its popularity and lack of funds; (2) short recesses; and (3) not enough gifted services. I know the third issue is being addressed in 2013. My children got amazing special ed services at this school. And the teachers, cannot say enough. . . .
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 4, 2013

This school blew me away with how great the teachers are, the energy of the administration, the strength of the PTA, and the sheer amount my child has learned in just one year here. This school has exceeded my very high expectations on every level.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 28, 2012

As a parent at the school for the past 2 years, I have seen my kids grow and thrive each year there. They have both attended other schools and I love that they come home and say "school was great." No drama, no issues, no bully problems. Simple, easy, fun and engaging. The staff is awesome and consistent. The leadership is great & receptive - sets a high standard and also consistent. The school is the most diverse in the neighborhood - in terms of socio-economic, family structure, ethnic and developmental needs - a great thing. The Autism program is an asset for all the kids with everyone in the school seeing it as an integrated part of the school. My child needed a special needs plan and the leadership, teachers and staff worked hard to ensure she would do well in the school environment. It was better than I expected. There is a place for everyone and all learning styles at Westerly Creek.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 25, 2012

Westerly creek provides an excellent education and sense of community to my family. The teachers are passionate and the administration is supportive and advocates for the best!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 23, 2012

My kids have been in WCE for 6 years. Every one of their teachers has been wonderful. The parent community is very involved, leading to a family atmosphere. My kids are already saying they will be sad to leave when they move onto middle school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 20, 2012

I wonder about the ONE individual (mentioned earlier) and wonder how this person can be treated with more consideration, the lack of which seems to be the source of the poor review. With the addition of an Asst Principal in 2010, the focus on student needs has improved. This Asst principal sees the big picture and is a great leader. Beginning fall 2012 there will be a 2nd Asst Principal added. That's one more to help with operations and give parents the attention they deserve, no matter if you're on the PTA board or able to contribute to fundraising efforts. I agree with the perception that attention is not given equally, but I can't say what motivations it. If you feel you aren't being heard, don't give up. There are 3 administrators to contact now, if one doesn't satisfy, contact the next. My 4 stars are based on my positive experience with the asst principal, differentiation in the classroom, specials classes that my children look forward to (Art, PE, and Library), character education and acknowledgement (CREEK Kids), technology in the classroom, and exposure to students with autism contributes to their expanding compassion and understanding of students with special needs.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 20, 2012

Excellent teachers, strong leadership and great academic programs. We are very lucky to have this school in Stapleton!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 16, 2012

Overall this is a great school. The only reason I gave it such a low score is because of the leadership. This would be a five star school if it had a principal that actually cared about the students. Most of the teachers and support staff are great. I have seen the school lose good teachers and families because she is too difficult to deal with. Of course, you will hear the other side of it too. That is because it is coming from the parents that she caters to. She is unprofessional and insincere, I would not go as far as to call her a racist, but I have definitely seen a change in her attitude when dealing with minorities.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 16, 2012

Westerly Creek Elementary is a superior neighborhood school. The teachers and staff are caring, supportive and professional. My children are thriving in this wonderful educational environment and they look forward to school every day!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 15, 2012

My kids have attended Westerly Creek since the first year it was open. Our experience couldn't be more positive. Caring teachers, involved parents and a wonderful principle.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

110 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
85%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

110 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
85%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 51% in 2013.

110 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
71%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

107 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
83%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 68% in 2013.

107 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
84%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2013.

107 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
71%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

95 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
82%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 70% in 2013.

95 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
82%
Science

The state average for Science was 49% in 2013.

95 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
75%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 57% in 2013.

95 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
75%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students95%
Female94%
Male95%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic82%
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)99%
Free lunch eligible71%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch99%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities97%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English96%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant95%

Reading

All Students88%
Female94%
Male83%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic77%
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)96%
Free lunch eligible71%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch91%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities90%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English90%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant88%

Writing

All Students76%
Female86%
Male68%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic71%
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)88%
Free lunch eligible41%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch83%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities79%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English79%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant76%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students86%
Female90%
Male81%
Black (not Hispanic)60%
Asiann/a
Hispanic65%
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)98%
Free lunch eligible59%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch96%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities90%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English89%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant86%

Reading

All Students87%
Female90%
Male83%
Black (not Hispanic)55%
Asiann/a
Hispanic77%
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)98%
Free lunch eligible59%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch97%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities92%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English89%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant87%

Writing

All Students74%
Female87%
Male57%
Black (not Hispanic)45%
Asiann/a
Hispanic53%
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)85%
Free lunch eligible48%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch83%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities80%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English75%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant74%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students84%
Female78%
Male90%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)92%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch88%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities91%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English86%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant84%

Reading

All Students89%
Female89%
Male90%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)97%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch92%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities93%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English91%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant89%

Science

All Students67%
Female62%
Male72%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)75%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch72%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities72%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English69%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant67%

Writing

All Students81%
Female80%
Male82%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)94%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch86%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities85%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English85%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant81%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Above average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

23%
of schools in the state are Below average
52%
of schools in the state are Average
24%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Colorado. Test scores are based on 2012-13 TCAP results from the state of Colorado.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Average

Reading growth at this school

Above average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 TCAP results from the state of Colorado.

2 This rating is based on 2011-12 and 2012-13 Median Growth Percentiles in Math, English Language Arts, and Writing from the state of Colorado.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 69% 56%
Hispanic 13% 32%
Black 10% 5%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 4% 3%
Two or more races 4% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 19%N/A41%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students PE instructor(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Special education

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Gym
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:55
School end time
  • 3:45
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
  • Before school
School Leader's name
  • Jill A. Corcoran
Fax number
  • (720) 424-3185

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Standards-based
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Special education
Foreign languages taught
  • None

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • PE instructor(s)
Extra learning resources offered
  • Tutoring
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Gym
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Neither uniforms nor dress code
Parent involvement
  • Wce has a strong teacher-parent partnership. parents are actively involved in our school in many roles: room parents, volunteering in the classroom, csc and pta.
More from this school
  • WCE is an exceptional community of excellent teachers, paraprofessionals, support staff, involved parents, and most of all the greatest kids!
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

8800 East 28th Ave
Denver, CO 80238
Website: Click here
Phone: (720) 424-3160

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT