Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Polaris at Ebert Elementary School

Public | K-5 | 345 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 4 ratings
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

39 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 29, 2014

Polaris@Ebert is a great school for my two children. Its creative, The principal and staff are amazing, and my kids have loved it for 5 years. i hope to see this school more often every day.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 14, 2014

This is a great school for the gifted and talented; unless your child struggles with a learning disability, otherwise known as having a twice-exceptional learner, gifted with a learning disability. The administration does not want to support 504 or IEP's unless your student is failing. What good is it to ensure the gifted qualities are being supported until the student is underperforming or failing. The student's confidence suffers because of the lack of understanding and unfortunate school district bureaucracy. Find an innovative status school that isn't hiding behind administration guidelines.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 20, 2013

I moved my two children to this school this year and it has exceeded our expectations. Both my children are engaged, challenged, and feel like they are part of a greater community. I would highly recommend this school. I feel very lucky my children can get this quality of education within the DPS school system.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 16, 2013

Polaris at Ebert is a a fantastic school celebrating creativity with core curriculum and arts with science. I love that the school's community is comprised of many diverse and talented parents as well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 9, 2012

Our eldest daughter graduated last fall and we are thrilled with how Polaris has prepared her for Middle School. She is a product of both the founding principal and the current principal, as well as past and current teacher. We credit her own efforts and the fabulously passionate teachers and current Principal for their hard work and educational values. Polaris is not always an easy place to learn because it is intense, yet we are so glad that our children have had the opportunity to learn there. Kudos to Polaris for not teaching for tests and for teaching for the better development of the children. We are so glad our younger daughter has two more years at Polaris!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 6, 2012

My son is not "high acheiving," he struggles to get all his great ideas down on paper. I wish he felt more valued and included at Polaris. He feels bad that his test scores don't match what is "expected." I was warned about the changing leadership before we enrolled our boys here, but also heard a lot of great things too. I think if you have well-behaved children, and especially still quiet girls, you will be a better fit at Polaris. Loud, active, unruly boys that are hard to get a good finished product out of may have a harder time connecting with the administration.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 4, 2012

I must rave about Polaris, and I have read a few of the below comments and want to address them. I have found the new(er) principal to be quite approachable, supportive, professional, and engaging. She is a very strong leader. I understand that she took over leadership from the original founder and visionary of the school, but that the original vision was not able to be executed (too idealistic?) and the current vision for the school is very clear- teaching to high achieving and gifted kids, not squashing but rather keeping space for creativity, and establishing an incredible community with a strong parent base and love of learning. The school is a lovely old building with many great updates, the classrooms feel like traditional public school classrooms but with flairs of each teacher's own interests/passions. Polaris has the highest test scores of any school in DPS, but the kids don't seem to be taught to the test. Kids get help for learning differences when needed (although this might not be as extensive as at other schools). If many good teachers have left, many others have come that are just wonderful. This school makes it possible to feel totally at rest as a mom.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 5, 2012

Ebert is the best school in the metro area. Having come from other school(s) my husband and I feel like our children have found a safe haven that is nurturing and challenging to their intellectual and emotional needs. The teachers are exceptional, well trained and simply loving. The principal is a lovely person. She is open-minded, has an open door and heart for these children. The curriculum is cohesive and the electives are cherished by our kids! THANK YOU EBERT!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 27, 2011

The Polaris program at Ebert Elementary provides the best elementary school education in Denver. I've looked at Edison, Steck, Bromwell, Cory and Park Hill, but none of them compare.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 18, 2011

My child felt like an outcast at other schools. We were hoping that at Polaris, she would finally have a group of peers whom she would feel accepted and understood her. Polaris has been the answer to our prayers. Highly gifted children have very special and specific social needs, and Polaris is Denver's expert at addressing these needs. This is not a school that will push advanced academics, like certain private schools for the gifted. Instead, Polaris focuses on nurturing the childrens' creative side, and helping them to be responsible, friendly, happy children with the skills to be successful in the world they will one day venture into.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 31, 2011

While certainly still the best of DPS , I feel the new direction that Polaris has taken is decidedly less optimistic than it was 4 years ago. The new principal is very concerned with awards, test scores and appearances. I am concerned that the joyfulness of teaching and the of learning, are being dismissed. A majority of the very best teachers that Dr Howard had worked with are now working elsewhere, and every year more will quit. While the teachers that remain are dedicated, hard working teachers, the principal is unapproachable. The kindness, warmth, and nurturing that attracted us to Polaris in the first place seems to be dissolving into thin air. I hope that I am wrong and that next year I will see a a different atmosphere. But for the last couple of years, our family has really struggled with the change in leadership. We are thankful for the teachers that carry on and for the great parental involvement.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 1, 2010

