Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
66 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered School leader (1 response)
characters left.
There are 92 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Westerly Creek Elementary School 5

Posted January 19, 2016
- a parent
My oldest daughter started WCE in 2009 I believe. It was the first school we've ever been to and for the next 7 years she has had nothing but amazing teachers who supported her personally and academically. We took WCE for granted and assumed all schools were the same. As such, we moved on the North side of I-70 portion of Stapleton and moved the 2 smaller sisters to HTES. Biggest mistake I could have made. It was that move that made me realize how amazing WCE truly is. From the curriculum to the administration, I can guarantee you WCE will be what an elementary school experience should be: loving, fun, educational, and passionate with everlasting memories. My oldest still keeps in touch with all the teachers who are still there and she visits regularly. She has nothing but fond memories of that incredible school. And for the record, I didn't have the easiest child to deal with...

Westerly Creek Elementary School
Grateful to: School leader

Posted January 19, 2016
- a parent
Jill, you know how amazing you are. I've been telling you this, especially after my little failed stunt at HTES, but I really mean it. You are a woman to aspire to be like! You are an incredible leader!


Westerly Creek Elementary School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted January 19, 2016
- a parent
I've seen what very ineffective looks like at HTES so when I say the WCE teachers are very effective, it is not an exaggeration. They are all extremely competent, experienced and know how to handle their classrooms. They also have full-time PARAS who are very helpful.

Westerly Creek Elementary School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted January 19, 2016
- a parent
I don't have any horror stories to tell in the homework department. My kids get just the right amount of homework to keep them on their toes but able to have extra-curricular activities, as well.

Westerly Creek Elementary School
Develops grit: Strongly agree

Posted January 19, 2016
- a parent
It nurtures each individual's talents and encourages them to persist in their goals and gifts that can later be translated into a successful career.


Westerly Creek Elementary School
Develops respect: Strongly agree

Posted January 19, 2016
- a parent
Absolutely. They treat their students with the utmost respect and I believe that is why the kids themselves grow up to be respectful individuals.

Westerly Creek Elementary School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted January 19, 2016
- a parent
Like no other. The second you enter the school, you feel the caring in the air. It feels like they are all a big happy family. They nurture individual relationships and help children learn how to deal with conflict.

Westerly Creek Elementary School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted January 19, 2016
- a parent
Kids are held accountable for their actions, but it's all done in a loving and understanding way, and are not being treated like criminals a my experience has been at HTES. Kids grow into better people from their experiences and whatever poor choices they have made are not held against them for the rest of the school year. They have lots of positive reinforcements that nurture good choice-making.


Westerly Creek Elementary School 5

Posted January 11, 2016
- a parent
We had several great experiences at this school from 2013-1015. During our time at Westerly, I had one fairly major concern. I reached out to Dominique Jefferson and it was handled promptly and professionally. All of our other experiences here were very positive. Some of the highlights for us included; the Halloween parade, the winter program, the annual spelling bee (separated by grade level for lower grades), and field day. The PE teacher hosts a school wide event at the end of Jump Rope for Heart that really shows the true energy and enthusiasm of the school and is inclusive of all grades.

Westerly Creek Elementary School
Teacher effectiveness: Effective

Posted January 11, 2016
- a parent
Our student could have been challenged slightly more. We have attended a few DPS schools and comparatively, Westerly challenged him the most. This school was the whole package in that it was also able to provide school spirit/pride, a supportive administration, and friendly teaching staff. Wanda at the front desk is warm, friendly, and professional. She has a lot on her "to do" list, so don't take it personal if she is brief in her conversations with you on some occasions. She is amazing.

Nearby schools

Westerly Creek Elementary School
8800 East 28th Avenue, Denver, CO  80238
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 92 reviews. (720) 424-3160
Last modified Westerly Creek Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top