Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-12|Private
965 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
26 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 33 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Colorado Academy 5

Posted December 17, 2015
- a parent
We currently have two children attending CA's Middle School (6th and 8th). Both our kids had a great transition from DPS and were immediately welcomed into the CA community. As a parent I can say that CA has exceeded our expectations and provides a terrific balance of academics, sports and community. We looked long and hard at both public and private Middle School options. After touring CA and having our first child shadow we knew immediately that it was the right choice. Unlike some of the uninformed postings not all the kids come from elite families, and the vast majority are balanced and well behaved. There is a reason why CA has become one of the most sought after schools in the Denver area and we intend to continue on through High School... (P.S. our first child was also accepted to Kent and Graland but we chose CA)

Colorado Academy 5

Posted April 23, 2015
- a parent
At Colorado Academy, not only is my son benefit from strong, committed teachers, he has the luxury of time, space, security, manageable class sizes, and innovative approaches to encourage him to think more deeply, to relish new experiences, and to feel excited and comfortable articulating them .thanks to the faculty for all that they do and have done. Our son is getting even more out of his education at CA than we had hoped. -Parent of an Upper School student


Colorado Academy 5

Posted April 15, 2015
- a teacher
In response to post below, on the College Counseling pages of our website, please find our Alumni Showcase which provides a five-year matriculation list, as well as LinkedIn profiles and professional information for many of our alumni. Our Annual Report and Journal also highlights a one-year matriculation list; and yearly matriculation lists on Pinterest. We at CA think a student is about much more than the name of the college they choose, and we re proud of our very student-centered approach to college admissions. College admission results represent the complicated intersection of individual stories, family circumstances, and colleges' institutional priorities. We educate families about the nuances of educational quality beyond media-driven notions of prestige. Our philosophy is about helping kids find the best fit for their interests, and certainly not about what bumper stickers people place on their cars. If you re looking for accurate information about CA, please visit the CA website. Our college counseling pages can be found under Programs>College Counseling.

Colorado Academy 1

Posted March 09, 2015
- a community member
Prior to the current leadership, the school was full of kindness, wonderful respectful children, a caring staff and a challenging education. Under current leadership and a disinterested board, CA has devolved into a place where the elite of Denver park their troubled children and know that donations will extinguish any behavioral issues. The other side of the coin is that the school's reputation has become so damaged that graduates on the whole are heading to college much less prepared. To see for yourself, look for a current matriculation list. Most schools publish theirs on their website, but with CA you will need to call the school where they will first offer you the last 10 years or so in an effort to dilute the recent list with the stronger ones from years ago. Avoid this school at all costs if you value your child's safety and their education. Otherwise, offer a large donation and they will make sure you are not bothered with such annoyances as your child's malicious behavior. Be warned however, that this school's sticker on the back of your car does not offer the same status that is once did as the reputation continues to very publicly nosedive.

Colorado Academy 5

Posted September 30, 2014
- a parent
As the parent of an upper school student, I can say that our family's experience with Colorado Academy has been great. Excellent teachers and a demanding curriculum are combined with an emphasis on students being active participants in the arts as well as athletics. CA provides a well rounded liberal arts education for the motivated and academically oriented child.


Colorado Academy 5

Posted September 22, 2014
- a parent
CA is awesome. We just moved here from Texas where our daughter attended a top private school. Our daughter and entire family has been warmly embraced and we are so impressed by the passion that the educators, parents and administration have for the student and the school. We made the right choice!

Colorado Academy 5

Posted July 28, 2014
- a community member
As a student of CA, I have felt nurtured and respected whenever I walk through the school halls. All the teachers do an excellent job with their teaching strategies. When I take a look at our mission statement, i think that we have embraced it, and are doing a fine job. the summer programs also help to enrich us with fun activities, and i am encouraged to take risks, and do not receive an extrinsic reward, but an intrinsic reward. CA is willing to provide financial aid to anyone, and to address the comment below, CA is host to all cultural diversities. One thing that CA could enforce is that students aren't disciplined enough, and tend to goof off way too much. CA has been remembered as a school of prestige and academic ability, and with these little incidents going unnoticed, I feel that our record has been slightly tarnished.

Colorado Academy 5

Posted June 07, 2014
- a parent
My son just graduated from Colorado Academy's Lower School and rated his experience a "10 out of 10." As a parent, I revel in his confidence, his ability to problem solve, his incredible friendships, and his enthusiasm for school. Year after year, his teachers have put so much thought and preparation into the curriculum. My son was actively engaged in his learning. Instead of regurgitating facts and figures, he understands concepts and is able to apply what he has learned in arenas outside of school. He also knows how to sing, compose a song, paint, draw with perspective, and present in front of groups (in spite of his reserved nature). He has always loved sports, but at CA, he also learned the science behind athletics through his weekly kinesiology class taught by an expert in the field. He also has a passion for science nurtured by the two science teachers who taught him all the way through Lower School; he is not afraid to come up with a hypothesis and test it, test it, test it. Above all, I value the positive peer culture at CA and the strong character my child has developed, as teachers have held him and his friends accountable for how they treat each other. Kudos, CA!


Colorado Academy 1

Posted December 09, 2013
- a parent
I think it is terrific that the post below mentions a new guard station; however, many people in the community wish the administration would pay more attention to the character of the students as well as the behavior they allow in the school. I agree with the teacher's posting below where, "...the kids get away with whatever they want as the parents believe that they get what they want because they pay for it." CA's reputation for many years was one of high integrity, excellent academics, and an amazing assortment of talented students not just athletes. Unfortunately the discussion with many in the community now often focuses on the disappointment of the complete change in school culture. Many discuss the breakdown of trust with leadership along with the breakdown of quality academics. Surveying the community may serve as a helpful tool as most would like to be lead with transparency. CA from the outside has never looked better, but investigate its' current inside and many are sad to see the best of CA being dismantled.

Colorado Academy 5

Posted September 11, 2013
- a parent
I am a parent of 3 children who have all attended CA since Pre-K (the oldest is now in Middle School). During the decade that we have had our kids at CA, we have been continually impressed by the creative and engaging staff, the thoughtful curriculum, and the forward-thinking administrators. It is a school that puts the needs of the children first, including safety as evidenced by the new guard station and the recent parking lot addition which was done to improve safety by removing upper school (novice) drivers from the area where the youngest students are being dropped off. CA has a balanced view of learning, focused on strong college-preparatory academics (obviously), but also stressing the value of participating in athletics and the arts. The campus is stunning, classes are small, and CA has really embraced technology and new teaching approaches to adapt to the needs of 21st century students. I couldn't feel better about the school, and the quality of education that we are receiving for our 3 children!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Colorado Academy
3800 S Pierce Street, Denver, CO  80235
(303) 914-2513
Last modified Colorado Academy is a Private school that serves grades PK-12
Colorado Academy Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 33 reviews. Top