Ebert is by far the best elementary school in DPS and you should send your kids there if they test in. However be aware that the quality of the program and teachers is slipping. Too many good teachers have left in the last 3 years. We were thrilled with K-3rd grade but 4th and 5th grades were a disappointment. With one outstanding exception parents are unhappy with the teachers in those grades. Also it's a school that values the arts above all else and does very little to nurture a passion for math or science. The Friday electives program (parent run) is beloved by all.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 8, 2010

Since October seems to be the month to rate Polaris, I might as well join the throng. The great thing about the school is that you have all these bright, inquisitive, high-achieving kids, who don't feel ashamed or self-conscious about their gifts, who are encouraged to be normal, regular kids, explore what they want to explore, have fun and learn in a joyful, free, kid-friendly environment. My husband was gifted, went to his local, public school and always felt like the odd-ball, the weird, smart, different kid. I am thankful that my two gifted kids don't have to go through that - they can be smart and it's totally normal and accepted. Shouts out to the great teachers, great parent volunteers, great arts and science curriculum. Now if only we could shrink the class size (of all DPS schools) to maybe 20-21, life would be just about perfect.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 28, 2010

We love the hands-on opportunities for the children, focus on community, empathy and building rounded children, the challenging curriculum and teachers trained to differentiate, the smaller size and intimate atmosphere, and integration of science and the arts. This is a school that is trying to engage children and challenge them to do their very best.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 21, 2010

this school encourages children to think globally. Children think creatively how to solve typical problems.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 17, 2010

An incredible school - the best elementary in Denver, hands down. Excellent teachers, caring principal, global curriculum - all focused on the needs of gifted learners.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 13, 2010

The children experience educational freedom - they have choices and make decisions on their own much of the time...


Posted October 12, 2010

One word describes this school: Joy. You see it in the faces of the children, the staff, and the families. We are there all the time, helping out wherever possible because we all believe in the mission of the school and love being there, in this atmosphere of joy! My children start every day with a smile, heading off to school. Better yet, they seem to believe every day was "the best day ever!" when I ask them about their day...how much more could a parent want?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 12, 2010

Amazing school that let's kids learn for the passion and joy of learning, not learn to take tests!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 12, 2010

It is a school where kids can be kids. They are encouraged to grow and to stretch their intellectual boundaries while being encouraged to revel in their silly kid selves. Even the kids themselves seem to recognize this school as a special place where they can be themselves and they allow other kids to be themselves as well (as much as kids can - with the support of the teaching staff). The kids act their ages - and I love that my children have the freedom to enjoy their childhood.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

54 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
100%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

54 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
100%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 51% in 2013.

54 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
98%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

75 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
97%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 68% in 2013.

75 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
96%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2013.

75 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
96%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

75 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
99%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 70% in 2013.

75 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
100%
Science

The state average for Science was 49% in 2013.

75 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
95%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 57% in 2013.

75 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
96%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students100%
Female100%
Male100%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)100%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch100%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities100%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English100%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant100%

Reading

All Students100%
Female100%
Male100%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)100%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch100%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities100%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English100%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant100%

Writing

All Students100%
Female100%
Male100%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)100%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch100%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities100%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English100%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant100%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students99%
Female98%
Male100%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)98%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch99%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities99%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English99%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant99%

Reading

All Students99%
Female98%
Male100%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)100%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch100%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities99%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English99%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant99%

Writing

All Students99%
Female100%
Male97%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)100%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch99%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities100%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English99%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant99%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students95%
Female95%
Male95%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)96%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch94%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities99%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English95%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant95%

Reading

All Students97%
Female100%
Male94%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)100%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch97%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities100%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English97%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant97%

Science

All Students93%
Female95%
Male92%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)98%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch94%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities96%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English95%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant93%

Writing

All Students97%
Female100%
Male94%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)100%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch97%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities100%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English97%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant97%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Above average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

23%
of schools in the state are Below average
52%
of schools in the state are Average
24%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Colorado. Test scores are based on 2012-13 TCAP results from the state of Colorado.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Above average

Reading growth at this school

Above average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 TCAP results from the state of Colorado.

2 This rating is based on 2011-12 and 2012-13 Median Growth Percentiles in Math, English Language Arts, and Writing from the state of Colorado.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 77% 56%
Hispanic 9% 32%
Two or more races 8% 3%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 3% 3%
Black 3% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 8%N/A41%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students PE instructor(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Mathematics

Arts & music

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Arts (all)
Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra
Performing and written arts
  • Dance
  • Drama

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Italian
  • Latin
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Gym

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Gifted / high performing
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:45 am
School end time
  • 3:30 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
  • Before school
School Leader's name
  • Dr. Diana Howard
Fax number
  • (720) 424-7885

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Independent Study
  • Montessori
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Arts (all)
  • Mathematics
Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Italian
  • Latin
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Gym
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
Girls sports
  • Basketball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra
Performing arts
  • Dance
  • Drama
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

410 Park Ave West
Denver, CO 80205
Website: Click here
Phone: (720) 424-7860

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT